Fiction logo

First Trip, The First Adventure

My first love trip and adventure in my life...

By Writer TigerPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1
In the photo: As the Titanic approaches the port, the source:hakaimagazine.com

I had just finished university. For years, I wanted to take a vacation to refresh my life spent reading and studying. I was making vacation plans with my best friend, Henry.

One day in 1910, at the first light of the morning, I sat in the park with Henry and read the newspaper. The following news in the newspaper caught my attention: "Make your unforgettable trip to tell your memories with the world's largest ship". I showed the news to Henry and he said excitedly:

- "Dude, this is exactly the adventure we've been looking for, we should join it. If we join, we'll have a lot of stories to tell."

I said: "Why not, man, I'm in, so let's do it!"

But the problem was, we didn't have a ticket to board the ship and we didn't know where to get the money. We just wanted to go and were ready to raise money for an unforgettable adventure.

After about 1-2 years, we collected the necessary money and bought our tickets. Our houses were quite far from the port. That's why we could reach the train first and then the port after a 2-hour walk.

And we set off…

After a long journey, we managed to reach the port. The ship, known as the Titanic, actually looked more majestic and more beautiful than it appeared in the newspaper. Every one of the people looked happy and excited. There was a mix of the rich and the lower class, musicians, artists, farmers, politicians, and more. Journalists competed with each other to document this extraordinary moment. Perhaps at least 10,000 people had gathered to see the magnificent ship in the harbor.

And I turned to Henry and said:

- "Dude, this is a great environment, I can't wait to go on an adventure".

We shouted 'Hurray' in the same way as Henry. We were very excited for today and couldn't wait to get on board.

In those days, what everyone wanted was to go on an adventure and find the girl they wanted. You didn't get a girlfriend, that was the coolest way in those days. Henry was skilled in this as he was more experienced with the girl. But I wasn't very talented.

But of course, I wanted to find a girl, have a girlfriend, and tell everyone about my adventure.

Because the ship was large, their entrance was very complicated and the thing we feared the most while getting on board with Henry was losing each other. About 1,500 people were to board the ship, and this was an opportunity to get lost.

We got on the ship, albeit with difficulty…

After getting on the ship, I immediately went to the deck and started to watch the sea. Everyone on board was happy and excited. Because of the crowd and noise, the voices were mixed. I wouldn't be able to hear if someone called.

I lost Henry for that mess and couldn't find it. I hadn't cared too much. What I wanted to be had come true, and now I was on board.

Our trip would be via England to the United States. The ship was sailing in the winter and the cold weather worried me. Because I read in a newspaper: “A boat leaving the port in December was lost in the fog due to heavy snowfall and crashed into the glacier. The crew was rescued by the crews after being trapped for 34 days.” I was scared when I first read this news.

But I was comfortable. Because, they said, this ship was equipped with the latest technology. They used 3 layers of steel armor against impact and special fuel to keep the engine running well in winter. And in case of any emergency, a team of 50 people was on standby. At least 150 people worked in the engine room at the bottom of the ship and consisting of the best engineers.

So I decided not to have any doubts. I was waiting for the thrill of boarding this ship and finding the love of my life.

It was evening and I was hungry. I went to the ship's restaurant section, ordered caviar, and started eating. While I was eating, a girl was shouting right in front of me. She seemed annoyed at something.

"You damn scumbag, get your hands off me!" She was yelling.

So I immediately ran to help the girl and punched the man. We started fighting the man in public. The people sitting in the restaurant were watching us in surprise, people were screaming. While we were fighting the man, an officer whistled and separated us.

Then the girl and I exchanged glances and I never thought that this would be the girl I wanted. I was just helping to save him. And she just turned and left.

Then one evening, while we were sitting in the same restaurant, he came. She caught my attention with her blonde hair and green eyes. He sat next to me and thanked me for what happened last night. Then we started talking to each other every evening. Love started and we fell in love with each other. Our meetings were increasing and our love was growing.

Then, at midnight while we were watching the stars, the ship crashed. We were startled and very scared. We both didn't know what to do. Everyone on the ship was terrified, the sleeper jumped out of bed, the drunk sobered, and the sick person recovered.

All the officers on board were starting to whistle. Everyone started to panic and some people from the ship were jumping into the cold water. Even before they knew what had happened to the ship, everyone was jumping like crazy.

Then I suddenly thought of an article I had read earlier. Then I top up the air out of that panic. The weather was clear and there was no snow. But there was as much fog as possible, and it was a very distressing situation for the ship. As I was navigating the ship's deck, I noticed that there was a large slit in the stern of the ship. And the waters were starting to fill up. The ship was leaning slightly to the left, which scared us all.

We didn't want to sink while we were on the ship and we wanted to get rid of it as soon as possible. Then I took the girl in my arms and quickly started searching for a boat. The girl was quite heavy and I thought it would be better for me to take it on my back. The girl's shoes were sinking into my back and I couldn't understand why I was wearing them. Then we started running together just holding her hand.

It suddenly occurred to me that I needed to find Henry. To find Henry, I had to first look at the list in the officer's office. On the list, it was written in which section on the ship it was. I could find it there. I hadn't cared about him since I got on the ship, and I had forgotten. We got lost on the ship, assuming she didn't care about me either.

I then told the girl to find an emergency boat and abandon the ship. But the girl said otherwise and said:

- "No, my love, I will come with you and we will find Henry together".

Then I asked:

- "Well, can you run?"

He also said:

- "Of course, I'll run, I don't need to ride on your back, don't hold me in your arms, I'll come by myself".

I liked her courage. And I said:

- "Okay then let's go and find Henry".

After a long struggle, I found the chief officer's room and checked the list. And I realized that Henry had never been on the Titanic. While I was saying "damn it" inside of me, a part of me was also happy. Because although Henry was socially adept, he could not protect himself in a panic situation. Now we were alone with my girlfriend.

We had to get out of here...

The ship had tilted almost 45 degrees and we were having a hard time going now. We needed to find a rescue boat as soon as possible. And there were a lot of people researching on the ship like us. Some lost their children, some lost their lovers, and some just lost themselves. Not even the captain was around. Everyone was as scared as possible and wanted to get off the ship as soon as possible.

We were sweating from running and holding onto iron and praying that we wouldn't fall. Then, at that moment, a rescue boat crashed over us quickly. And with the screams along with it, people started to fall down like an army of ants. Everyone was screaming and screaming in pain. At that time, my lover was also going to lose his balance and fall down, so I held my shoulder.

The ship was at an almost 90-degree angle. And I was holding the iron with all my strength and I didn't want to let go. But suddenly I had to let go and we started falling down. Luckily, the place where we landed was not deep. And I fell on soft ground. And then we stumbled upon the rescue boat by chance.

Then I realized that; We both lost consciousness and fell into the rescue boat. It was morning and the light of the sun was burning my eyes.

I opened my eyes and there were parts of the sunken ship and lifeless bodies in front of us. I couldn't believe we had survived this disaster. But, of course, I felt very sorry for people too. Such a disaster was not supposed to happen.

Love
1

About the Creator

Writer Tiger

I write articles on Psychology, Technology, Blockchain and information. Most of my time is spent researching and getting the right information.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.