Fiction logo

Finding Why

By Bonnie Bowerman

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
2

Trudging alone in a blinding blizzard, my footsteps crunch in the snow. The campus is deserted. Huge drifts of glittering white are everywhere, draping the old historic buildings in the soft extravagant curves of a winter wonderland.

Normally, extreme weather thrills me. Lashing rainstorms and high winds make my heart race in a happy way. But today I am just really cold. My ears are stinging very much like when they last got frostbite. Why was it so important to hand in that assignment? I shout randomly “Why on earth, am I out in this? Why?”

A mewling sound answers in the wind. It stops me in my tracks. There it is again - miaow, mrruh, mrow. A wisp of dark fur is staggering towards me in stiff wobbly little steps through the swirling snow.

Kneeling down, I scoop it up. Brilliant blue eyes look up from a smokey grey face covered thickly with icy flakes that shine like diamonds.

I zip open my parka and tuck the kitten snug against the skin under my shirt. It feels like a snowball with a heartbeat.

I trace back her steps to find two more buried in the snow - one black and one ginger. Heading quickly now to the warmth of my flat, my waist is noticeably bulging.

We four soon sit in front of the fire thawing out. Milk is warming on the stove. Puzzling out the why of everything makes my eyelids droop. Their eyes are bright with knowing.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.