Fiction logo

Finding Sksam

The land of mythical creatures galore

By Samantha MillerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Illustrated by Ajidwiputra

As I run faster the green light I can see in the distance gets closer and closer. I’ve never seen a green light like that before. It’s huge and almost looks like. Rainbow but it’s green. It’s pitch black outside and it’s the only form of light I can see. I have no idea where I am or where I am going only that I am 100 % certain I am not on earth anymore. I am alone. There were others with me but when I was running so fast they obviously didn’t catch up to me. My face feels sweaty especially under the mask I am wearing. It’s so icy cold outside almost feels like it’s going to start snowing. I stop running as I hear voices. Voices that are not familiar to me. Some of these voices sound like jibberish . I hope I get to eat soon, I am so hungry and it’s been hours since I’ve had a scrumptious meal.

My thoughts of thinking about food are interrupted as I feel a breath on me. The hairs on my back are very much awake now. I can feel faces gawking at me, I take a breath and turn around. This doesn’t feel right , this should be a dream. There is no way this particular type of creature even exists.

“Who are you?” The tall bearded dragon questions me. Okay now I really am in some sort of children’s fantasy book. Maybe I’m in a new version of Harry Potter of Game Of Thrones. I continue to stare at the creature for what feels like an eternity until I hear more of that jibberish language again.

“ Jin, I don’t think human is comprehending what you are saying.” Another dragoon although not as tall emphasises.

It’s not just dragons around me anymore but Mermaids, Trolls, Fairies, Cenataurs and even something that looks like Pegasus. Where am I? I didn’t even think a place existed where all these mythical creatures hang out together.

“ This human looks a bit like the witches and wizards in that castle that we stay away from.” The mermaid states.

“Umm, I don’t. Even know how I even got here. I’m from earth and right now there’s this terrible virus going around.” I respond.

“ We are from earth too but probably not the earth you know or have ever seen.” Shouts the troll. “We’ve heard about this virus - you’re not the only human that has come here lately.”

“Where am I? And you said I look like the wizards and witches that are in some sort of castle? Back in the earth where I’m from nobody has even mentioned this place. This feels like a dream or a children’s fantasy book.” I explain.

“ This place is called Sksam.Nobody knows about this place until they get here. The wizard and witches in the castle are well not super friendly. We don’t live in the castle. We did at some point. At some point human, every mythical creature that ever roamed earth was once in charge, ruler and lived in that castle. However while you are here that is not the case.” Explains the cenataur

“ Let me guess, this virus back on “earth” everyone is blaming one another on how it began or where it started from?” The fairy squeaks .

“ Yes something like that.. scientists are really digging deep into the past. People are dying every second and sometimes they just drop dead in the street.”

“ Well it didn’t start in China..”

“ Jin why you staring at us.. it didn’t begin in Norway either” groans the troll.

“or Syria” squels the mermaid.

“ And you can leave Greece out of it.” Both Centaur and Pegasus shout.

I stare at all these creatures for a good minute. They are talking about countries back on earth but they are mythical creatures so how do they know these countries so well?.

“ Human, you are not the only one who is wearing a mask. We will have more time for talk later. Right now you need to come with us before the sirens go off and you have no way of making your way back.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.