Fiction logo

Finding Love in Winter

Following my dog's lead and letting you in

By F Cade SwansonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Finding Love in Winter
Photo by Meritt Thomas on Unsplash

“I’ll take the dog for a walk if you want to stay in bed,” you offer. It’s freezing here by the lake and walking the dog was the last thing I wanted to do, snow and ice crunching beneath his paws and my boots. My visits to your place were initially overshadowed by my need to get home in time to take him out, snowy drives back to the city punctuated by a quick trip outside to let him pee and a text from my flip phone to let you know we made it home safely. I’d tell you goodnight and let my dog’s gentle snores lull me to sleep.

I hadn’t thought about this when getting to know you- the fact that you lived an hour away- perhaps because, after a series of difficult relationships, I hadn’t considered I would let you in long enough for it to matter. Besides, my dog was the perfect companion; friendly and easygoing, he had limitless devotion, and was not afraid of the love I gave to him.

Did you conspire with him? Because once he worked his way into your heart to the point where you’d allow me to bring the dog over, I was hooked. Waking up at your place on a winter morning was a nice experience for all of us, I had to admit.

“I made you coffee,” I say as you both return home. Defeated, my fear melts away like the snow I wipe from my dog’s paws.

Short StoryMicrofictionLove
4

About the Creator

F Cade Swanson

Queer dad from Virginia now living and writing in the Pacific Northwest. Dad poems, sad poems, stories about life. Read more at fcadeswanson.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Dogs know. I loved the warmth of this story and that letting down of barriers.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    If my dogs like someone, it's a good indicator of their character :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.