Fiction logo

Filled to the Brim

Entries from New Dreamstone

By Jackson BurtPublished 3 years ago 7 min read

New Dreamstone City District

Entry #1

I am beginning this entry under the north bridge. The water has receded away because of the changing seasons, leaving the underbelly of litter that this city throws off of the bridge. I am on a piece of stone that was once built into a building; 30 years or so it’s been here without needing to be moved.

This entry is serving the purpose of creating a living memory, I’ve never been one to document my life or leave anything behind.

This city is one of four main divisions of our society. There are others below the cloud line, and it is too dark over the edge.

The kids used to think we sit in the clouds, and adults would answer that we live on a mountain. My family always told me that the people who question our lives don’t deserve the answer, and so I was raised against using my imagination.

New Dreamstone has four main bridges: north, south, east and west. Each of them carry the lines of traffic to different parts of the city. Below are miles of forgotten structures, small living neighborhoods and whatever litter the ones up above seem to throw away.

The air itself stings the inside of your lungs, the clouds of pollution in this city try to escape but end up sinking down every morning.

There are more people here than in any other division. Buildings and towers stand shoulder to shoulder just like the civilians walking below. Food is processed and difficult to find, and there simply is no place to breathe.

But every person keeps their head down until one day when something arrives.

The Days of Night Circus.

New Dreamstone Advertisement #243

GREETINGS FRIENDS AND SMILING FACES!!! THE DAYS OF NIGHT CIRCUS HAS ARRIVED!!!

Please follow the directed signs to our main entrances.

You must have identification, highlighted arm bands, and eyes full of wonder!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

OUR SHOWS INCLUDE

Fire Juggling

The Freaks of the Trade

Autonomous Animals created by the Magical Dr. Dex

Illusions of the Mind

And much more!

Purchase tickets now or NOT

The Days of Night Circus calls only to those who listen…

New Dreamstone City District

Entry #2

I have nothing against the circus.

I see it as a strange experience. The Illusionists seem too intense, the animals seem too real, but the food can be edible if you come at the right time.

Today I went.

I had purchased the ticket at a mobile ticket center, and it was more money than I would’ve liked to pay. But it’s worth it to be in a different setting. My seat was 5 rows up from the floor area, and the seating went up 20 rows behind me.

The area was set up in the center of New Dreamstone. The city itself was designed like a giant bowl, and sitting in the center of it was an overwhelming amount of sound. The circus had started up within minutes. With a booming voice, a mustached circus performer introduced the Days of Night Circus, where groups of jugglers, dancers and tall, humanoid figures walked on stilts.

Ribbons hung from the ceiling, and young women used them to swing as low as inches above the floor.

At one point, one of the stilt walkers turned abruptly and bent down above the crowd, swinging its upper body across the people sitting below it.

In the panic I saw its mask. It was a smiling porcelain face, painted over with various words. It’s eyes were painted gold and its teeth were showing through a frozen smile.

A row in front of me had a woman sitting in it. And as this large puppet swung by all of us, she fell out of her seat.

With that, I heard her purse hit the ground and I saw a necklace fly into the air and land on the dirt covered floor.

A small looking figure broke off from the group of circus folk, and in one motion, scooped up the gold necklace, and disappeared into the crowd.

Acting purely out of curiosity, I stood up and found my way to the floor level of the circus performance, and began to find my way to retrieve the woman’s necklace.

SunLight Newspaper, Distributed by New Dreamstone City

Issue #4,569

BREAKING

324 civilians died from the North Bridge Train crash.

451 babies born in the collected census from all four main hospitals.

Days of Night Circus claims over 500 million credits on internet reviews.

3 online celebrities seen entering Days of Night Circus.

Temperature: Moderate

Wind: North

Wanted civilians:...Listed on Sunlight Newspaper website.

Click link below

……………………………………………………………………..

New Dreamstone City District

Entry #3

I decided to follow whatever had picked up the necklace, following the line of seats that curled their way to the back of the tent.

At this point the large, robotic animals were being led out of their cages and were being directed to a metal stage. I kept my eyes on the crowd of civilians and the masked group of circus folk setting up for the next act.

After weaving through one last crowd, I found myself stepping through a curtain behind the main structures of the seating area.

I could see that the hallway bent towards their storage and backstage area and decided to follow it. The hallway had wooden beams holding up the sides of the tent, and I had to weave myself through the ropes being tied up above. I discovered a hallway of curtains and began looking behind each one.

There seemed to be only storage of food, costumes, and large fireworks that were designed with metal frames.

Behind one curtain, I could see my reflection in a standing mirror, which was a shock at first because I didn’t expect it. There was makeup strewn around, and a large chest with a woman’s dress laid over the closed top. Suddenly, a sound crept its way into the area I was standing in, and it pulled me away from the mirror.

Finding the hallway again, I continued down the walkway until I realized that the curtains tied itself to carriages kept inside the large circus tent.

The door was open, and I felt my legs step up the ladder to the wooden circus wagon.

My eyes were met with a strange, metal desk. Papers and strips of fabric were thrown across its surface and on top, sat a gold, heart-shaped locket. It was pried open, and the image inside seemed to have been scratched out. Many other pieces of jewelry were stuffed into a small, leather bag hung on the wall.

A noise outside the door sent me sprawling onto the floor, hiding beside the doorway. After looking out, I witnessed one of the tall, stilt walkers lurking down the hallway.

In its arm, hung a limp woman’s body.

The smiling figure lifted a hand to its mouth, covering its white teeth with a single finger.

SunLight Newspaper, Distributed by New Dreamstone City

Issue #4,572

BREAKING

12 civilians died from disease outbreak under South Bridge.

23 babies born in the collection of 2 out of 4 New Dreamstone Hospitals.

North Bridge Business owner claims to not know anything about recent infrastructure failure.

Days of Night Circus leaves New Dreamstone after its yearly 2 week performance.

Temperature: High

Wind: South-West

Wanted civilians:...Listed on Sunlight Newspaper website.

Click link below

……………………………………………………………………..

New Dreamstone City District

Entry #4

Disregard last Entry.

The heart shaped locket was an image created by the group of Illusionists in the third act.

I have now decided to volunteer my services to the Days of Night Circus. There are many benefits to working with them, and I am willing to discover new challenges along the way.

The Days of Night Circus is affiliated with the four divisions of the New Society, and we try to entertain those who need smiling faces.

A fifth division is being constructed as our circus moves on to the next city.

It is said to be bigger and to reduce the number of citizens in other cities.

It will be beautiful, and soon many people will realize how much the world deserves our help.

New Dreamstone Advertisement #243

GREETINGS FRIENDS AND SMILING FACES!!! THE DAYS OF NIGHT CIRCUS IS SEARCHING FOR NEW MEMBERS!!!

We travel year round bringing entertainment to our shining world, and we now ask you to join our mission.

Requirements include:

Strong Body and Mind

Horror

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JBWritten by Jackson Burt

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.