Fiction logo

Feeling Lost

A short story

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1
Feeling Lost
Photo by Frederik Lipfert on Unsplash

I honestly have no idea how I got here. For some reason, I am now sitting underneath a bed, well I do know. My loving owner was frolicking with her boyfriend in bed and I was on the pillow because she had me in her hands swiping and playing with her Candy Crush game on me, then, sure enough, this guy came over and she just threw me up on her pillow and they started going at it. She could have at least put me on her nightside table or her desk or anywhere else, but then bam I was tossed down by him, and here I am just laying on the floor. They even laughed as I fell and they continued to make out. She did not even have the courtesy to stop and pick me up. Doesn't she know I am expensive? I am probably the singular most expensive object in her room and here I am lying down with all this dog fur, dust, and crumbs. The bed sure does squeak a lot, wish it was not so loud! Oh goodness! A sock on me!! Gross, it’s his sweaty sock it really stinks like worse than her gym locker bag! Bleh! Of course she won’t stop now until the deed is done. Now I have to be here with this sock! It’s just one thing after another! This is truly awful experience I am usually tucked away in a pocket or even in her wallet. I miss those funny credit cards and gift cards. After the bed stopped squeaking, the room was silent, then not until much later did the light in her room turned on. Oh maybe she is here for me?

“Where is it?” She asked a loud. It’s strange my owner does it a lot. Talk to herself.

“Kylie! Did you take my phone again?!” She demanded. Ah, finally she is looking for me! “Come over by the bed Hannah! I’m over here” I wanted to scream.

“No, why would I take it?” I heard Kylie reply probably passing by Hannah’s room.

“Well where is it?” She asked.

“Ask your dumb boy friend!” She shouted back and I heard a door slam shut.

I heard Hannah’s got steps get closer to me, she must be by the bed. Come on just a little closer! Then I heard the squeaks of the bed frame and she poked her head through the crack! Yes! I am here Hannah. I’m ready to be treated like a queen again. Come on pick up the nasty sock and I’ll be yours again! Oh no! My battery! My battery, Hannah let’s go! I need to be charged!

“Where did you go?” She asked herself. I need you to charge me! And then blackness.

When I woke up I was fully charged on her night side table, but wait someone else is sharing it with me? Not just someone else…it’s another phone!

“Hey, there I’m IPhone 15! Said the new phone.

“Wait what? But Hannah already has a phone. That’s me! I’m iPhone 13,” I replied.

“Oh well, who is Hannah?”

“That’s your new owner! Oh good she still did erase my memory and give it to IPhone 15,” I said out loud.

Wait. That meant that she was going to replace me! Oh my goodness! She will replace me! iPhone 15 and I’m thirteen does that mean I was under bed all this time?? Sharing space with toe nail clippings, dust, spiders and the sock for what?? Six months? a year?

Hannah walked into the room. She looked at me and then at her new iPhone. This was it…

“Okay, I guess it’s time,” she said and like that everything went black.

HumorMicrofiction
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.