Fiction logo

Feeling Human part twelve

Futurama fanfiction

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Feeling Human part twelve
Photo by V T on Unsplash

So, that happened. I found myself smack dab in the middle of something I never thought I would have to be dealing with.

First of all, falling madly in love with my best friend Fry, then seeing him with those flowers. Daffodils for goodness sakes! I love those stupid, dumb flowers..

And then he runs off when Leela asks him if he needed to say something to her. As if the flowers were hers already!

As if she was his, already!!!

Why? Is Fry planning to ask her out again?!

If he is….

I’m so done with him.

Seriously. I’m done.

I’ll call that bartender lady up.

Yeah. That’s what I’ll do.

Fry can have Leela!!

He’s so dumb. I hate him!

So, I see Leela run up to Fry and touch his arm, and he kept running. So did she.

I have no idea what is going on.

Amy sees me and smiles sympathetically.

“I think Leela is going to…” I can’t finish the sentence. Amy frowns.

“She knows how you feel,” Amy says, as though that is some sacred oath.

I scoff. “And?”

“She isn’t going to try and take him,” Amy says in a overtly confident way, but her body language says otherwise. She looks tense, her shoulders raised and her expression nervous and hesitant. She frowns deeply and then suddenly looks at me directly and says in this urgent tone, “Go get him, Bender. Go tell him… hurry..”

I don’t know why but something about her tone made my heart hurt.

So, I nodded and ran.

I ran so hard I was out of breath, and then I realized I ran right into Fry.

Leela was still there.

“Oomph!” Fry says as I bump into him.

“Sorry, man!” I yell. “Didn’t see ya!”

Fry rubbed his ears, “Bender, you’re so loud…”

“Uh, sorry…” I whisper.

“Now, you’re too quiet…” Fry says, this time with a teasing tone.

“Well.. what… about… now?” I say in a slightly higher volume, and Fry giggles, making me titter.

“Hmm. Just right,” Fry says and moves closer to me, and I grin.

“What is going on, the impromptu version of Goldilocks?” Leela butts in and I frown.

“Then, if he’s Goldilocks,” I say, pointing to Fry, “what the hell are you? Mama Bear?”

Fry cracks up and I can’t help but feel a touch of pride at myself.

“What’s with the aggression? I thought you were a good friend, Bender,” Leela sneered, but I could tell in her big eye, she was hurt. I felt bad.

“Whatever… I came to talk to Fry. Sorry…” I say, and she nods in a sad way.

“I think he already gave an answer,” Leela says in a flustered, angry tone. “So… excuse me!” She tears up and walks off.

“Leela, I’m sorry!” Fry yells, and sighs as he is still holding the flowers.

I almost see him start to walk toward her, but he sighs again, and his arms go down at his sides in a defeated position.

Fry looks a mix of emotions—sad, regretful, pained and then, he looks at me. It feels like….

Better than anything I’ve ever felt. It’s a radiant, beautiful feeling. And it felt like it was getting stronger by the minute.

“Fry? You okay? What happened?” I ask, and he bites his lip.

“I don’t know. Everyone is acting so strange. And different…” our eyes meet and he smiles. “Even you.”

“I guess I didn’t realize how my change into being a human would affect everything and everyone..” I look down and feel my heart racing. “Not that I care!”

“Hmmm. You care. I think you do, anyway..” Fry says with a hopeful tone.

I sigh, and say, “Why would I care about a bunch of walking, talking meat bags?” I smirk and pretend to hit my face, “Oh, duh! That’s right. I’m one of you meat bags, now!”

Fry laughs again. “Hey, Bender, does Leela know something I don’t?”

“Ummm…No. Why?” I lie through my teeth.

“Ugh. I don’t know,” Fry says softly. “It’s like…. She straight up asked me what … who these flowers were for… and wanted to know if I was still thinking about going out with her…” Fry says in a timid way and I scrunch up my nose. “But, then she said—”

“She did? Wow. I’m…” I feel a coarsing anger fire up in my stomach up into my chest. “That’s just… ugh!” I look away from Fry’s searching gaze, and stomp on the ground.

“How could she?!” I yell, and Fry goes over to me, and puts his hand near my hand.

“Fry? What the heck?” I turn and he is close to my face. Super close.

“Bender… can we go back in our apartment? Please? I need to talk to you,” Fry says in this soft, pleading voice, and I feel like I’m swimming in it.

I nod, and feel myself calming down. “Uh. Okay. Let’s go.”

And then with his free hand, (the other one is still holding the flowers), he slowly reaches for my hand again.

I take it.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Finally they'll get to be alone. I hope they be frank to each other about their feelings

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.