Fiction logo

Far Away

By Kevin Barkman

By Kevin BarkmanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Far Away
Photo by miro polca on Unsplash

“Far away, deep into the woods lies a lake. In the center of the lake sits an island. On that island, a pond. It isn’t just any pond, however. Even in the middle of the summer, the hottest day of the year, this pond remains frozen over. On the coldest days of winter, the ice is never more than a few inches deep, just thick enough to walk over without fear. The ice is like glass, providing a neat viewport into the world beneath.

Oddly enough, when you look into the depths, it’s teaming with life. Strange fish and glowing plants dance just below the surface. Though unassuming during the light of day, at night, the entire pond lights up. Mind you, creatures like these don’t usually show up naturally in a place like that.

I’d been fascinated by the mystical place since I was a child. But as I grew up, my visits became fewer and farther between. Eventually, we moved away, and I stopped going altogether. I never forgot about that icy mystery.

Years later, I finally had the chance to return. I was determined to discover it’s secrets. I brought chisels and saws, hammers and picks, everything I could possibly need to get through the ice.

I stood over the pond, staring into the depths. Toward the edges, I could see the odd plants sprouting from the sandy bed. Toward the center, the white sands gave way to an inky darkness. A darkness that descends to depths I cannot determine, even through the crystal-clear pond.

The more I looked, the more my curiosity overtook me. I raised my sledge above a chisel, bringing it down hard into the ice. Even under such force, the ice barely chipped. I had to rethink my strategy. I pulled the pickaxe from my sack of gear. With swing after swing, I chipped away at the surface. Eventually I was able to open a sizable hole, one large enough to fit the ice saw into.

As I cut through the several inch thick sheet, I felt the water beneath splash onto my skin. It was much warmer than I expected. No ice should have been able to form there much less remain frozen so long. This oddity only drew me in.

Out of nowhere, I began to hear a sound. A whisper urging me into the water. Quick as I could, I cut a wide circle in the ice, the incessant murmur worming its way into my brain.

Compelled by the voice, I stood over the pit I’d created, staring into the void. Before even realizing what I was doing, I found myself stripped down to my briefs and kneeling at the edge.

“Swim down.” It whispers, “Come and find me.”

In a daze, I dove through the ice, the impossibly warm water washing over me. I swam toward the darkness. Deeper and deeper into the void. I felt my lungs begin to burn, my limbs growing weary, but my body kept moving on its own.

Down, down, down. Right as I thought I would drown, my head breaks into the air. As I looked around, I noticed I wasn’t at the pond. At least, not the same pond from whence I came.

A black sand beach encircled the body of water. Bright, fluorescent green and pink leaves grew from blackened stumps. I swam my way to shore, the haze fading from my mind. As I pulled myself out of the water, I noticed that I was completely dry.

The same voice from before, louder this time, beckons me onward through the black woods. Though I was no longer compelled against my will, I followed the voice, fear and curiosity mingled equally in my demeanor.

I followed for what seemed like hours, black sands crunching beneath my bare feet. The further into the forest I ventured, the denser the shining plants became. Eventually, I pushed through a wall of the strange foliage into a wide clearing. In the middle sat a massive stone dais with an altar rising in the center. At the back, a strange looking entity was perched atop an elaborate throne.

It looked human…almost human. The Fae. That’s the only way I can think to describe it. The creature must be a member of the ancient race of Fair folk that I’ve heard stories of my whole life. We stared at each other a long moment before it smiled and crooked its finger toward me. I crossed the dais, getting a better look at the creature before me. Its eyes sat a little too far apart, its limbs a little too long for its slender frame. Razor sharp talons sprouted from its toes and fingertips.

‘What have you brought me?’ The voice echoes through the air.

“Brought?” I muttered. ‘I have nothing with me.’

‘Shame.’ The creature’s toothy grin sent shivers down my spine.

In the corner of my eye, a pair of glowing orbs blinked to life at the tree line. Three more pairs of the freaky eyes appeared surrounding me. A low growl rumbled through the clearing. The hairs on my neck stood up as the beasts inched their way toward me.

‘WAIT!’ I shouted. ‘I…I offer you…Entertainment!’

‘Interesting.’ The leading creature descended from its perch, crawling along the ground like a spider. It bared its teeth to me, showing mandibles protruding from its cheeks. ‘And how will you, puny one, entertain me?’

‘I tell jokes. I…uh…do tricks. Dancing, singing. You name it.’

‘Well, then. Entertain me, human.’

Believe it or not, I spent the next several hours doing anything and everything I could think of to keep myself alive. My funky dance moves kept the Fae intrigued for quite a while. That is, until I saw my opportunity for escape.

I convinced it that I knew a magic trick. I was going to make the altar disappear before its very eyes. I asked the being for one of the large pieces of fabric hanging from its throne. I covered the stone altar, playing the part of the magician very well. I spoke the magic words, and with a flourish, ripped away the sheet.

While still behind the colorful fabric, I turned tail and ran. I bolted back through the glowing forest. After only a moment, the smaller animalistic creatures began chasing me. I barely stayed ahead of them as I ran back toward the liquid portal.

I dove into the waters, swimming as fast as possible back into our world. I emerged from the other side unscathed but terrified out of my mind. When I breached the surface, a woman stood above me holding out her hand to pull me out.

‘Are you alright?’ She exclaimed as she pulled me back onto the ice.

‘I…It…I don’t…’ I stuttered. ‘I think so.’

When I got a better look at her face, I realized that she was the most beautiful woman I had ever seen. Maybe that was colored by my recent traumatic experience at the time, but don’t tell her that.”

“Who was she, dad?”

“Who was she? Who do you think she was? That was how I met your mother.”

“Daaaad. None of that ever happened.”

“Are you calling me a liar?” I tease, placing my hand over my heart. “I would never lie to you. Every word I’ve told is true. The pond, the portal, the magical forest, all of it. Now, it’s time for you to get to bed.

“Sweet dreams, little one.”

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Kevin Barkman

Somehow, my most popular story is smut. I don't usually write smut. I did it once, and look what happened. Ugh.

Anyway, Hope you enjoy my work. I do pour my heart, soul, sweat and tears into it.

PS: Please read more than my smut story.I beg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.