Fiction logo

Family Business

A tavern full of memories

By Dani BananiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Family Business
Photo by Stéphan Valentin on Unsplash

Charles scuffled into the old Green Light Tavern, his lifelong favorite watering hole ready and waiting to serve him his usual: grilled cheese, tater tots, and an ice cold soda to start. When conversations got going, he'd throw back his sodas like they were ice cold summertime beers; the kind that give you that refreshing sense of relief after sweating in the relentless sun. Charles liked to come to the bar and watch the television, or survey new patrons and the good ol' regulars, occasionally finding a decent conversation to have with a youngster who had little knowledge of old-time farming and what life once was. His final act of the night would be buying a young gentleman a snack and asking him to pay it forward someday.

It was his routine, and he was quite pleased with that routine. It had been this way ever since the love of his life passed away. He used to order the hefty Green Light Giant Burger with extra onion, but his appetite wasn't much after Darla was gone. So much light in his life had vanished when he lost her, it was as if the neon green lighting inside the bar existed to light up those shadows he dealt with.

"Hey, Charles!" the bartender shouted as he wiped down the bar. "What'll it be?"

Charles nodded with a smile. "The usual, I think, but maybe just American cheese on the sandwich this time. My stomach didn't do too good with the last one. Thanks, Frank."

Frank returned the smile vaguely and set to work on placing the order of grilled cheese, tater tots, and retrieved Charles's cola to enjoy while he waited. Charles took a seat at the bar and gazed around.

"Awful quiet tonight," Charles observed as he sipped his drink.

"It'll pick up." Frank, always the optimist, smiled warmly at Charles. "How was work today?"

"Hrmph. Ol' Faithful broke down, don't know how I'm about to finish up farming season without her."

"Ah, not again."

"Yep. Guess that's the life of a farmer. You find one piece of equipment that works like an angel, then she falls apart on you. Reckon that's what happens when she's used properly for too many years." Charles slugged back the rest of his drink just in time for his dinner and a refill to be placed in front of him.

"We all have our struggles, don't we Charles? I run this bar and I have for years, you know that. And I come across a lot of crazy stuff. People confess to me like I'm some kinda...priest or something. There's shock, there's some funny things here and there, but mostly? Just a lot of sad things."

Charles nodded solemnly. "You're a man of compassion, Frank, don't ever stop being that. You've been helping me out a whole lot. I don't think I've been the same since I saw Darla loaded up in that ambulance."

"You're a friend, Charles, you know I'm here for you regardless of the kind of job I work. And you're doing much better than you think, bud." Frank shrugged off the subject to point out three new customers. "Those kids are on a cross country road trip together, hitting random dives and checking out the local scenery. You should go say hi to 'em. Get yourself a reason to smile today."

"That doesn't sound too bad. I could use the new company, and I bet they could use a free appetizer." Charles stood and scuffled over to the newbies, the pains in his aging body spreading slowly and inhibiting his speed. Two girls and a boy sat there chatting, all stopping to smile brightly at him.

"Hello, friends, I'm Charles. I'm a local. Care to join me?"

There was a pause as their smiles faltered slightly, until a girl in cherry red pigtails said, "Why don't you join us, Charles? We're traveling and we'd love to hear from a local about life around here."

Charles smiled. "Thank you, young lady. What is your name?"

"I'm Cassie. This is Sandra, and this is Dean."

Charles spoke at length for two hours, offering drinks to the newcomers as well but being turned down each time until he demanded Frank make them all an appetizer sampler to share. He got to relive a lot of his favorite memories and share laughs with young people, which didn't happen too often. He spoke at length about Darla's beauty, and how she stood out in a crowd without being too boisterous. Most youngsters found his stories boring, or thought his age made him an immediate grouch, so they didn't sit and listen much. These kids seemed to drink in every moment with glee.

"Well, it was nice to talk to you all. I need to head home and get some shut eye. Lots to do tomorrow."

"Thanks for talking to us, Charles. We really love your stories. You should tell stories for a living." Sandra smiled widely at him.

"Maybe next time you kids can tell me about where you've been. Have a good night." Charles dropped cash to Frank, told him goodnight, and headed out to his truck as the bar phone rang loudly.

Frank picked it up, "Green Light Tavern."

"Frank," a soft, female voice spoke.

He pinched the bridge of his nose before spreading his fingers to dig into his eyes, always hating this part of the night.

"It was a grilled cheese, Darla."

A muffled sigh, followed by silence, came through the phone before she replied, "Okay. And the grand kids?"

"Heard all the same things they heard yesterday."

There was a long pause. "It's getting worse, Frank."

"Nothing we can do but keep moving on. Same try tomorrow?"

"Yes, please. I appreciate what you do for our family."

"It's the least I can do, Mom."

family
1

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.