Fiction logo

Fairyland Problems

Part 1

By Elizabeth SmithPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

It all started one tuesday in July. It was my summer school final, and I was running late. I didn’t want to go to school that day but it was clear, my mother would force me to if it was the last thing she did. I finally managed to find the will to sit up and put on my clothes. I picked up my backpack and headed out the door. The bus driver was waiting for me. "Ready to go, tiger?" The bus driver asked. "My name is Tyler" I reminded him for the….oh I lost count. He’s called me that since kindergarten.

"How are you doing, Ty?" A strange girl asked. She seemed familiar. I couldn’t put my finger on where I knew her from, but it definitely wasn't school. "May I sit next to you?" she asked, clearly shaking in her boots. "Sure, I don’t mind". She swept into the seat next to mine and the light hit her face, turning her brown eyes into a warm honey color. She was beautiful, but I don't think she realized it.

"Don’t you wear glasses?" The girl asked. "Yes, I do. Can’t you see that?" I sighed in exasperation and pointed at my face. She tried not to laugh. "What? Do I have something on my face?" With that, she lost her composure. A little later, she caught her breath. No, there’s nothing on your face, that’s the problem."

Slowly, I felt my face, hoping she didn’t mean what I thought she meant. Sure enough, my glasses were not on my face. My mom was gonna kill me.

I searched my backpack, but to no avail. I flipped my backpack upside-down and shook everything out of it and onto the small portion of seat next to me. "What are you doing?" The girl asked. "None of your bees wax" I stated coldly. "I just thought I could help, you seem panicky. I’m..I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to bother you." she sighed and turned away. "What’s your name? I feel like I know you from somewhere." she turned towards me, her eyes sparkling. "My name is Diana, we knew each other when we were kids." When we were kids? I never knew a Diana. "Okay, Diana, I’m sorry. I just forgot my glasses and my mom is not going to be happy about it." She looked at me thoughtfully. "That makes sense. Is there anything I can do to help?" She asked. "Not that I know of, unless you have some extra glasses made of transparent, solid metyrapone with a prescription of 119.00." She stared at me, her eyes glassy. "I’ve never even heard of glasses like that. What is metyrapone?" Good question, if only I knew the answer. I’ve tried looking it up. It’s not on the internet. "I’m not sure, it’s supposed to be better than regular old glass." Ah well, no use worrying about it right now, I have to pass this test.

We arrived at my high school, Gulf Shores Academy, for what I hoped would be my last day. I had been in high school far too long, due to my innate failure to do differential equations and covalent bonds.

Slowly, begrudgingly, I sat in my chair and waited for the test to be administered. Once the test was on my desk, I quickly finished it, then put it on the teachers desk. Mr. Shallot looked at me in disbelief. But I didn’t care. Sure, I hoped I did well, but really I just wanted it all to be over.

Sooner than expected, the rest of the students around me finished their test, and we were dismissed. I got back on the bus, destined for my home, hopefully for the last time.

As I walked back into the house, my mother greeted me warmly. "How was it? Do you think you did well?" She asked. "I don’t know, and I don’t care" I responded, coldly. "Are you okay, sweetie?" That’s when she noticed my glasses, or the lack thereof, and then everything went straight to hell. First came the yelling which generally I don't mind, but today it frightened me. Then, she went upstairs and got my glasses and forced them on my face so hard that they broke in half. Great job mom, A+ parenting. Now I’m grounded, but thank the gods, I can’t see you.

Next part coming 5/10/2022

Series
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Smith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.