Fiction logo

Fable 5: The Panda and the Fox

The Panda Learns a Harsh Lesson

By ThatWriterWomanPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
Fable 5: The Panda and the Fox
Photo by N Band on Unsplash

A/N: Hello Dear Reader,

I have decided to write 10 fables (some modern and some traditional) inspired by the great Aesop! This is the fifth installment, Enjoy! Please Like Comment and Subscribe!

-TWW

There was once a panda. She lived deep in the bamboo forests, eating young shoots and laying in the dappled sunshine, enjoying her peace. One day, a fox leaped through the forest and shot the panda an impressed look.

“Ho there, bear!” the fox shouted

“Oh hello, fox” she replied

“Those are some mighty teeth!, and what large claws!” the fox exclaimed, padding over to the panda.

“Well... thank you?” the panda replied

The fox looked her over again, seeming to come to a conclusion, one which made him very cunning indeed.

“Could you help me with something, friendly bear?” the fox asked, smiling.

“I am sure I could try,” the panda replied cautiously.

“Fantastic! Follow me!” the fox hopped away, into the distance.

Taking one last mouthful of bamboo, the panda followed the fox, intrigued by the foxes’ need for help.

By Mélody P on Unsplash

After following the foxes’ tail over the forest, the two animals came to a clearing. Within it was a large pool of water, surrounded by larger wood trees.

“Now, all you have to do, is keep an eye out for me, there are some mean old mammals who don’t let me fish here, I’m starving!” the fox told the panda.

The panda looked at the fox sceptically, he looked healthy to her. However, the thought of hunger was enough to garner her sympathies.

Together, they walked to the water’s edge, the fox beginning to stick his head under to try and catch some small fish. The panda waited at the water’s edge and watched him. He was catching a lot of shellfish, and placing them at the water’s edge.

“You should stop now,” said the panda. “That is more than enough for one meal”

The fox sneered at her. “It is exciting to fish, I am enjoying this, leave me alone!”

By Sunguk Kim on Unsplash

AWAY FOX!” an angry voice sounded from the trees. The fox's head rose from the water, his eyes holding fear. With false confidence, he shouted back towards the trees.

“Nice try but I have protection!”

From the trees emerged a large tiger, the orange stripes striking fear into the panda.

I see. You, panda, are here to protect the fox, from me?

“…Yes,” the panda squeaked

Well then, we fight!

The tiger growled and lunged at the panda, ripping sharp scratches into her cheek. She roared as her eyes watered.

“Hey! This fox has just as much right to feed from this pond as you do, tiger! No one owns the nature in which we live!” The panda exclaimed, in pain.

Fool! We all own the nature in which we live! I am not protecting MY food, I am protecting everyone’s!

By Frida Lannerström on Unsplash

The panda turned to the fox, who had been busy guzzling down his catches from earlier with enthusiasm.

“He is overfishing,” she realised, mumbling to herself.

If I let him do this every day, that pool will be barren! None of us will be able to fish!

“Say fox, can’t you just take from the pond a little at a time?” the panda addressed the fox.

“Oh, why should I care if others can’t eat the way I do? I got here first!” He whined.

The panda turned back to the tiger.

“Despite my size, my teeth, my claws, and my being here, I am no fighter. The fox asked for help, but I see now that I am being used.”

The panda walked away, hearing the growls of the tiger followed by the fearful squeaks of the manipulative fox. Her cheek stung.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moral: Harm comes to those who get involved in situations they do not understand.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N: Hi there! I hope you enjoyed this fable! I enjoyed writing it!

If you would like to hear about more of my stories and drabbles, give me a follow here or on Twitter

If you would like to support me as a writer, please comment, share insights, tip or share!

My best to you all,

ThatWriterWoman

Short StorySeriesFantasyFableAdventure
2

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    This was so beautifully written and concise, TWW! It held such an important lesson and although I have a love for foxes I was happy to see he got what was coming to him! Great work, I always love your fables and the lessons they hold! 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.