Fiction logo

EYES OF LOVE

Snow Globe

By Babs IversonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
23
Author's Picture

A goal without a plan is a wish. - Antonie de Saint-Exupéry

Yesterday, there was a buzz of activity in the house. Christmas trees were assembled. Lights and decorations were added to the artificial trees. From my past experiences, Christmas must be close at hand.

After being in a dark, musty container for who knows how long, my surroundings were noticeably different. Different in a good way! My new home is warm, comfortable and the scent of eucalyptus fills the air. For me, the eucalyptus scent is welcomed, relaxing me more than the balsam or fresh pine candles from my past.

Notably, my music hasn't been played for decades. Apparently, the winding key was lost. Who knows where the winding key went? Immediately, the people at my new home noticed that a part was missing. Eavesdropping, their conversation reminded me of the young couple who celebrated their very first Valentine's Day.

As a matter of fact, the young engaged couple was shopping for rings. She saw me at a jewelry store. Remarkably, the husband noticed how his wife loved my heart shape, the swans, and the song.

Naturally, the song was Through The Eyes Of Love. Recalling their first date and their first dance to that very song, she didn't have to remind him, Since their wedding plans were in the works, the song would be played at their October wedding.

Unsurprisingly, the song held nostalgic and sentimental value. When his fiance went off to have lunch with her mother and her future mother-in-law, he returned to the jewelry store and had me wrapped in Valentine's paper, hiding me in the trunk of his car until their first Valentine's Day.

Oh, that was so long ago! Losing count, the years went by so quickly. However, every year on Valentine's Day, my music would be played. They danced to their favorite song, Through The Eyes Of Love. Then, they placed me back up on the bookshelf for their next Valentine's Day.

Unfortunately, the music stopped. That's when they placed me into the dark musty container. This might coincide with losing the winding key. Wishing that my heart-shaped snow globe would be appreciated again, my dream was to see the sunlight again. While longing to hear my music and to watch a couple of dancers. My wish. My desire. My want. I waited and waited!

Recently, my dream of seeing the sunlight again came true. Eureka! Now, my wish has become my new owner's wish to hear the song, Through the Eyes Of Love.

Unfamiliar words were spoken. Internet, google, google search, and online! What were they talking about? Were they speaking a foreign language? Having no idea, the words weren't familiar. Thinking, they too wished to hear my music and to dance to my song.

Interestingly, she informed him that she found the lyrics online. Slowly, she read,

"Please, don't let this feeling end

It's everything I am

Everything I want to be

I can see what's mine now

Finding out what's true since I found you

Looking through the eyes of love."

"What a beautiful song!" she exclaimed. He replied, "I have never heard the song before. But, the words could apply to us."

Overhearing this, my hopes soared! Indeed, my owners wish to hear my music. It doesn't get any better than that. Yes! Wishes can come true! Trying not to get my hopes dashed, the humans have found music box winding keys online. Amazingly, a plan is being formulated. Hearing my music and song, Through The Eyes Of Love, my dream wish will come true.

YouTube Through the Eyes of Love(Theme from Ice Castles 1978)-Melissa Manchester-Piano Solo -Music sheet

This story was written for Mini Fiction Challenges (MFC #1). The prompt was a wish. Loving Julie Smith's prompts. If you would like more information about Vocal Writing Prompts, you can get it here.

Short Story
23

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.