Fiction logo

Expansion: Chapter 1: Galaxios Kiklios

The Andromedeans

By Kathryn PaayPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Expansion: Chapter 1: Galaxios Kiklios
Photo by Benjamin Recinos on Unsplash

MISSION: PRISONER STATUS KIKLIOS GALAXIOS

The mission was a simple one, a waypoint on a longer journey really. Scan the lifeforms, confirm their status, and leave. We never even had to enter the atmosphere or touch the surface. They should have been long dead anyway. According to Metis, our onboard system, the lifespan of a common human was only 60-80 revolutions, 100 if they got lucky.

“How’s the scan going?” I ask, expecting them to have been done by now.

“I don’t think you’re gonna like this Cap…” replied my right hand Sarcan, “You remember how they said only two…”

“Yes, two that should be long dead”

“Try 12 billion.”

I nearly spat the cagnok I was drinking over the control panel, “scan again.”

“My scans are right Cap, I assure yo…”

“I said scan again! There must be a mistake!”

As Sarcan began her second round of scans I peered out the window of our ship’s command bay. I watched as a tiny speck in the sky slowly grew larger until I was sure all six of my eyes were deceiving me. All eight tentacles springing to life from my back, I make quick work of enabling the ship's defense systems while simultaneously making sure the rest of the crew is on alert and bringing up a reference hologram to make sure I was right. Even though the alarms were blaring, I could hear the commotion as the rest of the crew clamored to find out what was happening. All they needed to know was that there was a threat, how much of one, not even I was sure yet.

I stood studying the holo spinning slowly in front of me as what I could now only hope was some sort of bot, but I feared may not be, grew ever closer. It did not seem to have any fear of our defense systems, did not even register the large pulse cannons pointed directly at it. It was definitely shaped like a human, the holo confirmed that much. Beyond that, I was at a loss. Then, it did the unthinkable, it drifted straight through our shields like they didn’t exist. It shouldn’t be possible. The shields keep asteroids the size of this entire planet out, so how does this human-like thing drift through them like they’re not there?

“Uh, Cap? What’re we gonna do?”

“I don’t know yet Sar, it’s only one, can’t be too dangerous. Can it?”

“Cap, have you read why they were put down here?” Sarcan sounded nervous.

“No.”

“They’re dangerous, like destroy whole systems dangerous,” Sarcan began to fidget.

“Just one of them though?” I watched as the human-like thing made its final approach.

“We only imprisoned two”

It tapped. Sarcan jumped. Then, it raised its visor. That was definitely human and it was baring its teeth, never a good sign.

“We need to go Cap, now!”

“Agreed,” I rushed to the control panel, tentacles flying in all directions, “All crew members prepare for hyperspace,” I tried to sound calm as I spoke over the intercom.

I knew I would have to tell them all later, but for now, we needed to get out. I counted down under my breath the nanos until hyperdrive was ready, watching the human lower its visor and turn away with a look of what I thought could be disappointment. Perhaps it was disappointed it couldn't get to us. I won’t take that chance. It could come back with more.

“Second scans finished Cap, 12 billion again, and that doesn’t include whatever they have floating around up here, could be more.”

“Let’s get out of here, we will report back to Andromeda HQ when we are in a safer location,” with that I flung the ship into hyperspace hoping to never see that horrifying sector again.

*****

It’s been years since we had been to Kiklios Galaxios. I still have nightmares. The way the human passed right through our shields without a second thought, the glint in its eyes, and it only has two tiny eyes! How can it even see? I won’t ever forget the way it seemed to look right through the glass of our command bay even though I knew it couldn’t possibly. And the teeth, the way it raised its visor simply to bare its teeth at us. It was telling us to go away, to leave now or it would destroy us all. A shiver runs down my spine each time I relive the memory.

“Cap, you’re not gonna believe this” Sarcan startles me out of my stroll down memory lane.

“What is it Sar?”

“They come in peace,” she shifted uneasily.

“Who?”

“The humans.”

I set my cagnok on the table with a thud and unfold myself from my seat. I, the fearless Captain Padrok, enforcer of the galaxies, had to bite back my fear as I walked headlong towards the greatest one I have ever faced.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Paay

Reach into the depths of space and beyond. Could there be galaxies within each of us?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.