Fiction logo

EXISTENCE

The Light and Dark of Truth - Part VIII FINALE

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 5 min read
1
EXISTENCE
Photo by Khürt Williams on Unsplash

Continued from Part VII

"Alexa, please initiate a video call to Elaina Deck." Anna waited as the screen pulsed.

"Hello?" a gasp followed by a long pause. A gaping mouth expressed: "Oh my! I'm so glad you called. I have really missed you."

"I missed you too."

"I am so sorry for my part. I want you to know how ashamed I feel. I love you."

"I love you too."

"There is so much I want to share with you. Josh has a girlfriend and he is taking her..."

All my memories gather 'round her

Miner's lady, stranger to blue water

Dark and dusty, painted on the sky

Misty taste of moonshine, teardrop in my eye

Country roads, take me home...

I hear her voice in the mornin' hour she calls me

The radio reminds me of my home far away

Drivin' down the road, I get a feelin'

That I should've been home yesterday, yesterday

Country roads, take me home...

- Take Me Home, Country Roads - Song by John Denver

beep - beep - beep - beep - beep - beep - beep

ALEXA: Halo secure beep - Vitals normal and steady - beep

DR. LUNDQUIST: Thank you - beep - Begin infusion - beep

beep - and activate nanites - beep - beep - beep - beep

Dear Mr. Wodehouse,

I hope this letter finds you well. I am writing to you to let you know that my mother wanted you to have the last few pages that she had written. Having read all the previous pages, I know that this novel was a passion project born from grief and pain. Her whole heart has bled every word like crimson drops on pristine linen. She loved more deeply than anyone I know. This love is why her pain was so exquisite. Along with the manuscript I have enclosed a compilation of poetry and short stories and I have titled it The Woods: The Forest Through The Trees. I hope you can work this into publication as well.

Sincerely,

Marcus Grey

The party had been a great diversion for Arwen. She could enjoy the company of friends and not worry about what was coming next. Her mother had hinted that there would be a conversation after the party. Even though she didn't know the reason for this meeting, she knew that it would be serious because her mother had made a point that the conversation would occur after the last guest had left for the evening.

Gazing over her left should, Arwen turned toward the open door to her room. The muffled voices of her parents stirred a strong connection, a longing for their companionship. Although she was curious, she did not walk toward the voice. Another force pulled her from familiar voices towards the unknown. Turning away from the door, she continued through the marble arches onto the veranda overlooking the fragrant orchard that stretched far beyond the palace walls. The marble slabs were cool against her feet. A gentle breeze flowed across and through the leaves of the trees gathering up pink and white blossoms that drifted gently to the ground. Small drifts formed at the edge of the path that disappeared into the distance.

Arwen stepped slowly down the cool marble steps spiraling toward the velvety grass of the orchard. Stopping, she stood silent for some time gazing across the tops of the trees. A warm breeze swept through the orchard and up the steps to where Arwen stood. The breeze lifted her long strawberry-blond hair causing strands to brush across her porcelain skin. She continued to watch the sea of green with deep longing.

Sebastian brushed up against her right leg and then circled around her legs still pressing into her as his long tail playfully flitted about in the long folds of her skirt. Arwen looked down and was greeted by a quick meow and a continuous low purr.

Leaving her side, Sebastian leaned back on his hind paws and then sprung into the air, floating down to the green grass of the orchard with Arwen following swiftly but gracefully. The pleasant fragrance of the blossoms mingled with the freshly crushed grass while the breeze carried gentle bursts of lavender from a nearby field. Sparrows chirped from their nests as Arwen walked by and hummingbirds buzzed by quickly; pausing for a second in greeting and then speeding off in search of nectar. Life burst out in all its spectacular spring traditions. The sights and sounds a reminder of the continuous circle of life and the renewal of spring.

Arwen continued through the orchard following the path she had tread so many times before. She could hear the babbling waters of the river that bordered her kingdom. Arwen loved the familiar and this orchard was familiar. She felt safe here and she smiled as she recollected times past and the hours she whiled away. As she continued her journey the sun crept slowly higher into the sky and its heat warmed her skin. She was glad for the light frock she chose to wear. The random shade of the apple trees became the desired respite and eventually the heat pierced through the dense boughs. The heat was so intense that little beads of perspiration dotted Arwen's forehead and her cheeks burned bright red.

Sebastian wandered into the thickest and darkest parts of the orchard to escape the blazing sun. Soon that was no relief. Arwen began to wonder why it was so hot and why it was becoming increasingly difficult to breathe. She considered resting beneath a tree and then remembered the river. She cut through the trees eastward toward the river finding it in a short time. She raised her skirt above her knees and stepped into the cool winter thaw. Sebastian at the river's edge lapped up cool water; pausing only for a moment to purr contentedly up at Arwen.

Arwen found a boulder and sat for a while taking in the cool refreshing river.

And she thought.

And then she wondered.

Short StoryFantasyfamily
1

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.