Fiction logo

Ethereal

Catch A Falling Star and Put It in Your Pocket, Never Let it Fade Away.

By Sarah Faith EthridgePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A SHORT STORY

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say....

I step back from my telescope to take a full glance of the galaxies above. The cold wind gives rise to each hair on my arm, so I decide to zip-up my jacket. I stretch widely, ready to go back inside for sleep and just as I turn, I spot a falling star through the corner of my eye. Where will it land? I take one more look to the stars before I resume, in hope to see another comet, none appear.

Two Shooting Stars from Free Nature Stock.

So, I turn my back on the stars and head for my house. I watch the grass form around my shoes as I walk. All the lights in the house are off, except for my bedroom's lamp. I look forward to going to sleep; today was long, and I have to report to work in a couple of hours, so there's a chance tomorrow will be longer. Probably shouldn’t have stayed up as late as I did… I'll take time for a shower, but won't take too long.

I step out of the shower and into a robe.

Just 'cause I'm broke, doesn't mean I can't live like a queen.

I guess this whole thing can get rather monotonous. I stare at my reflection for a few minutes. Then, I observe the build up of extra toothpaste now a dried form gushing out of its tube, poorly manipulated by my hands.

Circular Star Trails from Free Nature Stock.

BOOM!

One blast of thunder shook my floors as glass bursts around me. I feel like I am on fire. I see a flash of light. NO, I am the fire, not a reflection of heat. Instead, burning sensations rise everywhere inside of my skin. I touch my face and try to release a scream, my throat is too dry.

I hear God's CLAP once more and I fall to the floor. What's happening? The sound resonated through the surface of the ground. The power goes out. Glass from the windows scatter and shuffle all over my bedroom, as I struggle to stand. Wind rushes past me, to steal my breathe, and in seconds I feel sundered. Am I dreaming?

Photo Credit: nanessa reyes from Burst

Am I in a vacuum? I feel consumed. Car alarms sound as I stay, lying in a fetal position, holding myself in disbelief. The neighborhood dogs begin to yell. I analyzed the floor in front of me. I begin to crawl, slowly out of the bathroom, being careful to not touch the glass but afraid to stand again. I want to see outside. I see my phone fell off of my bedside table... should I call someone first?

An alarm is going off on my television set, so I scramble to turn it off. I know what's happening. I am a part of what is happening and this just adds to the chaos... but where is everyone? I reach along the floor, and accidentally catch a shard of glass in my hand. It pricks me a little, I stop to pull it out and cry. I hear no one outside aside from unanswered machines and dogs still finding the nerve to wail.

I drag myself to my phone, scraping my legs against everything in the pathway. My tears fill my eyesight as I try to find a reason through the unreasonable. I guide my hand across my floorboard, attempting to find my phone despite the fact that I can not stop crying long enough to see anything. I reach further, and feel the surface of its cover. It flips over with my initial interaction. I wipe the tears from my eye, and reach for it, with both hands, still afraid to stand.

FIN

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Faith Ethridge

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Sarah. I enjoy writing as much as I love to sing. I am also a gaming enthusiast and stream live content like cooking, or whatever project I'm working on at the time! CLICK HERE! Hope to see you there!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.