Fiction logo

Emma(6)

Emma had no doubt that she had directed Harriet's fancy in a proper direction

By testPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
Like

Emma had no doubt that she had led Harriet's fantasy to a proper position, and her gratitude and young love and vanity to a good overall goal. Since she realized that old Mr. Elton was a particularly beautiful man and elegant and beautiful, she found that Harriet was more and more tolerant. Since she did not hesitate to accept the admiration he established and expressed, she soon believed that the Harriet level had already formed a good feeling based on some pleasant hints, just like many similar situations. She also had a good chance to think that old Mr. Elton would fall in love even if he had not yet begun to love. She has no doubt about him. He discussed her, praised her, and used enthusiastic language, so she could not assume that there was something that could not be completed in a short period of time. Since Harriet arrived at Hartfield house, his style has made amazing progress. His discovery of her change is a pleasant proof that he relies more on her.

"We gave Miss Smith everything she needed," he said. "You, too, are becoming more and more noble and elegant. When she returned to her hometown, she was originally a beautiful girl. However, in my opinion, you made her enhance her unique charm far beyond her natural beauty."

"I'm very glad you think I'm useful to her, but what Harriet lacked was just a little reminder and a little hint. She has all the natural beauty, sweet and elegant, pleasant nature, no affectation at all, and I can do very little."

"If I could express a proposal of a different type from that of a lady," old Mr. Elton cried with emotion

"Maybe I added a little determination to her character, and taught her to consider some positions she had not touched before."

"That's true. That's exactly what surprised me. It takes a lot of skill to add decisiveness to your temperament!"

"I feel extremely happy. I have never experienced such a lovely character before."

"I have no doubt about it." This sentence carries a vivid sigh, like the voice of most lovers. Another day, she felt equally happy that she had attached to him a sudden wish: to draw a picture of Harriet.

"Have you ever been painted before, Harriet?" She inquired. "Have you ever sat down without moving to make a picture?"

Harriet was about to leave the house at that time. He stopped and said with simple innocence and interest:

"Whew! God, no, never."

As soon as she left, Emma sighed:

"How beautiful it is to have a good portrait of her! I would like to get such a picture with all my property. I almost look forward to drawing her portrait by hand. I dare say you don't know, but two or three years ago, I was very keen on painting. I tried to draw a portrait for several of my friends, and everyone thought it was still in the past. However, for various reasons, I formed thick smoke and chose to give up. However, if Harriet wanted to sit in front of me, I would still Capable of taking risks. How delightful it would be to have one of her paintings! "

"I support you," cried old Mr. Elton. "That's really a pleasure! Miss fieldsweet, I support you to use your charming talents for your good friends. I know your art and painting level. How can you think that I know nothing about it? Does it mean that there are not many landscapes and potted flowers that you painted in this room, or that there are not many drawings that can not be copied in Mrs. Weston's landaus house living room?"

Very good, my good man—— Emma thought -- but what is this to do with portraits? I really don't know anything about portraits. Don't pretend to be crazy about my paintings. Save your madness for Harriet. "Old Mr. Elton, even if you are so kind to me, I will try my best with confidence. Harriet's face is very elegant, and it is really difficult to paint her. The shape of her eyes is different, and the lines around her mouth must be captured."

"It's true - the shape of the eyes and the lines around the mouth - I have no doubt that you can draw it successfully. Please, please try. After all, it is you who draw it. How nice it is to have a good picture of her!"

"But, old Mr. Elton, I think Harriet doesn't like to sit down very much. She thinks very little about her own appearance. Have you noticed her attitude when she answers me? That means completely, 'why do you want to draw my picture?'"

"Well, I've noticed it, I promise you. It won't do me any harm. But I can't imagine that I can't persuade her."

Harriet soon went home, and everyone immediately gave her advice. Under the sincere urging of the two men, she agreed without any compromise. Emma was looking forward to drawing at once, so she took out her picture portfolio, which contained her portraits of various characters, none of which was finally completed. They were able to discuss and decide how big a portrait to make for Harriet. She showed us a lot of painting methods. Small paintings, sitting portraits, whole body paintings, pencil paintings, crayon paintings and gouache paintings were all tried. She always does everything. Her work is so small, but her development in art, painting, editing and music is greater than that of all people who put in the same work. She can play the piano and sing. She has tried almost every painting style; But I just lack perseverance. She has achieved excellent standards with little effort, and she should have been happy to master these skills rather than eager to achieve them. She is self aware of her own talents as an artist and composer. However, if others are confused and want to think that her achievements are higher than the specific situation, she is not disappointed.

Every painting has some advantages - the more uncompleted it is, the more advantages it has. Her style is full of energy and vitality. If there were not many paintings in the past, or if the original number was half as many as it is now, the joy and respect of the two partners would not be different. They were both overjoyed. Portraits can be a hobby for anyone. Miss fieldsweet's painting must be first-class.

"I can't show you all kinds of faces," said Emma.

"I only study people in my own family." This is my father -- another painting of my father -- but when he sat here to make a portrait, he felt anxious and uneasy. He concluded that I could only paint it quietly, so these two pictures are not like him. You see, this is Mrs. Weston, and that is Mrs. Weston, too. Dear Mrs. Weston! She is my friendliest and best friend at any time. I want her to sit anywhere. This is my sister too. It's quite like her elegant posture! The faces are also similar. If she could sit a little longer, I could have painted better, but she was anxious for me to draw her four children, so she could not calm down. Here are the pictures I tried to draw for three of my four children - all here. On the drawing board are Bert, Robert and al. Any one of them is wild enough to kill the other children. She wanted me to draw them so much that I couldn't refuse. But as you all know, the three - or four-year-old child didn't stand still at all; It's not easy to paint a picture of them except for their appearance and skin color. If their facial features are more vulgar than those of other children, it's easier to paint. One is the portrait I made for my fourth child, a baby. I painted it for him when she was asleep on the sofa. You see, the flower knots in his sun visor are very similar. She is lying face down, who is very comfortable. That picture is very similar. I'm proud of little George... The corner of this sofa is very good. Next is my last unfinished painting, which is also a small and medium-sized sketch. It is a graceful full-length portrait - my last and best painting - my brother-in-law, Mr. Robert Knightley. The painting was completed without much painting. At that time, I was a little depressed. I left him aside and swore that I would never paint again. I have to feel angry because I have worked so hard and painted very well - Mrs. Weston and I agree very much that this kind of painting is very similar - only decorated a little - slightly more beautiful than the real version - but this is at the level of commendation - the result is that it's just Ke Ling's baby. Shael coldly praised: "no, it's a little like - but to be honest, That is not fair to him. " But we couldn't persuade him to sit down. I meant it with great kindness. In a word, I can't stand it anymore, so you haven't finished painting at all. Because you can't get loved after painting, people from Brunswick square will feel sorry every morning. As I said just now, since then, I have vowed not to draw portraits of all people, but in order to be able to Harriet, or rather to be able to myself, because there is no relationship between husband and wife under such circumstances, I have broken the rule once and again. "

After listening to this idea, Mr. Elton seemed to be deeply moved and felt happy. He repeatedly said: "as you said, there is no such relationship between husband and wife. What you said is absolutely right. There is no relationship between husband and wife." Emma felt that the scene in front of her was so subtle that she could not help thinking whether she should leave immediately and leave them alone in the room. However, because she wanted to make paintings, their confessions could only be left idle for a while.

She soon decided on the size and variety of the Chinese paintings. It should be a watercolor portrait of the whole body, like one of Mr. Knightley's. If she is satisfied, she will eventually occupy a very prominent place on the mantelpiece.

Harriet gradually sat down as a painting model. She wore a smile on her face and her cheeks were pale red. She was afraid that she could not maintain a certain posture and expression. Under the vicious attention of the art master, she showed a very sweet appearance of a young girl. But all this was of the no use, for old Mr. Elton stood behind him anxiously, staring at every stroke. She wanted to ask him to choose a position where he could stare at her without harming her; But in fact, I had to give up this idea and ask him to escape. So she had an idea: she asked him to read it.

"If he wants to read to them, it is undoubtedly a good deed! His nervousness will be relaxed and Miss Smith's anxiety will be relieved.

Old Mr. Elton was too willing to obey. Harriet listened. Emma painted quietly. She had no choice but to allow him to often turn his head and hesitate. If this regulation can not be granted, it is hard to avoid being too harsh for a couple. She was always ready to jump over and watch the progress of art and painting in the shortest gap between brush tools, and she felt obsessed with it. This kind of encouragement was not unwelcome, so her admiration made the similar places almost recognized before they were painted. She was not very kind to his eyes, but this love and her joy were beyond reproach.

The model was quite satisfied. She was already very fond of drawing on the first day and hoped to sit down again in the future. Her posture is very beautiful and moving. She plans to slightly modify the lines of her posture to make him look slightly taller and more elegant. She believed that the painting was a beautiful portrait in all respects, and she was confident that it would be placed in a predetermined position so that he could include the advantages of both of them; Remember the beauty of one of them, show the skills of the other, and at the same time, or a photo of the friendship between the two (there are 40 words here that are not smooth)

Harriet needs to be a model again the next day. Old Mr. Elton likes to be allowed to read to them again.

"Of course. You can come and we'll be very happy."

The next day, the painting process was accompanied by the same emphasis on civility, politeness and integrity, the same success and satisfaction, and the art painting was carried out quickly and happily. Everyone was happy to see this painting, but Mr. Elton felt that it meant constant anger and would resist any criticism.

"No miss sweet has filled my good friend's imperfection," Mrs. Weston remarked to her - she never guessed that you were speaking to one of her lovers - "the eyes can't be better, but Miss Smith didn't have those eyebrows and eyelashes.

That's the flaw in her face. "

"Do you really think so?" He inquired. "I'm against your view. I think it's very similar in everything. I've never seen such an imaginary portrait in my life.

You know, we should allow the actual effect of colors to be slightly different. "

Series
Like

About the Creator

test

test ok

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.