Fiction logo

Elliot

Chapter one

By Ianis😜Published 2 years ago • 16 min read
Like

Miss Maxwell, are you among us? Can you honor us with your presence? Today, if you can," I hear in a dream the strong voice of a man.

I think I'm starting to realize where I am and I honestly don't really like it.

I lift my head asleep from the bench, leaning on a slightly dizzy elbow, with one eye half open, for only that one I could open, and I notice our forensics professor who has just stopped working for me. turn your full attention to me.

Great, what can I say.

"Mhm, yes, I'm present," I murmur, and I choke on a yawn that would make me feel even worse.

"Then can you repeat what I said earlier?" he says and raises an eyebrow.

Really?

"No, I can't, I'm sorry," she muttered, still sleepy, running a hand through my hair.

"All right, then I wish you a good night's sleep, but next time you'd better sleep at night, preferably at home," he says, disturbed by my indifferent attitude, and returns to what he did earlier, not before I take one last, not-so-nice look.

Look at this one too, bro.

I should take my sleep as a sign, because the forensics course is by far one of the most boring courses in college. Or maybe it's just the way he handles your course.

And I just helped him do that.

I would be more grateful instead.

I rub my cheek with the palm of my hand still confused and I turn to the window, watching Blake rest his head on his palms and look at me amused.

"Listen, Maxwell, why didn't you sleep last night?" he grins ignorantly, and I roll my eyes.

"Evans, shut up or fly straight to the Palm Angels," I threatened him indignantly, making him want to annoy me even more.

Last night I didn't get much rest and sleep only because of my dear friend Blake. After he made me sneak out of the dormitory at 1:30 in the morning under the pretext of 'going out to see the stars' , he made sure I didn't go back to the room until a few hours before school started.

All we did was walk around the dorms for a while and talk in the moonlight and in the stars until Evans fell asleep too, for I had little left and fell asleep with my head on the first curb that appeared in my way. . Although I think we could walk or talk at a more reasonable time than that, at least we looked at the stars.

And the sunrise next door.

His simple company was enough for me, I didn't need a pretext to see each other, but he didn't have to find out because I'm sure he'd get his head around it.

And that's the last thing I want now.

I still wonder how I am the one sleeping in my slippers and not him, but the glass of coffee already half drunk in front of him answers my question perfectly. I squint when I remember Blake preferring bitter coffee, so I give way to my desire to take a sip of it.

"I was always afraid of sin. That's how we were taught. Lies. No more. Now I would rather throw myself into the flames of hell, healing my wounds, than to ...

Sin Lux Callenreese and Victoria Sara Hathaway were of the opinion that they could have nothing in common except the street on which they lived. Everything changes when ...

The world is unjust, it always has been, always will be. I should know this from the beginning, I just called Daddy the worst of the monsters he had to deal with ...

Not for nothing, but I really don't want the bitter taste of coffee to penetrate to the depths of my soul.

"Come on, Evans, stop drinking so much of death liquor and let's go to the pub, Ivy is waiting for us," I say as I straighten my back and stretch my joints for a few moments.

I don't think I would have slept that well even if I had been in my own bed.

"See you again with Moore?" he sighs and plays bored with the clock on his left wrist.

"Evans" I glared at him, and the brown man just shrugged and smiled innocently at me, a gesture that revealed the dimples in his cheeks.

He knows all too well what effect his dimples have on me, and he doesn't really miss a chance to take advantage of it.

He gets up lazily from the bench while he packs his things and puts an arm around my shoulders, then we walk together in the corridors full of students who are in a hurry.

Today the sun is shining brighter than in recent days, and this improves my mood and gradually banishes my drowsiness. California is already known for its extremely pleasant weather and sunny days, which is the main reason why I chose a college here. Among other things, obviously.

In less than five minutes we are already at the pub, where we are met by Ivy, my friend and roommate. She gets up from her seat and hugs me for a long time, giving Blake a short, not very friendly look. The two of them don't suffer too much for several reasons I don't know, but they try to get along at least for my sake when the three of us see each other.

"Could I not see your stupid face for at least a day?" Ivy asks rhetorically and sits more comfortably in her chair, the brown one copying her indignant gesture.

"Do you think I missed seeing you so much, mouse?" Blake counters and starts pounding on his phone, and I regain a smile as he pushes his muffins toward the middle of the table so the two of us can reach them.

What was he saying?

"Damn, they forgot about your coffee, Everlee," says my friend, which makes me look around and realize she's right.

"It's okay, I'm going to take it then," I say simply, kinder than usual, and get up from my seat, carefully avoiding all the chairs and people in my path.

I tell him again the command of the boy at the counter and he asks me to wait a few minutes, during which time I move my weight from one leg to the other and I look bored at the laces of the converts. I must confess that waiting is not my strong point, but I try to be as understanding as possible. Plus, if I were to make a scene, I'd probably be denied access to the pub, and I'd regret it more than regretting burying my hamster alive when I was seven.

In my defense, I really thought he was turning the corner.

After a few moments of silence for my hamster who died days ago, the cashier gives me coffee and winks at me, after which he goes to work. I hope it was just a fly that disturbed his vision and that he didn't intentionally wink at me, because his gesture was not well received.

I shake my head and turn on my heel, barely dragging my feet around the room, and in a moment of inattention, my hot coffee hits someone's head and, inevitably, my jeans.

Damn it.

"God, sorry, sorry, sorry" I say agitatedly and cover my mouth with my palm, being a little shocked by my own mistake.

"What the hell, don't you really see where I'm going?" a blond growls and gets up from his chair, and his height makes me swallow hard and pray to heaven not to give me a left.

Because if he does, I get straight to the dorm room without having to walk that far.

And for the first time, I'm not complaining.

Walking makes your foot beautiful.

I quickly glance at those at the table where he was sitting and instantly freeze when I recognize a few faces, realizing that most of the people here are from the football team or the cheerleading team.

God, please tell me he's not who I think he is.

"You burned me with your hot coffee, you idiot. Do you think apologies are enough?" he says annoyed and turns to me, and I almost don't bump into the walls when I see Kayden West in front of me.

Kayden West, the captain of the football team, respected by the boys and coveted by their girlfriends, tall as a fir tree, although we can say as stupid as the fence, blond, arrogant and insensitive. The last word best describes him, and I have no hesitation in saying that.

"It was just a mistake, you don't have to dramatize that much. I'm really sorry, okay?" I snort and wipe the coffee splashes from my hand with a napkin, noticing a small burn that makes me grit my teeth.

"I think you're new here, but that doesn't mean you can talk to me the way you want," he growls, and I can easily feel his superiority in his voice.

"I'm not new and I know who you are, Kayden. I'm not impressed by your threats, and I'd suggest you respect if that's what you want in return." his. "Sorry again" I shrug and break eye contact, swallowing hard and looking away.

I somehow manage to move and sigh deeply when I hear the whispers behind me, because the last thing I want is to draw unwanted attention to myself.

All I have to do now is go to the bathroom to at least partially clean my coffee stains on my jeans, and I can't even kiss myself for the choice to wear black today. I have to admit, I look good in any color or non-color, but black seems to me to be the best.+

I've only exchanged a few words with West, and I'm already feeling his narcissism begin to spread to me, and that's certainly not good.Blake, I can't anymore. Let's hide behind a tree and take a break, I'm sure the teacher won't even notice-"

"Maxwell, little beak and ankle game. You're in sports class, take it and run."

"I really need a little break or-"

"Enough. 5 more laps."

"What? But-"

"Actually 10 laps. If you keep commenting, you know I might change my mind." says the indisposed sports teacher as usual, and I had already begun to count on my fingers all the saints I know.

I still don't want to and I can't understand why this sports class is so necessary that we have it only once a week, but I'm starting to think that college professors have something personal with me.

And I do not like it.

"Maxwell, run!" The man catches my eye, and I almost roll my eyes at him. "This year would be wonderful though," he adds ironically, and signals to me to keep moving.

Of course he has the impression that now I can run ten laps in the early hours of the morning like the last bezmetica and then I will continue my day as if nothing had happened.

With all due respect, we are not all psychopaths.

"Come on, you can Everlee, a little more," encourages the black man on my left, who seems to be quite fit, unlike me.

"You know, when I get home, I'm going to make sure he shows up to break his hand. Or not, better his neck. Or maybe even p-"

"Everlee, damn it. It's not pretty," he interrupts indignantly, a crease appearing between his eyebrows.

"What is Blake? You're acting like it's your hand. Or your neck. Or-"

"No, I can't hear you anymore. Come on, we have a little more," he says, ruffling my messy hair.

"I wanted to say goodbye, but it seems like everyone is interrupting me today" I roll my eyes in revolt and keep running, my nerves stretched to the limit.

...

After, thank God, the sports class is finally over, I hug Blake and head to the locker room for a short, refreshing shower.

I'm not going to waste too much time here because I can't wait to get to my room and sleep.

Or rather hibernate.

I didn't cross paths with Ivy at all today, but since we're in different departments, sometimes it's harder to see each other during the day. We usually have lunch together almost always, but there are some days when we have a very busy schedule. Blake and I are in law, and Ivy is in literature, which means she spends most of her time in the library, leaving me alone with a Blake on her head.

I enter the building with small steps and almost jump up with joy when I notice that no one is here, which means that I allow myself not to hurry. I take my backpack from the locker room and first check my phone obviously, and then I look for my make-up remover because I'm sure the ink has already drained and makes me look like a panda bear. I keep rummaging through my own things with a frown on my face and I gasp slowly when I realize that I haven't actually been here all this time.

Elliot, not here, not now. If anyone hears us?" someone chuckles from one of the closed doors, and I bite the inside of my cheek and squint.

Damn this situation.

I try to be quiet so as not to disturb anyone and I decide to leave the shower for when I get to the fireplace, although I was longing for one and I did not like the idea of ​​being sweaty.

I sigh as I put my headphones on and start a random song, turning up the volume quite loudly, just out of the desire to avoid some things I might not want to hear.

Better a poor horse than no horse at all.

I move my hips to the beat of the music, continuing to fold some of the clothes I had in the locker room, but that until I feel a touch on my right shoulder and I stop everything I was doing at that moment.

Damn it again.

Maybe they finally realized that the girls' locker room wasn't the best place to meet or what the gods were doing there.

Although I kind of doubt that, otherwise it wouldn't have been here before.

I carefully remove my headphones from my ears and when I turn on my heel to see what happened, I come across two green eyes that look at me curiously.

I can swear I heard two people though.

"Oh, good. Are you the forensics girl who slept so soundly a few days ago? Actually, I'm just saying you are. Of course I'm Lilith Stone, excited." she says very quickly, and I try to process everything I hear.

"Uhm, yeah, hello. I think it's me," I say, slightly confused, and shrug.

"What was your name?" the blonde asks, which makes me wonder if she ever knew my name.

"Everlee" I answer simply and run a hand through my long hair.

"It fits you perfectly," she says more to herself, and a small smile is imprinted on my lips.

"Oh, thank you. I guess," I say softly and blink often, trying to figure out what's really going on.

"Come on today, Lilith. I don't have time for that," a hoarse but deep voice came from behind her.

I don't know who owns the voice, but it sounds damn good.

"Oh, Everlee, this is Elliot. My boyfriend," she says excitedly, and pulls away so I can see him.

So that voice belongs to Elliot. And that Elliot is none other than Elliot Kane.

I don't know much about him other than the fact that he is part of the football team, because I have seen him several times at matches. From what Blake says, he's a pretty good player.

And besides, it's a rock. Really sexy, if you ask me.

All right, maybe I shouldn't have said that.

When I look behind Lilith, I can see him leaning against one of the cupboards and looking at me from head to toe as he plays with the rings on his long, thin fingers. Brown and ruffled hair, well-defined features, black and penetrating eyes, much too well-made body, quite a few tattoos that can barely be seen because of the clothes on him, intimidating posture and presence difficult to overlook. The closer you look at him, the more you realize that it is impossible to take your eyes off him.

I've never seen him so close, but I think I've had enough of him.

"Beloved?" he snorts with a hint of amusement and arrogance in his voice, and then runs a hand through his hair. "I've gotten out of here," he adds dryly, even though he doesn't roll his eyes when he notices my arched eyebrow in his direction.

He shakes off the non-existent dust from his clothes and walks to the door, not before scanning me one last time, as if making sure he saw what he saw and walks past me with a grin on his lips.

What a lovely mother

"Wait, Elliot, I'm coming too. I have to go, Everlee, I'm glad. I hope to see you again," the blonde tells me, smiling, hurrying to catch up with Kane.

I'm really starting to think the girl's a rapper in her spare time.

Eventually I wake up from the trance I was in and sigh continuously as I change into my usual clothes, and with my last strength I finally manage to go home.

After crucial fights, I managed to take that long, relaxing, therapeutic and long-awaited shower, and then I went straight to bed and all my worries disappeared for a moment. I took a deep breath of the pleasant smell of bedding and dipped my face into one of the soft pillows beside me, trying to enjoy my inner peace.

Until I got back on my feet and remembered everything that had happened in the last week, until my thoughts began to stir again in my mind, until the image of that arrogant brunette suddenly appeared before my eyes and it inevitably made me fall asleep with him in my mind.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Ianis😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.