Fiction logo

Ella and the Depths of Hell

Chapter One - The Demons

By Ella DormanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

On a quiet Saturday night, I continued to read the newest chapter of Frevanth and Athelayna when a portal from hell opened at the foot of my bed. A dark skinny demon strides through rips off my covers, and begins to drag me through the portal by my ankles, saying, "You're going to help me settle a bet.".

Startled, I thought to myself, "I told everyone that demons can still grab us humans even if we are under our blankets AND our feet are covered." Offended, the demon grips my ankle harder.

"Human! I was speaking to you!" he says, offended.

"I am sorry? You interrupted My night not the other way around." I snap back just as offended.

"Right....because reading is a fun night." he replies with an eye roll.

"Whatever. Why do you need me?" I ask, annoyed.

"Because you are going to settle a bet." he chortles.

"About?" I ask unphased.

"You'll find out when we get there." he snaps, annoyed by my constant questions.

We continued to descend for what felt like forever. I believe I even fell asleep for a few hours. Then, before I can focus on where we were, he slams my head on a rock.

"Excuse you!" I snap, holding my head.

"Yes?" he asks, clueless.

"YOU MADE ME HIT MY HEAD!" I screamed at the top of my lungs.

"And?" he replies as he continues to drag me along.

"And either let me walk or throw me over your shoulder because I refuse to be harmed due to your little banter between whatever stupid demon is part of this bet of yours," I reply while rolling my eyes.

The demon lets out a loud chuckle.

"I hardly see how this is funny." I snap.

"Because I believe I have already won this bet and we aren't even there yet." he chuckles, "But fine you can walk! Don't complain when you get tired."

As we descend, I realize that my room is nowhere in sight. Finally, we approach a big red door, and I smell sulfur and rotting flesh. The demon opens it and motions me in.

"We are here," he informs me; however, his expression is softer than before.

"Where is-" I try to say; however, the second demon puts his finger to my lips and shushes me.

"I wouldn't do that Daren." the first demon chuckles.

"What's the worse can she do?" Daren chuckles.

Before the first demon can answer, I aim for Daren's balls and kick as hard as I can.

"DO NOT SHUSH ME!" I scream.

"WHAT THE FUCK JACOB!!" Daren screams as the other demon chuckles.

"Told you Daren I will win this bet." Jacob says between chuckles trying to catch his breath.

"HELLO?!" I snap as I wave my hands and arms in front of their faces, "Human here, and I am still alive, so I am a hundred percent sure I don't belong in hell yet!"

Jacob chuckles as he watches me freak out. "Hush Ella. I promise this will be worth it no matter what you choose." Jacob informs me.

Just as confused as before, I look at both of them perplexed.

Daren, still holding himself, looks at me then at Jacob, "No, she isn't the one. Send her back." he snaps.

"Why Daren? You afraid you lost?" Jacob giggles.

"No! She's a little demon herself!" Daren snaps back.

Even though I have no idea what is going on, I begin to chuckle uncontrollably. While Daren glares at me, Jacob looks at me, amused. "What is so funny?" Jacob asks.

"The fact that I am here to settle a bet and you two can not focus long enough to tell me what the bet is. The fact that Daren is six times my size, and he is holding himself like a little bitch." I continue as Daren begins to get angrier.

"I want her gone!" Daren snaps.

"If I take her back I will win by default and you know it!" Jacob bellows.

As they argue, I look at them both with a blank stare as if I am bored.

"I quit reading for this?" I antagonize.

"Fine your highness," Daren mocks, "If you must know the bet is that we cannot convince a human to live amoungst us for more than three days. Jacob believes a human wont last three days and I believe that you will fall in love with it down here that you wont leave at all. Thus giving us your soul." he finishes as he rolls his eyes.

"Well, first of all it smells like ass down here. So if you can't make it smell better Jacob wins." I say, pinning them against each other.

"Very well." Daren replies with a grin and snaps his fingers. The smell of sulfur and rotting flesh is instantly gone, and all I can smell is lilacs.

"H-how did you know lilacs are my favorite smell?" I ask, freaked out.

Jacob gives Daren the evil eye and says, "That isn't fair. We said we wouldn't use our knowledge on her against each other."

"What do you mean "knowledge on her"" I ask while making air quotes.

"Well, when we chose a human, we picked one that we knew had no connection to her human life and no connection to hell." Daren replies, holding himself again, anticipating that I will kick him again.

"So you spied on me?!" I yell.

"Ella....it's not like that." Jacob pleads.

"Then what is it like?" I ask, mocking him.

"I- Uh- Daren?" Jacob motions at me for help.

Daren lets out a loud chuckle, "I told you she would be a perfect addition to hell. She's fiestier than you Jacob." Daren chuckles even louder.

"Shut up!" Jacob snaps at Daren.

"This is quite entertaining. So I need to last longer than three days but not want to stay to make you both lose." I say, gauging their reactions.

"Thats not fair!" Jacob snaps.

"Sure it is. You're playing a game with my life, so I will play a game with you two." I reply with a big grin.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.