Fiction logo

Elevator Pitch

Expect the unexpected

By Lacey DeariePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Elevator Pitch
Photo by Petr Magera on Unsplash

She stepped into the elevator, breathless and slammed her finger against the button. Willing the doors to close, she muttered, “Come on, hurry up,” a couple of times.

I looked over at her as we waited: the beads of sweat on her brow; the way her hands were trembling; the tightness in her jaw. I could smell the agitation. Then I looked back at her hands. They had smears of blood, like they had been wiped clean.

Was she the victim or perpetrator? I could see many things in her countenance but no signs of fear. I knew the answer.

I stretched my leg out as the doors were about to close, holding them open which ignited fear in her eyes. She turned around to look at me. I stared back, refusing to be intimidated.

She lunged forward, ready to make her escape when two burly security guards apprehended her just inches from the doors.

As they pulled her away, she looked back at me, wondering how her great escape could have been ruined by a cat.

Short StoryMysteryMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

Lacey Dearie

Indie author 📚 Blogger 💻 Humanities student 👩🏻‍🎓 Editor of the 27th best blog in Scotland apparently 🏆 Unapologetic daydreamer 😑 Natural introvert/selective extrovert 💃🏻 Member of the Cat Writers Association 🐈‍⬛

Find me on Komi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex Milligan11 months ago

    LOL brilliant!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    haha...this is awesome Lacey. Damn cat. Love the intrigue and mystery you guilt up with it though. Stellar work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.