Fiction logo

Edge of the Universe

How do you view reality

By David E. PerryPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1

“Stop talking, please. Listen to what I’m saying. I have something very important to tell you. I have seen things that will change our very view of reality itself. Who and what we are is not what we believe it to be. Things, life, it will never be the same again. There are others watching us. I’ve been to the edge of the universe. There is no way that I can describe it. You have to see it for yourself.”

Robert tried to get the entire group to follow him. The track through the snow was not all that bad. It’s all that they were used to. They knew nothing else. But their entire world was right there in the center. Nobody ever walked away. To journey outside of their small circle was forbidden. Dangerous. Unheard of. What possessed Robert to go, they didn’t know. They didn’t want to know.

“Robert, are you nuts? We don’t travel outside the circle.”

The others agreed with Taylor. Although Robert came back seemingly safe, he apparently experienced something so stressful that it was making him crazy.

“Please. You have to see this. Look at me. I’m fine. Trust me.”

Johnny decided that it couldn’t hurt to step a little bit outside the circle. Nikky followed also. As they walked, Johnny stepped aside.

“Keep walking”, he said, “But slowly.”

Taylor took another step and crashed into, something. A glass dome surrounded them. Someone outside picked them up and shook their world. It started snowing.

Short StoryMicrofictionAdventure
1

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.