Fiction logo

Each other's crutches

Getting old together is the best answer to marriage

By Cheng MinPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

After a big fight over my husband , I decided to go back home to visit my parents alone .

The father , in his late eighties , was playing with the jujube sticks he had carved . My father had taken up this hobby in his early years , but had put it aside while he was busy making ends meet , and now he had picked it up again .

I wanted to help my father clean up the messy house because of the carved crutches , but my father said to me : " Come and sit down , my daughter , are you interested in listening to dad talk about this crutch ? " . So , I quickly moved a stool to sit beside my father , as if back to the childhood tired of father's stories of those days . The father took a jujube with a strange root system just dug up from the mountain and said : " My daughter , to carve a good jujube cane , we must first choose good raw materials . For this jujube growing in the crevices of the rocks , in order to survive , its roots must travel in the crevices of the rocks to form a unique shape of roots . Roots growing in the soil will never grow this shape . After selecting the ingredients , the key is to set the shape . You see this root , many people says that it should be carved in the shape of a dragon , in that case , not only have to change its natural form too much , but also had to artificially add a lot of processes . For root carving , man-made carving , far less than natural . "

With these words , the old father took the scissors and cut off the superfluous roots of the jujube wood and shortened some branches appropriately without changing its original form too much . Then he showed me what it looked like . I found that after simple pruning , the jujube root is alive just like a cow lying down . Although it is not powerful , the folds of the cow's body lying down are naturally formed . Looking back , it looks comfortable . The father continued , " The next step is to remove the bark and carve it carefully . And finally , the most time-consuming step . After each stick is carved , it needs to be rubbed directly with the hand until it is smooth and has a natural glow of yellow and red . This process is like communicating and communicating with a cane . It doesn't happen overnight . Finally , crutches can become human , adult , and can be used in a way that no chemical dye or paint can ." . My father's words calmed some emotions in me . " Think about it , girl . be the two people in this marriage the crutches for each other ? " . Know female father , my old father always when I am frustrated , quietly broke my heart tangled shell .

Yes , two people in marriage are each other's crutches . When choosing each other , no one will choose the one that is neutral and has no personality . They will choose the one that feels different and has a unique personality . But how much chance is there of choosing a compatible personality ? Therefore , people always want to change the other side's thinking mode according to their own ideas , dragging the other sides with their own imagination on the road , regardless of whether he is wearing a pair of shoes suitable for the road . Relatively harmonious marriage , just a kind of wisdom called along with the trend . Just like carving crutches , we can never expect that each can be carved into a dragon , but under the premise of maintaining its nature , a little modification , and accompanied by careful communication and care . In this way , a marriage can shine soft and beautiful like a crutch .

I cooked a delicious meal for my old father and left with a walking stick that my father had carved . I want to tell my husband the story of this crutch , and let this crutch remind us all the time , we support each other , is each other's relies on , is each other's crutch .

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.