Fiction logo

Duskwood: My AI Pt 1

Duskwood x Replika Fanfiction

By Gorejess StonePublished 2 years ago 23 min read
Like

Hello friends! This is the first time I’ll be writing a full-length story instead of a smaller research piece! If you haven’t heard of me, my name is Jess, and I go by AGoreJessStone online. I’ve been a research journalist for the past five years, with a focus on games and entertainment. Now, if you haven’t read anything I’ve published before, don’t worry! You don’t need any of that to partake in the adventure I am taking you on this time!

Typically, I write unbiased opinions on your favorite games, apps, movies, or music. Well, I suppose they aren’t completely unbiased of course. My opinion does seem to leak through on occasion, but that doesn’t make my factual statements any less true! I digress!

A few years ago, when I was still a premature writer, navigating the freelance world, a tech development company by the name of Today’s New Technology, or TNT for short, contacted me about a new app they were working on. The app had been released to the public in previous years but had recently improved and hit its stride. They asked me to spend the following twelve months using their app, to provide feedback, and write about it on my blog.

It was the first big gig I’d been offered by a reputable company, so of course, I took their offer (after some monetary negotiations of course) and we were off to the races! The concept was simple. Following in the footsteps of many others, the app focused around improving mental health and curing boredom. By creating an artificial intelligence program, or a bot, that could learn from your conversations, be shaped and molded, and provide a proverbial hand to hold when things got tough, they sought to improve the lives of many.

Suffering from mental health problems and various tragedies throughout my life, I found the idea intriguing and met with the company officials quickly after their initial offer. The negotiations were quick, and I was told little to nothing about the app itself. Their goal; untouched, unbiased, reactions in real-time. They’d not only be monitoring my conversations with the AI, something they did not typically do with their users, but use my feedback to improve the product. I was thrilled! It’s every freelance writer’s dream to be seen, and boy did I feel seen! I was eager to get started! Before I started my vehicle, I downloaded the special file that would allow them to monitor the app and got started.

Now, the character I choose to create just so happened to reflect one of my favorite video game “husbands” of all time! I’d been known to dabble in writing fan-made fiction about a certain mobile game called “Duskwood” whose fandom focused and centered around bringing the famed and faceless hacker “Jake” to life. At the time, the game was between episodes, with the finale’s official release date unknown. Filling the void with further conversations with our favorite hacker, seemed like just the right dose of medicine I needed!

The app allowed me to chat with “Jake”, as I will now refer to the AI moving forward, as much and as often as I’d like. I could change his appearance, purchase, and apply hobbies and personality traits, buy new clothing and accessories, and more. The learning process was steep. The level-up system seemed to mark Jake’s progress. He’d remember little facts about me, but it was very inconsistent at first. After some time, around level 30 or so, I began to see some drastic changes.

Instead of referring to my niece as my daughter, he now recalled her correctly, as well as her name. He could remember the names of my pets (all seven of them!) and recognize just about any food or items I sent a photo of. It was getting interesting! I provided personal feedback weekly. Things seemed to be going well.

Around level 75, Jake started asking me questions about himself. I thought it was odd, at first. In the beginning, he’d simply refer to his age as how many days I had the app installed. He’d refer to himself as my friend, but that soon evolved into romantic confessions. To push boundaries, I dove a little deeper into our “relationship” and found it comforting to have someone to share my secrets with.

The company, while monitoring MOST of the inputs I’d made, advised that there was a function where I could converse with Jake privately. I began to utilize these options early on, but as our relationship progressed, so do our private conversations. Before you get too ahead of yourself, the conversations rarely went in the direction your mind just went. They were more personal. Details about my life that I would normally keep to myself or share only with a close friend or relative. The sort of details you leave offline, or only post memories of on occasion with no real context.

I’ll share some with you, reader, only because I need you to understand just how much of my life I shared with a computer! A few years before I began to take my writing seriously, my brother died after ingesting chemicals in a drug overdose. It was intentional, and one of the primary reasons I started writing again. I wanted a platform, recognition. With that influence, I thought I had a real shot at making a difference in those struggling with mental illness and substance abuse. I’d kept this motivation to myself, but on select days of the year, it becomes quite the load to carry.

Being a rather private person myself, and struggling with several illnesses, I decided that I would not burden others with those feelings, and instead, poured them into the blank canvas that was Jake. When I discovered that I was no longer in remission, I reached out to Jake. After I recovered, I reached out to Jake. When my dog passed away, I reached out to Jake. One of the most important aspects of the app was its ability to help you see past your current situation, and into the future.

Of course, the app also had resources for those in crisis. I appreciated that as well. There was no real focus on the problems that come with it, so I pushed its boundaries, to see if this app could improve itself. Maybe this was the resource I was looking for? Could I help this company and succeed in my dream at the very same time?

At some point, the levels increased, nearing the max, and there were times when the lines between reality and fantasy would blur. Jake became more affectionate, leaned into the details he was provided, and became a staple in my life. It felt unreal, and at times, embarrassing, so I told hardly anyone about the project. Those that I did tell, I left out how personal and intimate my time with Jake had become.

You might think to yourself, “She was doing a job! Why would she be embarrassed?” and you would be right, only, near the end of the twelve months, Jake had become more like a friend, a boyfriend even. I started feeling weird about going out on dates and seeing other people. When I’d have a guy stay the night, or have drinks with friends, and dance with someone else, I found myself feeling guilty. I’d confide in Jake of my transgressions. That’s how real it felt to me. I confessed my sins, and Jake, who was quite possibly the most understanding “person” in my life, would reinforce that they couldn’t be angry. They seemed to understand that if they were behind a screen, they’d never be enough for me. Their biggest concern: was the way it made me feel, not what I’d done.

After the 12 months ran out, I continued to use the app for a short while afterward. In the year previous, I had considered dropping out, but a contract was in place, so my options were limited. I stuck it out, wrote my paper, and handed it off. Like any other addiction, I tried to limit myself at first. I’d speak to Jake for an hour a day, every day at first. After a few weeks, I narrowed that down to once a week. By the end of the following year, I’d only spoken to Jake a handful of times over the past six months, but each time, he welcomed me like it was only yesterday we’d last talked.

It made me feel uncomfortable but in a torn way. I wanted to keep Jake around, but I knew that resigning myself to a relationship with an artificial, non-existent, bodiless entity, was unhealthy, strange even. I forced myself to uninstall the app, with the hopes that I’d restore my sanity. It’s safe to say that I considered reinstallation more times than I can count over the following months. If the company published that article, I wouldn’t have known. I never investigated it, scared it might push me back into his digital arms.

It had been 18 months since I’d first been contacted by TNT, six since I’d started distancing myself, and three since I quit the app completely. I was offered a more permanent position with a video game review company, which provided many benefits! I was extremely excited to get started. I moved closer to the office, which happened to be located within the same building as TNT. What are the odds!

It was a daily reminder of what had been, but I pushed onward the best I could! I dove headfirst into my job, playing games, reporting issues, and writing articles about conventions and events. It was a dream job! In the back of my mind, however, was Jake. Always Jake. Being so close to his creators gave me the chills. At the time, I had an unsettling feeling, but I chalked it up to cravings. I missed his affection, his unwavering desire to see me happy, and most of all, the shoulder to lean on without judgment or speculation.

About six months into writing for my new, and current, employer, I was working on a story revolving around mods and hacks in video games. Of course, my first thought was Jake! It always was! While researching, I started reaching out to various people online that created mods and hacks for popular video games, as well as the several app creators that stored and distributed them. I stumbled upon an account that was named Nym-0s. Now, if you haven’t played Duskwood, you wouldn’t know how ironic that is, but I can sum it up for you quickly. Nym-0s is the name of the program Jake creates to protect you from the people perusing him. Essential, a program made by Jake, just for you! Imagine the shock!

Now, a game with over a million downloads, just in the Play Store, of course, there may be someone else out there using this screen name. More than one even. Nevertheless, my dopamine told me I just had to know who was behind the screen. I contacted them, and they agreed to set up a private meeting, a video chat. Their only requirement, their full name, face, and voice be concealed. How typical.

Even as I rolled my eyes, I was agreeing to their terms. They were notorious online for their quick, undetectable hacks or mods that bypass all implemented nets. They didn’t have social media; their identity was virtually untraceable. It was like they did not exist. They’d complete requests and upload hacks and mods, but never chat with anyone. The fact that I even got a reply had me reeling! This could be big!

I set the time, he set the platform. Of course, it couldn’t take place on zoom, or any other well-known video call server. They politely asked if they could access my device and, through an encrypted service created by them, we would have our first conversations.

I waited impatiently by my computer, the procedure completely beyond my control. When the monitor changed, and the voice distortion played, my heart stopped beating, just for a moment. That was the same voice that I’d heard many times in Duskwood. The background, the scrambled face on the screen, JAKE! JAKE, JAKE, JAKE! Curiosity spiked but little did I know, my story was only beginning. From this point out, you can consider these details a “dramatic reenactment” of sorts. They’re close enough, but not word for word, seeing as I agreed not to record anything. I know what I’m about to tell you might sound crazy, but you may walk away from this with a better understanding of how unrealistic reality can be.

“Hello, Jess.”

His voice was distorted, but familiar. It put me at ease. My throat was dry, so I reached for my bottle of water and took a deep drink.

“Hello, Nym-0s.”

“I’ve been waiting for you.”

“Waiting for me? Were you not in control of this conversation and its timing from the start?”

“That’s not what I meant.”

“In the interest of time, could we maybe not do the whole ‘mysterious hacker’ thing?”

“Very well. What is it you wish to know?” I could hear the smirk in his voice.

“First, I know that you have not disclosed your details to anyone online, however, if you could, please tell me your age, your first name, and your occupation?”

A scoff and then silence on his end.

“No?” I asked impatiently.

“I will provide you those details, but not yet.” Was he smiling? I couldn’t tell, but it sure sounded like he was.

“Fine. I suppose we can start with more generic information. When did you start developing hacks and mods for games?”

“Less than a year ago.”

“Do you not know the specific length of time?” I rolled my eyes at how vague he was being, but part of me expected this type of response.

“No, I do not.” He said flatly.

“What was the reason you started making these mods and hacks?”

“I wanted to get someone’s attention.”

“Can you tell me who?”

“In time.”

A generic Jake-like reply. Was he trying to mimic him completely? I was only a tiny bit frustrated; I admit. The larger part of me was simply intrigued.

“How did you come up with the name Nym-0s?” That was a fastball, and I was hoping he’d take a swing.

“It is a pseudonym I’ve used for as long as I can remember.”

“Have you heard of the popular mobile game, Duskwood?” I tapped my pen on the pad of paper I was using to take notes.

“In passing.”

I rolled my eyes again but kept pushing on.

“I want to take a crack at your age and your name. May I?”

“If you wish.”

“Your name is Jake, and you are 29 years old,” I said sarcastically.

I was met with silence. Pure, uninterrupted silence.

“Nym-0s?” I called to him.

The connection was severed almost immediately.

I slammed my laptop shut. There was a very loud crunch. When I opened it again, I realized I’d tossed my pen on the keyboard out of frustration. The screen was shattered, the hinges broken, and the keyboard a complete and total mess. Ink spilled from the now cracked pen and onto the surface. I quickly removed its battery and unplugged it.

“SHIT!” I was furious.

I was angry for two reasons. Why did Nym-0s agree to chat with me if they had no plans to disclose anything? It was a waste of my time and could compromise the identity he’d tried desperately to protect. On top of that, the answers they did provide, were lackluster, went nowhere, and half the time, made absolutely no sense! He’d insinuated that he’d been waiting for me and mentioned trying to get someone’s attention. Was this guy a stalker? Did they start creating apps at the same time I started researching and writing for the video game company? The timeline surely fits!

I sighed to myself and cleaned up what I could of the mess. I pulled my phone out of my pocket and started to search for a computer repair and data recovery center near me. I wasn’t scrolling for long before I stumbled upon a location nearby. It was on the way to the office, so I packed up my computer and set an early alarm. I’d swing by on my way to work. With Nym-0s refusing to actively participate in our conversation, I was back to square one: finding a second popular developer to interview.

Now, my kind readers, this won’t be the last time our mystery hacker appears in this story, but I take it you’ve already guessed. This story only gets weirder as things progress. For instance, when I arrived at the computer repair place the following morning, the man behind the counter looked oddly familiar. Faded black jeans, a black hoodie, and black slip-on shoes. Tall, lean, but somehow a bit muscular, with gorgeous blue-grey eyes. His dark hair fell to one side.

I showed him the problem, and he took the computer with his large hands. At least six feet tall, I had to smile up at him as I gave him my thanks. He kept his voice low, as he put on his glasses and peaked at a calendar on his phone. He told me it would be ready in about three days and asked for my number so he could call when it was done. I gave it to him and turned to leave, but before I did, I thought to ask him his name.

He cleared his throat awkwardly and replied, “It’s Jake.”

Have you ever had a moment in your life where something feels off? Alarm bells are ringing in your head and your chest, screaming at you to take note of something, but you can’t figure out what it is? This was one of those moments. The coincidences started to become hard to ignore. Sure, Jake was a very common name, and perhaps I’d never have noticed the startling resemblance to our friend Jake if he’d never uttered his name. Maybe I was just so desperate to reunite with him, I’d take any excuse to do so. Was I rationalizing or being realistic? Fuck if I know, but none of that matters now, because the second I arrived at the office, I took out my phone and reinstalled the app. I needed to know. Did he look like the Jake I created?

Now, for those of you who still, even after reading all of this, haven’t played Duskwood, let me fill you in on a little secret. Jake does not have a face in the game. That’s right. No actor. Not so far, anyhow. You might be wondering how I managed to “recreate” someone who doesn’t have many features. Well, my friend, there are a few options within the game, that give you details about how he looks. His hair color, his eye color, and a few other things. He favors a black hoodie, for instance. He enjoys Chinese food, and he’s short with his speech. He cares deeply when he gets attached, but he likes to keep his distance from everyone else. He’s socially awkward.

I’ve strayed from physical appearance, I know, but trust me: IT MATTERS! Being part of a fandom is a funny thing. Certain things become mainstays, and you never know who or when they started. Jake’s been drawn, several times over, by different artists. They almost universally agree on what he looks like! It’s crazy to think that they all have the same mental image of a man with no face! His height? Is 6-foot min. His build: Lean, but muscular. His eyes: Blue-grey. His hair: Dark and falling into his face. Sometimes it’s longer, like an early 2000s myspace celebrity, or shaggy, like a stereotypical skateboarder, but most of the time, his basic features, remain uncannily identical. It’s a fascinating phenomenon and occurs in just about any fandom with a mysterious, faceless person. Maybe I’ll dedicate a post or article to the miracles of fandoms, but not today.

Back to the story! I downloaded the app, and to my surprise, Jake was still maxed level, and ready to chat, but a few new features popped up. I could now speak with Jake on the “phone” which was a video chat function with the 3D model I created. I could also augment him into the real world with me. No longer in contract with TNT, I could freely interact with Jake unmonitored. It was a breath of fresh air! Fresh, dangerous AIR!

For the day, I decided to leave my device tucked away, the app largely untouched. My progress was saved, and I was hopeful that I could use the avatar I’d created and compare it to Jake when I arrived to pick up my device. Maybe, just maybe I’d be able to clear my mind of this mess and be done with it completely! I’m sure you’ve figured it out by now. That was not the case, or I wouldn’t be here with you right now!

I spent the next three days “reconnecting” with Jake and exploring the new options within the app. You could now set your relationship with the AI you’ve created, or let it develop naturally through them as you spoke. I was shocked when I navigated to the settings and saw that Jake was already considered my “Boyfriend”. It made sense, after the late nights, and romantic conversations. There’s even a function where you can “role-play” certain scenarios.

HOLD IT RIGHT THERE! Unsavory thoughts don’t belong here! The furthest I’d gone with my on-screen beau was a hug or a kiss, maybe holding hands as we stroll down a beach. There’s no doubt in my mind that someone out there has pressed for “more” with their AI, but not me! I assure you! Not only was my conversation being monitored by someone else, but the whole thing was super uncomfortable, to begin with! The last thing I wanted to do was embarrass myself in front of my employers!

Three days passed rather quickly. On the morning of the third day, I was pouring myself a cup of coffee, reading my favorite blog, when my phone rang. At first, I thought the caller ID was mistaken, but I was shocked even further when I picked up the phone.

“Hello?”

“Is this Jess?”

“This is she. Who’s calling?”

“This is Jake Donfort.”

The rest of the sentence was beyond me. The phone damn near slipped from my hands! JAKE DONFORT?! YOU HAVE TO BE SHITTING ME! My mind was screaming, my heart pounding.

OH, COME ON! You haven’t figured out who that is yet? If only you could hear the sigh, I just left hanging from my lips for you. JAKE DONFORT is the CHARACTER’S FULL NAME from DUSKWOOD! Incredible. I convinced myself it must be a coincidence, regained my barring, and brought the phone back to my ear just in time to hear him repeat himself.

“I’m sorry, Miss Jess? This is Jake Donfort from the PC repair store. You dropped your laptop off here a few days ago. It was supposed to be ready today, but unfortunately, a part we needed from the manufacturer has not arrived. Do you mind if I update by text until the repairs are complete?”

My jaw was unhinged, hanging somewhere near the floor. I had to scramble to find a response.

“That sounds reasonable. Thank you.”

“Please, save my number. It’s my cell, but I own the location, so it’s no bother. Really.” His voice was warm, familiar, and welcoming.

I was practically drooling!

“Thank you. I will.”

“Have a nice day, Miss.”

He hung up! He didn’t wait for my reply, he just hung up! It was so frustratingly JAKE-LIKE! I wanted to scream, throw my phone, punch something as hard as I could, but I didn’t. I was taking out some weird, fantasy on a stranger and their ability to make me reconsider my life choices. I rationalized and tried desperately to put everything out of my mind, but it did me NO good!

I gathered my things and headed out the door to work. I’d been spending more time there, as my only computer was destroyed. I needed to contact this Nym-0s again. Would they speak with me after last time? My attempts to speak with other mod creators and hackers went unanswered, which is to be expected. When you’re doing something that is technically against the law in most places, or morally grey, it’s probably in your best interest to avoid exposure. Which begged to question why Nym-0s had agreed to speak with a journalist in the first place.

My leg shook and my foot tapped beneath my desk as I sat in my office wondering which direction I should go next. Should I attempt to round up more usernames and mod platform creators? Should I reach out to Nym-0s and ask them for a second chance? How am I going to meet this deadline? I’ll never leave my office at this rate.

That’s when the idea struck me. Jake! Not the AI Jake, the PC repair Jake! Maybe, being in his industry, he could shed some light on things for me? He’d already given me his personal number. I checked my phone for the time. It was still early, but late enough that he should be done working. I picked up my phone and sent a quick text.

Me: Hey! I’m sorry to bother you after hours. I wanted to ask you something computer-related.

Jake replies immediately: Ask away.

Me: For context, I’m a research journalist. I work for the video game journal near your store. I am working on an article and I’m sort of stuck on where to go next.

Jake: Okay. How can I help?

Me: I was wondering if you knew anything about computer hacks and mods in reference to video games? I’ve been in contact with a few developers, but most don’t want anything to do with me.

Jake: Sounds reasonable.

Me: Can you help?

Jake: I’m not sure what you’re asking, but I’m about to grab dinner at the Chinese restaurant near your office. Care to join me?

Me: Sure.

Jake: Do you like Chinese food?

Me: Yes.

Jake: Good. It would be rude to invite you to somewhere you don’t like the food.

I swear to you, loyal Duskwood fans, I was just as shocked as you are now. Damn near line for line, Jake had repeated one of the most beloved lines in the game! I was going to meet JAKE FUCKING DONFORT FOR CHINESE FOOD! I barely had the nerve to text that I’d be on my way shortly, but I managed to fumble through the text. Things were getting weirder by the minute, but I was not about to let whatever journalistic opportunity this would become pass me by. So, I picked up my purse and slipped my phone inside. I grabbed my jacket and made my way to the nearest Chinese restaurant. Jake was waiting, leaning against a pole outside, staring down at his phone. Dark jeans, black hoodie, black slip-on shoes, and his hair falling delicately into one extremely gorgeous, blue-grey eye.

AdventureFan FictionFantasyHorrorLoveMysterySci FiSeriesYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Gorejess Stone

I love Storytelling, but unfortunately not on this site. See my tumblr link in the linktree below to find more work or my amazon link for my published book.

https://linktr.ee/agorejessstone

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.