Fiction logo

Dusk

By: Najuma Ali

By Najuma AliPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I do not own the rights to this picture

Fiery, bright red hues of light encompass the entirety of the room. My dark, brown skin feels lit ablaze as I fall down to my knees. My fingers dig into the tops of my thighs and yet I feel nothing.

Just a dull ache.

I gasp as if there is no air in the room, my hand flies to my chest, clawing at my shirt.

Desperate for breath.

My mother.

She calls for me and yet I cannot answer. She shakes my shoulders in earnest and yet I do not feel her.

Time is loss. I am lost. I don't know where I am.

And then....darkness.

He looks at me from afar.

Those golden eyes.

Not a sound is made and I don't dare to break eye contact because I know he is here for me.

Where do I go?

How do I escape?

---------

My eyes shoot open and I lay there.

Silently.

It happened again.

Of course it had to happen then of all times. I am never going to live this down.

My bedroom door to the left of me opens but I remain still.

It just had to happen again.

"Amalia." Comes her almost silent plea. "You're awake."

'I wish I wasn't'. I wanna say, but I don't.

She shuffles over to my bedside and pulls lightly on the blanket tucked tightly around my body.

"C'mon now get up. There's no use in skulkin' 'bout it. What's done is done. We move on. We need to take you to see Alden now."

"I do not want to see him." I say calmly and clearly as possible as if my throat is not on fire and my tongue is not as heavy as a rock.

My mother, though, she saw right through and quickly left only to return in less than a minute with a glass of water.

I recieved it eagerly and took a couple gulps before setting on the bedside table.

Mother watched me in silence before speaking.

"Malia you have to see him. There is no other option. He is the only one who can help you."

"I do not want his help!" I snap angrily and set my heated gaze onto my mother's frightened face.

She cowers unashamed and drops to her knees, her hands folded on top of my bed and her head ducked between her shoulders.

"Amalia please. Y-You have to." She looks up at me teary eyed.

A flicker of annoyance begans to creep up into my belly but I shove it back down before I lose control. With a tired sigh, I push my blankets away from my body and swing my legs out of the bed.

Mother srambles onto her feet in a haste. "Thank you, thank you Amalia. I'll leave you to get dressed."

Ignoring her, I let her flee my room as I make my way to my laboratory.

Stepping inside, I freeze in my place.

Right across from me is the only window in my whole room.

It is dusk outside.

My least favorite time of day.

And there on the branch of the tree outside my curtainless window..

..there he sits.

Perched.

Black feathers still my heart.

Gold eyes capture my sole attention.

He watches me.

And I have no choice in the matter but to watch right back.

My fingers curl at their side and I let out a shaky breath.

"Hello," I whisper so faintly I could barely hear myself.

But I have no doubt he heard me loud and clear.

"Alden."

The End



AdventureExcerptFantasyShort StoryYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Najuma Ali

A 21 year old amateur writer who is trying something new. I've been on wattpad since 2015 but never really published any of my works. So I hope this goes well.

follow me on wattpad @najpaj2000 lol. Check out my reading lists there!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.