Fiction logo

Dreamland part thirteen

White Wolf

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
2
Dreamland part thirteen
Photo by Marek Szturc on Unsplash

Kedamono was beyond nervous going out with his soon to be husband’s father, but he told himself it wasn’t a big deal. It was Papi, after all.

They went to a restaurant that was quiet and calm, and they ordered drinks.

“It’s on me!” Papi said, laying down a fifty dollar bill.

“No, no, I’ll pay,” Kedamono said. “I think that would be more… appropriate.”

“Kedamono… come on. It’s to celebrate your family.”

Kedamono sighed, “Okay, fine, thank you.”

“What…” Papi started to say.

Kedamono looked around the restaurant, cleared his throat and looked at the man who basically allowed him to join his family Circus without question, and allowed him to be a part of his family, to some degree.

They both took in a deep breath.

“What is your intention with my son?” Papi asked finally.

Kedamono looked at him directly and said, “Sir, I want to marry your son. I love him dearly, and want to spend my life with him.”

Papi was taken aback, not expecting such a open and honest answer.

“You are older than him. And you were my assistant. Well, you helped Popee with acts and tricks, stunts and such,” He leaned forward, and said gently, “How long were you thinking this will actually go? He’s still young. You’re not.”

“What does that mean? I’m not that much older than him.”

“Kedamono, you know what I mean.”

“If you’re implying that we were together before he turned eighteen, that’s absolutely untrue. We were only friends.”

“How long have you liked my son?” Papi pushed, making Kedamono’s expressions fall into annoyance and a bit of confidence before he spoke.

“I always liked him, as my friend. But, if you’re asking about attraction..” Kedamono said putting his hands flat on the table. “Your son was the one who wanted us to be together, first. I didn’t come onto him, and he was almost twenty years old when we started even talking about something like that.”

Papi nodded in affirmation and then said, “Do you honestly want to marry him? After everything?”

Kedamono looked at him with a growing frustration and anxiety. “What?”

“I know he was cruel to you when he was younger. And though you never insulted or hurt him back, it was not a good situation.”

“That’s done. Popee has changed. He’s brilliant, sweet, kind, an amazing cook and homemaker, a wonderful father… and he’s a scientist, too.”

Papi smiled slightly at the description of his son and then sighed. “What about you? What are you doing?”

“I work as an office administrator in a law office.”

“So you alone support your family?”

Kedamono nodded, a proud look shining on his countenance.

“So… Why did you want to talk to me?” Papi asked, looking at him in a thoughtful manner, his tone shifting into a serious and matter of fact way.

“I think you and Popee have some unresolved issues. I want to try and help. I think it’s hard… but, I wanted to talk to you about it.”

“Popee is withdrawn. He always has been. He doesn’t like my attention on him. So, I leave him alone.”

“He needs you. I just think it’s tough to explain things. And you left him alone too much. It was very hard on him.”

“That’s a bit too far… how would you know or understand that?” Papi said in a agitated way. “The relationship with my son is complicated.”

“Sir,” Kedamono started, in a calm tone. “I don’t claim to understand everything about you and your son, just… I know what he’s told me, and what I have observed. He has definitely pushed others away in the past. But, now, I see a completely honest and open person. He’s…” Kedamoon closed his eyes and saw a grinning, blue eyed vision of loveliness. It felt like the warmest night of summer, so sweet and blue and quiet, and he smiled. “He’s just so beautiful… he’s loving and supportive and… the best partner to me and parent to our son.” He opened his eyes and saw Papi staring at him in disbelief and a quiet awe.

“You do love him.” It wasn’t a question, it was an acknowledgment.

Kedamono grinned. “With all of my heart.”

Papi nodded. “So, you plan to ask him to marry you?”

“Yes. I’d like your blessing.”

Papi’s eyes widened, blue in hue just like Popee, only a bit lighter in the shade. “My—my blessing?”

“Yes, sir.”

“Would you marry him no matter what I say?”

Kedamono frowned. “I couldn’t live without him or my son. So, unless Popee said no, I would still be with him. He’s the love of my life.”

“What about you? Your family? The woman you had this child with?”

Kedamono grimaced, thinking about out of all the questions he could’ve asked, these were the ones he was hoping wouldn’t come up.

“Shawna abandoned Kedamono Junior practically at our doorstep. She had him this January and only took care of him until June. So… in all honesty, she’s not a part of our son’s life anymore. Or mine, for that matter.”

“When were you with her? Shawna, I mean.”

“Last year, like in late April. While Popee and I were still in the circus with you.”

“Do you harbor feelings for her?”

Kedamono rolled his eyes and huffed, “What? Are you serious?”

Papi frowned and said, “Okay. Never mind. Forget I asked.”

“A woman who abandons her child, is not anything of mine,” Kedamono said.

Papi flashed him a knowing look and it made Kedamono uncomfortable.

“What about your family?”

Kedamono sighed. “I’d rather not talk about that.”

“Kedamono…” Papi said softly, “Why don’t you just take off the mask?”

“That’s none of your business.”

“Then, tell me, who was your mother?”

“I….” He made a fist and slightly placed it on the table. “don’t… want to talk about that.”

Papi frowned. “Fine.”

He finished his drink. Kedamono didn’t touch his drink at all.

“Listen, if you and Popee want to be together, okay. That’s fine,” Papi said. “But, I need someone in my son’s life who is not tethered down by a bloodline that breeds terror.”

Kedamono’s mouth parted as he made a slight gasp, his eyes wide.

“Yes, we all know.”

He was stunned and felt his pulse racing and pounding in his neck, his cheeks flushed and the heat in his cheeks were so hot.

“Wh-who told you?”

“That crazy frog. And Marifa. Remember? That day we all left.”

Kedamono sighed. “I’m not my mother. I’m not her.”

Papi said nothing for a full thirty seconds, and their combined stare felt excruciating and hard to pass.

“Then prove it.”

Kedamono frowned. “How?”

“Take off the mask.”

“Sir…”

“You may look like her, but you aren’t her. Right?” Papi’s voice slowly churned into a softer tone, but his eyes were still stern.

Kedamono nodded. Papi’s eyes were questioning him, and he felt like everyone was suddenly watching him in judgement. He tried to assuage the panic rising in his chest, and took in a deep, shaky breath.

Kedamono closed his eyes and said, “I will take off my mask,” he started. “If you apologize to Popee. For abandoning him, in your own way.”

Papi was quiet, and Kedamono’s heart was pounding. He thought of how others would start seeing him differently. How they’ll judge him. His fear radiated from his toes to his face, a look that couldn’t be hidden.

Not my art.

“You are willing to go to such lengths for Popee?” Papi said finally.

Yes.”

Papi immediately stood up and went over to Kedamono on the other side of the table. He suddenly put an arm around the purple haired man, making Kedamono jump a bit.

“Kedamono, my boy, you are extremely worthy. I apologize. I’m.. I’m very sorry.”

Kedamono was sweating bullets but then smiled nervously, laughing in a quiet and shy titter.

“Really?”

Papi nodded, and leaned in to hug him. “I was very harsh on you. I… I guess I realized just how far away I was from my son. I got upset at myself for it. It’s my fault. And then… I saw you and him… and you’re so happy and close. I needed to know what it was. And I see…. You are truly committed to him.”

Kedamono cried a few tears of relief. “Oh, thank you, sir.”

“No, no,” Papi said with a warm smile. “Call me dad. And you’ll also be my son, Kedamono.”

No more words were spoken.

Kedamono drank his drink in one gulp and they got fresh glasses, making a toast to a happy new future.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.