Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 51

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

"Where are you even going!?" I found myself yelling out as Ace stormed forward. I could already feel myself running out of breath but if I stopped now, I'd lose him. I shouldn't be caring this much. He's discharged from the hospital. He clearly doesn't need my help. "Ace!" I called out once more before sitting down on a random rock that was plopped down at the end of some person's driveway. All this effort and he doesn't give a shit. What was I doing? The old me would've just let him leave the car and drove off. Fuck him. Fuck his attitude.

After catching my breath once again I found myself making my way back to the car and getting back inside, starting up the engine and heading back down the road. I picked him up from the hospital. He's discharged. He's free. He clearly is perfectly fine doing things on his own. He's not my responsibility anymore.

"Seriously!?" A dude yelled from the side of the road as I drove past. Ace. "You're just going to leave me here!?" He shouted out.

Pressing my foot on the brake, I lowered the passenger side window, "You left."

"I needed some air."

"You physically got out of the car." I told him, "You walked down the road. I figured I was good to go."

He went to open the door, but I quickly locked it shut.

"C'mon Lex." He looked back up at me with those big brown eyes of his, "Don't be like this."

"I came to the hospital. I got you out. You're free to go, Ace. You don't need me anymore."

"Lex." His tone of voice sounded a bit harsher than it was before.

Putting the car into park, I got out and walked to the other side of the vehicle. There he stood, leaned against the door with his hand on the handle as if to be waiting for the second I unlocked the car. "You've got to be kidding me." I got out.

"Just let me in, Lex." He almost pleaded.

"What's up with you?" I found myself asking him.

"What's up with you?" He asked me.

"Excuse me?"

"You couldn't stand him. You couldn't stand the idea of being around him, but now it's all you ever wanted to do? I got to the hospital and suddenly you can't help but be with-"

"I didn't choose that decision." I told him, "You really think I chose to be with him? To spend time with him? You really think I would rather hang with him than... do anything else? Hell, I'd rather be at school than be with-"

"Just tell him no!"

He's got to be kidding himself. "We cannot be talking about the same person."

"No," He grabbed ahold of my wrist and pulled me closer into his chest, "Lex. Just tell him no. If he tried to do anything, let me know. Don't be afraid of him, Lex. Don't ever be afraid of him."

Don't ever be afraid of him. I'm not. At least I don't think I am. Am I? It's Rev. I'm not as much afraid of him as I'm just afraid of what he's capable of. What he's capable of doing. I've seen him get away with way too much to not be afraid of all that he's capable of. Seriously. Do the people of this town really not give a shit about what goes on around them? "What makes you think I'm afraid of him?" I asked him.

"You don't have to be." Ace pushed a strand of my hair behind my ear, "Not with me around."

Not with him around. Of course. "Does that have anything to do with the fact that I am yours?" My eyes focused on his as I waited for his answer.

"Lex."

"No." I answered sternly, "Do I have nothing to worry about with him because I have some weird connection with who seems to be his best mate? Or best enemy? Known the two of you this long and I still have no idea what the hell the two of you are to each other."

"Known acquittances."

"No."

"That's what he is to me. That's what we-"

"No." I folded my fingers into his, continuing to look deeply into his brown eyes, "You cannot expect me to believe that both you and Rev just happen to know each other. Not when he- Not when you know about him. About his past."

"Excuse me?"

"You two are best friends." I looked at him, "Don't deny it. You don't just seperate yourself from your parents for a known acquittance, Ace. You don't just choose a known acquittance over your own family. He's your best friend. Maybe he's always been your best friend."

"Maybe I care for him." He shrugged.

"He's your best friend." I shot him a smile.

"Maybe."

"Rev's your best friend." I said once more, probably going a bit further into taunting territory at this point.

"So what if he is?" He asked me.

"Best friends shouldn't be putting each other in the hospital." I told him, "Maybe they'll fight over girls. Maybe."

"A best friend wouldn't do it to someone twice." He grumbled.

"A best friend might." I eyed him, "Maybe falling for the same girls is a sign that these best friends were meant to be in each other's lives."

"He knew how I felt and he just-"

"Hey." I focused his eyes back on me, "Don't do that. Don't put all the blame on him. He couldn't help it. He-"

"He couldn't do it all on his own?"

I bit my lip. "I'm just saying," I told him, "It takes two to kiss. And last I checked, we weren't exactly an item."

"So, if we were an item, you wouldn't have... done what you did?"

No idea. "What are you talking about?"

"I let him have the girl in the past." He told me, "I took a step back and let him claim her for himself. I-"

"We aren't becoming a thing."

"I took a step back." He kept whispering to himself, "I took a step back and he swooped in and took her away." At this point, I wasn't even sure if Ace remembered I was here.

"I'm not Marie." I spoke out loud.

"Of course not." He cupped his palms over my cheeks, "You're not Marie. You're stronger. You're-"

I couldn't take my eyes off his. What was happening right now? The hell was he doing?

"-spectacular." With that, his lips crashed onto mine.

AdventureHorrorLoveMysterySeriesYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.