Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 35

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

Soon enough the building I've started to learn very well came into view. "Are we-" I leaned forward in my seat.

"You still want to discuss about what happened earlier between us?" Rev pulled into an empty parking spot in the far back of the lot.

"Why are we here?"

"You don't want to see your boy?"

I rolled my eyes as I stepped out of the truck, "He's not my boy."

Rev chuckled but didn't hop out the truck.

"You going to come out?"

"Yes." He answered quickly, not moving his eyes off the wheel.

I leaned up against the door frame, placing a hand over his, "Is the scary, tough man scared to face the guy he put inside this hospital?"

"Shut up."

"I will once you get out the truck." A cheesy smile somehow crept it's way across my face. For some odd reason, seeing this man act nervous was pretty satisfying in a way I just couldn't explain.

"Do you think he'll catch on?" His tone of voice changed as he looked at me, "You don't think he'll see right through us, right?"

"Oh my god," I gasped at him, "You're terrified of him."

"I'm not terrified of him." He turned his eyes away but I pulled his focus back on me.

"That's why he doesn't have to worry about pissing you off." I said to him.

"I'm not fucking terrified of him." Rev slammed his fist against the wheel, "I'm the one who's in charge."

"That doesn't mean you can't still be afraid of him, Rev."

"What do you know?" He asked me, "You're new to the area. Remember? You don't know any one of us."

"I may be new to town, but I still know what it means when someone doesn't want to face another person." I gestured over to the fact that he was still sitting in his truck, "That's exactly how I was when-" I stopped myself. Don't mention Tex around him, Lex. Stupid. He'll just figure out a way to use it against you if you do.

He turned to me once again, "I'm not you."

"Excuse me?" I took a step back, "I was just trying to-"

"No." He looked down at his wheel before locking eye contact with me once again, "I just meant- I don't just allow for people to see through my vulnerability.. it just gives them a way to control me."

"So what happened to me in the past makes me vulnerable now?" I sensed a bit of annoyance in my tone.

"Don't you get all offended now, Lex." He hopped out the truck, "I was just saying."

"Why shouldn't I?"

He slammed the door before walking towards the hospital entrance, "You coming?"

"Why shouldn't I?" I repeated, practically having to run just to keep up with his pace.

"You seriously want to argue right now?"

"I'm not arguing, Rev."

"Sure you aren't."

"Whatever." I folded my arms across my chest, "Why are we going to see Ace in the first place?"

Silence. Of course. Why would he tell me anything? It isn't like I just put my entire education on hold after being at my new school for one day all because this dude wanted to take me out. He wouldn't even walk in a slower pace so I could catch up.. almost as if he forgot I was even following behind.

"Rev." I spoke out.

His pace slowed down to a halt and, at first, I actually believed he stopped for me. That was until I realized where exactly he was standing. The room. THE room. I stood there as Rev just stood by the window, peering in at the body that laid across the hospital bed.

"What the hell are you doing?" I asked him.

"I just wanted to talk."

"No." I grabbed his arm before he was able to take hold of the doorknob, "You are not going near him."

"Lex." He tried to pull out of my grip, but I held on even tighter.

"I'm not about to let you get close to him." I leaned into his ear and lowered my voice, "Don't you dare forget the true reason why he's even here in the first place."

"Wow, Lex." He smiled back at me, "I guess hanging out with me has taught you quite a few things."

"Don't you dare change the damn subject, Rev."

"Is there a problem?" A doctor, who's voice sounded pretty familiar, said to us. Trevor. My grip loosened as I lost my train of thought.

"There is not," Rev slapped him on the back, "T."

"You both know each oth-? Trevor took a step back, "Oh shit. You're the one who managed to put this man in the hospital?"

"Who else would it be?" Rev held his hands up as if he was proud of what he'd done.

"Dude!" Trevor smacked Rev on the back before shifting his focus over towards me, "Hello."

"Please tell me you met because Ace is staying in this same hospital."

"No, Lex. This is T. He's one of us." Rev responded.

"You have got to be kidding me."

"Wait." Rev shared a look between us, "You two have met before?"

"I met Trevor," I told him, "the hospital intern who had to question me about how exactly my father was shot in the first place. You do remember that, don't you.. T?"

"I had to do my job. It's proto-"

"Oh, and Rev?" I turned to face him, "How do you think Ace would react if he found out a member of your little group asked me out on a date for this Saturday?"

Rev's smile faded, "He did what?"

"To be fair-" T went to say before Rev threw him against the wall.

"You do remember how important Saturday was, correct? You remember how important it was and you decided to just ask a random girl out on a date for that same day?"

"Rev," I shoved him off T and stood between them, "I would have stayed silent on the matter if I knew you'd handle it like this."

"I had no idea how important she was, dude!" T shouted at him.

"How about we just go over to Ace and inform him about how you just tried to pick up his girl?"

"No." I stood up to Rev, "We will just move on and pretend that none of this happened. He asked me out. He never acted on it, yet. We can just move and forget that this whole thing-"

"Move out of the damn way, Lex."

"No."

"Dude." T chuckled, "She's actually allowed to talk to you like this?"

"Why not?" I made my focus back on Rev, "I am Ace's girl. There's a few things I know of that I'm sure he'll love to know."

"Alright." Rev held his hands up, "T, just go back to work. None of this ever happened. Lex, we will just go back into this room and pretend like T never got in our conversation in the first place."

"What? No." I leaned myself against the door, "You are not going anywhere near my father, Rev."

"Good luck with that." T laughed as he walked away.

"Lex."

"Rev."

"I just want to apologize to him." He shot me a pair of puppy dog eyes but I was not about to fall for that trick. No. Not from him.

"Sure you do." I knew all of his tricks. He'd tell me he'd want to apologize, only to storm in there, slam the barrel of his gun to my dad's forehead, and demand he forget everything that happened. I was not going to give him the opportunity. No. Never. "I'm not about to let you-"

He grabbed ahold of my wrists and threw me up against the wall, "Don't you dare tell me what to do again, you understood?"

Speechless and a bit afraid of what he could possibly do, I just nodded. I watched as he walked in, slamming the door shut behind him. I knew I had to get him out of there somehow but I couldn't find it in me to move. All I was about to do was watch from the window and pray that he wouldn't try to do anything else besides apologize.. like he said he would.

✿✿✿

"I'm not about to let you-" She had her body held against the door to try and keep me out, as if that ever stopped me before. I grabbed her wrists and slammed her against the wall behind us, "Don't you dare tell me what to do again, understood?" She remained silent as response, which I took as my official permission to just walk into the room. I was doing this for her, for God's sake.

"Mr. Kiele?" I found myself asking as I stood next to the hospital bed.

"You're the-"

"I'm the guy." I cut him off, "We've been through this before."

"You shot me."

"I know. That's actually why I'm here right now." I looked down, "I just wanted to-"

"My daughter blamed herself for what you did to me." He told me, "Did you know that?"

"What?"

"She tried to explain to me that this shit was her own fault." He explained, "You want to explain to me how my sweet angel would've thought that it was her own fault some asshole decided to take a gun out and pull the damn trigger?"

"Sir-"

"You must be out of your mind thinking you can just enter this room and face me," He said to me, "after all that you had done."

"I just wanted to apologize to you for what I've done, sir."

"Apologize?" He looked at me, "If it wasn't for you, I'd be at home right now trying to restart my new life."

"Listen. Sir-"

"Stop calling me sir." He stated, "I am not a sir."

"Mr. Kiele-"

"Call me John."

John? Was I seriously about to be on a first name basis with the man who's daughter doesn't even want me to be near? "John," I sighed, "I know I shouldn't expect you to forgive me after what I have done. I get that. I do. But I just want to apologize to you anyway. I at least owe Lex that much."

"You're apologizing to me because you owe it to Alexis?" He asked me.

Shit. "No." I told him, "No. I just felt like I needed to do this. It wasn't fair to either of you for me to just pretend as if this never happened. This was just something I needed to get off my chest so that I can move on. I seriously did not mean for you to get in the way, Mr. K- John. I did not mean for any of this to happen. Honest."

"It's alright, son."

I looked up at him in shock, "Really?"

"It's probably going to be what ends up killing me, but I am a pretty forgiving person." He chuckled, "Just don't do it again if you truly want to win over my daughter. She's lost one parent already and-"

"I won't. You have my word on that." I cut him off before he said anything more to his sentence, "Have a good one."

"You as well, Rev."

I let off a quick smile before exiting. "He forgave me, Lex." I turned around to find nobody standing next to me. Shit. Where the hell did she go?

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.