Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 23

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

"Tex." I said under my breath.

"Who the hell is Tex?"

I turned my head, confused, only to see a shadow blended perfectly with the darkness. It looked as if they may have had blonde hair, but I could've been completely wrong. "Who are you?"

A hand made contact with my cheek, "You should've paid more attention."

"What?"

"You should have never gone out there that night."

"Excuse me?"

"The night you got that mysterious little note. The first night you've been in town; you should have never stepped foot out your door. You were safer in the safety of your own house."

I searched around for clues that could tell me where I was or who was in here with me, but it was too dark to even see anything, "What are you talking about?"

"You do remember that night, don't you?"

"Yes." Of course I do. What kind of stupid question was that? How could I forget about that night? It was the first time I met Rev.. Ace. That was the night my entire life turned for the worse. If I never took the time to look into that dumb note written on the box in the living room, I would have never encountered Rev. I may have never met Ace. I would have never had a gun pressed against my back, or been forced to lie to my father before being told to get into some random truck. I would have never been attacked by a damn psychopath. But.. if you think about it, if I never gone outside that night.. I would have never caught Rev driving up the driveway towards my house. Who knows what he wanted to do in that house? Or why he was going up the driveway in the first place? Was the house some place he used to hang around at? Or maybe it once belonged to him before my dad brought it? Hell. For all I know, it was just some sad, waste of an excuse for him to find some newbie to torture. Rev had to have known I was there. He had to have known I would've come out. Otherwise, why would he have left the note for me to find?

"If you had just ignored the note," He took a pause, "you may have just been safe."

Might? I felt my cheeks turn hot, bringing the palms of my hand up as an attempt to hide them.

A small light shone onto his face, from a small flashlight he held loosely in his hand, "You may have even met a good person instead of a bad one."

I gasped, "You can't be-"

Dropping the flashlight, he cupped my cheeks in his hands before leaning in and crashing his lips into mine before I shoved him away. "Stop," I scrambled to my feet and ran towards the door, jiggling the doorknob a couple times. Locked. Dammit. "C'mon," I kept trying to jiggle the knob some more as if it would just magically fly open for me.

"Are you really trying to leave early?"

"Leave me the fuck alone!" I turned back around to face him.

"Excuse me?" A teacher asked.

"I-I'm sorry," I quickly responded, "I thought you were someone else."

The room filled with light snickers from the few who were watching this little incident.

"You still have half an hour left of detention before you could leave."

I looked back at Gilbert, who was now sitting back in his seat as if nothing ever happened. Almost as if he had just forgotten about that small kiss we- well, he had shared. "Could I at least go to the bathroom?"

The teacher nodded, unlocking the door and letting me slip on out. I walked down the hall, towards the direction of the bathroom, before taking a turn towards the entrance of the school.

I was definitely not going back into that room.

✿✿✿

"Well, well, well," Rev walked into the room. He was dressed up nicely; wearing a plain black tank and a pair of skintight black jeans. He even had his hair slicked up into an updo.

"You dressed up nice."

"You fake injuries even better."

"I'm not faking."

"You sure? You're still trying to make me believe that you didn't want to just get away from that Lex?"

"I'm not trying to say anything," I responded back, "I wasn't trying to get away from her."

Rev stepped closer, leaning up against the edge of the hospital bed, "If you don't want to be away from her, you need to keep a closer eye on her from now on."

"What the hell did you do?"

"Nothing."

I sat up straight, staring directly into his eye, "What the fuck did you do to Lex?!"

"I just wanted to see her."

"Who?"

"Are you really going to ask me that question?"

"I want you to say her name."

"Alexis Kiele." He smirked.

"Did I not just tell you to leave her the fuck alone?"

"You did," he paused, "but when have I ever listened to what you said before? You were just an excuse I had to see her."

I flung my arms up to clench my fists around his tank top, trying to pull him down so I can tackle him but he caught on. He grabbed ahold of my shirt, pushing me back down onto the hospital bed with his body pinning mine down, his fists pushed firmly onto my chest. "You really think that you're stronger than I am, Ace?" He growled at me.

I didn't say another world. I was afraid that the second I moved, he would put me in a lot more pain than I already had been in.

"You think you can just attack me, and I wouldn't do anything in return?" He asked me once more, "You really think that by hurting me, I wouldn't be able to hurt you.. or even Lex.. is that really the smartest idea for you to come up with?"

"If you even touch a hair on Lex's head, you are dead meat." I growled back, "Understand?"

"How do you know that I would even been the one to hurt Lex? I have other minions, Ace.. not just you."

"You're a piece of shit, Rev."

He got up, pulling me off the bed and tossing me across the room. My head crashed into the wall before I landed onto the ground, causing so much pain to shoot throughout my body. I felt like screaming at the very top of my lungs.

"I'm not the one who's falling for the victim. Don't you realize that if she actually saw the real you, she would feel so fucking terrified? Go think about that the next time you want to pull her in and kiss her. I'm not the only monster in this scenario, Ace."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.