Fiction logo

Dream Sequence

Dream 6: Daydream Believer

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Dream Six: Daydream Believer

“Hello, I'm Marigold Mason and I daydream all the time. In my dream, I was driving toward a red light, and I was daydreaming again as I stopped. I always wondered why people daydream or at least why I do. And especially while driving. That's kind of dangerous, isn't it? But I read according to an Atlanta study that daydreamers have more active brains and may be more intelligent and creative than the average person. So that’s a good thing.” Marigold stretched her long legs and swung them around to the front of her pink chaise lounge. She pulled off her dark shades revealing big blue eyes. She patted her pink curls and brushed imaginary specks of lint from her white angora sweater. She took a small sip of her green tea and continued. “Back to my dream. I was at a red light waiting for it to change. I was still daydreaming when the light turned green. I opened my eyes widely and started heading for home. While driving through my neighborhood, I found it unrecognizable. I was on the right street. Yeah, that's Lane Blvd. Yeah, I double checked. Where is my church? My church should be right there. It had been replaced by a tall obelisk shaped building with gold doors and windows where am I? I gasped. I started to turn around and noticed that I was up in the air? How did I get up here? I was in the air several miles above the ground. All life as I remembered had evolved. There were people on the ground jogging with dogs who were on their hind legs. The trees had rainbow-colored leaves and there was a fruit hanging and I didn't know what kind of food it was. I had never seen it before. There was foliage and flowers moving like they had a life of their own. I was glad that there were still bees but on closer inspection they looked mechanical but still carried out the normal activities of pollination. My old blue Honda had metamorphosized into a sleek steel arrow dynamic vehicle. I wonder if it would be safe to land. Land? I don't know how to navigate this thing. But I needed to find out where I was cheering. When I say where I was, I mean what country? Continent? Planet? I saw different kinds of people or species. They were riding in a sleek silver air subway bus full to capacity. There were species with four arms, others with three eyes and some without identification of all sizes shapes and colors. I steered my new vehicle into the center of my neighborhood. I think I spotted my house or at least it looked like it. I commandeered the vehicle into a parking space and stepped out when the doors lifted. My street appeared more uniform now. All the cookie cutter row houses matched. They all were painted sky blue and opaque white. All the doors were terra cotta. And each house had ten opaque steps with gold trim. The top porcelain step glistened and seemed to be deposited with star shapes. The door opened and I stepped inside. I hesitated. I looked from side to side adjusting my eyes to the darkness on the interior,” Marigold took a long deep breath. Everyone in the dream study group scooted at the edge of their seats. The voice from the speaker whispered, “Miss Mason, what happened next?” I walked back to my pink chaise lounge and sauntered into a reclining position. “Well, what happened? Shouted one of the other seven participants. “Yeah, don't keep us waiting!” “Where were you?” another yelled, “I know it's a dream, but I'm scared,” said another. Her voice trembling. Marigold whispered, “Then the light turned green. I stirred from my daydream. I parked in my car in front of the Super Dollar store and went inside to shop for a new pair of sandals. I was so excited! I had been waiting all week for their summer sale! Everybody groaned, even the voice from the speaker seemed a little disturbed. Marigold smiled a little bemused. “What did you think would happen? It’s a dream, people.” The voice from the speaker sighed,” Thank you, Miss Mason. I think we'll take a break for the rest the day.

Next Up

Nightmare/Dream 7: The Creature from the Frozen Pond

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.