Fiction logo

Dream Sequence

Dream 3: The American Dream

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dream 3: The American Dream

Dr. Aiden Moon pushed off his black exercise ball chair and immediately began telling the details of his dream without encouragement from the voice of the speaker. “My parents, Ara and Kyong Moon were Korean immigrants who migrated to America ‘fresh off the boat’ in the hopes of attaining the American dream. My interpretation of that dream clashed fiercely with their ideology. I think the main problem centered around our different philosophies of how to attain success and the American Dream. They believed that I should be educated and pursue the fields of study which would lead me to careers in the fields of medicine, business, or law. Deep down in my soul though, I'd always wanted to be a chef. They vehemently protested my desires even though I had worked in their restaurants from the early age of seven. They also cautioned me concerning my temperament as an American, they told me to ignore and rise above any form of racism whether subtle or overt. I worked hard during the day and became a surgeon at a prestigious hospital in New York. On my days off, I stayed up preparing meals for the enjoyment of my family and friends.” He noticed the audience and the other seven members of the dream study shifted in their seats. Someone coughed, another cleared his throat and when he heard the long-winded sigh, he changed the subject. “How many of you enjoyed the vegetable egg rolls I prepared for you.? Ok. I get it! Time to get down to business.” He clapped his hands together and began his dream story. “In my dream, my halmeoni (grandmother) Aera Park stood at the kitchen table all four feet and two inches mixing sea salt and water until it dissolved. She then poured it over the Napa cabbage and summoned me over to mix it together with my hands. I wasn't an adult in my dream, but my grandmother had passed when I was 10 years old. She lived with my parents and me and only spoke Korean. My younger brother and sisters were quite young when she left us. Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed this strangely suspicious and bulky package covered with brown paper. There were postage stamps from a foreign region. I looked back to see that my grandmother was diligently blending the onion, garlic and mixing the red pepper powder and green onions. I asked her in Korean, ‘did this delivery come from overseas?’ She winked at me and combined the ingredients of spices and aromatics with the cabbage she had placed in a large Mason jar. ‘Open it, aleumdaun sonja yeoll-eo kiva’ she whispered. I blushed at her compliment about my handsomeness and grabbed the package. I opened it gingerly and revealed a genuine Korean kitchen knife. The large knife had been made from the traditions of the region where it was hand forged. It appeared crude, rough but handy as a sharp vegetable knife. He turned it over and over admiring its artistry. ‘It will give a warm rustic touch to any cooking atmosphere.’ It was forged in Anseong, a South Korean city where stone and iron craft artisans worked throughout the region. “When I awakened from my dream, I was empty-handed, but it reinforced my concept of success as a Korean- American.” Now I'm ready to go to culinary school. Moon rushed back and positioned his slim body on the exercise ball. He believed that his American dream would begin today. Afterall, the American Dream can be attained by anyone from anywhere. Just reach for it and its yours. Static from the speaker crackled and then the voice from the speaker chimed in, “Dr. Moon, I’m afraid you began without permission and have not been recorded. You have to retell your dream story. Moon sighed, “the American dream doesn't easily come by easily. If you fail, remember to try and try and try again.”

Coming next

Dream 4: I Think, Therefore I Dream

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.