Fiction logo

Dream Sequence

Epilogue: The Dream Study Aftermath

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The members of the dream study group began mulling about the dream presentation room. They were anxious and annoyed. Ernesto asked “When are we going to meet you Mr. or Miss. speaker? Cheyenne reached over and hooked her arm in his. He looked at her and raised one disheveled brow. She addressed the voice and asked, “Uh, yes. I want to know who you are. You know all about us. Our innermost thoughts by way of our dreams of course”. “I don’t care who you are! Now that everything's over” David chimed in, “When are we going to get paid? He walked over to Princess and when he reached for her, she scrambled to the other side of the room. Princess and Jason began whispering conspiratorially. Then they said, “Yeah, what’s up with the money?” Aiden started packing up his belongings shoveling them into his backpack. He slung it over his shoulder and said, “Email me when everything's processed.” Alexia asked if anyone wanted to exchange numbers. Marigold walked over to her and asked for her info. Alexia whispered, “Why is Cheyenne grabbing Ernesto like that. I thought you too were friends.” “Marigold shook her head, “We are friends. He won’t let anyone in …closer. Don’t you remember his dream?” “Just a minute, dreamers,” the voice from the dream study group spoke. Please remain still dreamers. To answer your question Ernesto have you ever seen Charlie's Angels? Perhaps that's before your time But I believe you were around when the two rebooted movies were made. We never got to meet Charlie, did we? But he was able to get the angels to accomplish the goals he had prepared for them. Hello, just call me Charlie.” Princess shouted, “I’m no angel, but I followed all your orders. And now it’s time for you to listen to us.” “Calm down, Miss Lovejoy. All of you, check your bank accounts. if you left a good bank account on file you should have already received your payment. However…” “Oh, I just got paid,” Cheyenne shouted. Everyone started checking their phones and woo hoo, oh yeah, yes, hallelujah, ay dios mio and various sounds of joy erupted throughout the room. The voice cleared its throat and continued “However, if you're interested in participating in a reality show entitled Dream On: The Live Show. I've left the contracts spelling out our proposal on the front table. The difference is that you will be seen all over America. The audience will vote on the best dreams. And at the end of the program, a dreamer will be sent home. The winner at the end will receive 100,000 dollars. Secondly, you have to complete your contracts before you leave today, and all participants have to report back two weeks from today. We will be conducting a Dream Sequence 2 dream study with eight new participants in the interim. We hope to have ten contestants in total. “I’m definitely signing the contract. Not quite sure if I can afford to travel back and forth though. I have to go back home to see my significant other.” Jason said with excitement. Cheyenne added, “I’m game too! There’s no one home for me but money is definitely an issue.” The voice from the speaker explained to them that all their travel accommodations and hotel reservations except for food toiletries, and clothing would be paid for in advance. “It’s in the contract. Everything is spelled out for you in the contract.” The voice said. Jason and Cheyenne dashed for the table with David following their lead. He looked over his shoulder and smiled when he noticed that Princess had rushed over too. “Good Luck, Beautiful Dreamers. I wish you well whichever decision you make. I hope I'll see you again then. Good day everyone and happy dreams.”

Dr. Aiden Moon had too checked his phone and now satisfied, he headed for the door. “Wait, Aiden,” Alexia shouted after him. “We need to talk. You and me. Talk.” She grabbed his arm to pull him back. He pulled away. “I don’t think so. I’m through with this dream nonsense and I guess you’d decided that we were through before we had a chance.” “Shh, they can hear you.” “Really, Alex.” He removed his shades and stared into her dark brown eyes. “Like you ever cared about what they heard. You want me to be quiet now. “That’s hurtful, Dr. Moon.” Alexia yelled. “And so is you calling me that. “Now, I’m leaving. I need to decide what dreams I want to make into a reality. My dreams and your dreams clash. Yours don’t include waiting for me to be a chef. So, enjoy your life without me.” He pushed forward and slammed the door so hard it sent the contracts flying. Everyone looked up. “He’s not going to be in Dream On: The Movie, Jason chuckled. No one joined in.

The voice from the speaker of the dream study group hopes that the audience has been entertained by the eight dreams of this dream study. Please feel free to vote on your favorite dream sequence.

The Dreams were as follows:

David Kensington’s Dream One: The Dream Number’s Book

Cheyenne Lightfoot’s Dream Two: Dream Catcher

Dr. Aiden Moon’s Dream Three: The American Dream

Ernesto Rodriguez’s Dream Four: I am, Therefore, I Dream

Jason Lee Jones’s Dream Five: Dream Big

Marigold Mason’s Dream Six: Daydream Believer

Alexia Knight’s Dream Seven: The Curse of the Frozen Pond

Princess Lovejoy’s Dream Eight: The Man of My Dreams

Coming Soon: Dream Sequence 2 (8 New Dreamers)

Between the Dreams (A daily behind the scenes story)

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.