Fiction logo

Dream Sequence

Dream 5: Dream Big

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Dream Five: Dream Big

“Jason Lee Jones,” announced the voice from the speaker. “You're up next!” Jason jumped out of his seat as he grabbed his bar stool so it wouldn't hit the floor. He tripped over the shoes he had taken off. Crash! He tried to prevent the accident, but it happened anyway. He got the attention of the sleeping audience. Everyone was now wide awake. The audience was a group of participants who joined him in a dream study seminar. “Are you quite alright?” asked the voice from the speaker. “I’m good.” “Mr. Jones. Are you ready to begin?” “Yes, I am.” He wondered if the voice had been suppressing a giggle as he picked up the stool and sat down. He wrapped his bare feet around the rungs of the stool. All his life he dodged and ignored stares, pointing, laughter and double takes from classmates and neighbors and most people who didn't understand that he may have been a little different. As he got older, he thankfully and proudly realized that he was a member of a larger community of people who looked and lived just like him. He straightened his chair, wiped off his purple framed glasses, plucked at the loose azure blue curls at the top of his head. “Ahem. Welcome all I also like to dream big when I am awake. Unless we’re really dreaming now like the other dude says. Descartes. I think that’s his name. there’s are the certain things you have to remember if you want to dream big Find out what really matters to you, then dream big. Number one… believe that you can do it. Number two… don’t ask ‘what if I fail?’ Enjoy the fact that you tried. Number three… don’t be afraid of success. If you have more to do, it will be ok. Number four… visualize your goals. You need to have some imagination to do that and number five… Good luck! Take encouragement from others. I’d better start before …well, you know. He pointed upward. Jason stood up and walked away from his stool. I love movies! Mostly, old ones. So, in my dream my boyfriend Sylvester and I were watching one of my favorite movies, Raging Bull. In the beginning of the movie the main character, a wrestler in a sleepwalking trance started quoting something that seemed like Shakespeare. But I was the star of the movie not Robert De Niro and my dream was in black and white just like the movie. I tried to change the main character’s fall from grace event with my dream big philosophy to no avail. Like Othello, I let jealousy push my animalistic tendencies to the hilt. A bull in the China shop describes me at my best. I cheated on my wife, only it was my husband. Hey, it’s my dream after all! I chased after underage boys. I would never do that! I brutalized my enemies and even punched out my brother. Do I look like a violent man? Hello? Don't think so. Could I use the principles of ‘dream big’ in this dream? I didn't want to lose who I was. I continued to dream. Try to change things. At the snap of the referee’s fingers, and in the middle of the boxing ring my boyfriend and I transformed into glamorous drag queens. RuPaul of drag race fame appeared as the referee and shouted, ‘Category is Animal!’ We strutted our stuff in the center of the boxing ring accompanied by Robert De Niro, Joe Pesci, and the director of the movie. I don’t remember his name. Drag queens Pandora Box and Jujube were dressed like Siamese cats and were also walking down the center of the boxing ring. Robert De Niro strolled out in a beautiful full-length zebra print dress. He had on a black ponytail with accessories of red earrings and a matching red leather bag. He sported red pumps and when RuPaul said ‘Sissy that walk’, he was a true sissy. The crowd roared. Now Joe Pesci sprung out in an orange and brown rooster pantsuit. He donned a hat of various colors which represented all the feathers of a rooster. Not to be undone, Sugar Ray Robinson jumped in the ring. He wore a slinky black pantsuit with hoofs like a bull. He had an actual ring in his nose. He wore a blonde bouffant wig. Oh, oh I forgot to tell you what I had on. I was a unicorn in an all-white leotard with fringes of purple, pink, blue, red, yellow, and green hanging from my sleeves and a mock tail of fringes of the same colors. I won the challenge and received a $5000 tip. Big dreams do come true! All you have to do is remember the principles. One, Two, Three, Four Five. My dream was quite bizarre. I guess I shouldn't have smashed two more pieces of that chocolate cake last night.” Jason laughed and took a bow. Everybody cheered.

Hold on for the next dream

Dream Six: Daydream Believer

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.