Fiction logo

Dream Sequence

Prologue: Hello, Beautiful Dreamers

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

“Dream on,” Marigold read the title on the bold purple and gold brochure. She decided to sign up for the dream study and looked up from the ad to view the Victorian mansion with elaborate gingerbread trim standing majestically at the top up the hill. Marigold laughed out loud. Whoa, what! The Uber driver pulled into the driveway and with a switch, he opened the trunk. Marigold hopped out and retrieved her luggage. She had dreamed of this very house. “My dream home! It's mine! What a great start,” she said as she shifted the bags to fit on top of each other and steered them toward the entrance. She stopped short and glanced up exhaling deeply. The scene took her breath away. A backdrop of four majestic trees behind the building with flashes of sun splashing between the leaves of a magnolia tree, a pink cherry blossom, a red maple, and a golden oak. To the right of the house stood a white willow tree with an ornate white wooden bench planted leisurely in front of it. A wrap around porch adorned with picket white fence borders with matching gingerbread awning hanging from the second story. On the left of the house there was an attached pewter domed gazebo complete with a white wooden rocking chair. There were ten windows including an attic window. The second-floor windows had ecru colored curtains and windowsills decorated with fresh begonias with exception to the two windows in the center which had curtains as yellow as daffodils. The walkway was rose quartz and limestone with shimmering bits of granite. There was the burnt orange, pink, red and white azalea bushes, hydrangeas rhododendrons blue zenith and ten distinct varieties of flowers in various sizes, shapes, and colors. To the right stood another walkway beyond the tree to the right of the house which was accented with an adorned archway centered over a walkway which led to nowhere or somewhere. “Time to go in”, she trudged toward the door and did a double take when she noticed a petite woman with shocking pink hair lounging on the white bench in front of the willow tree. She stepped forward and almost knocked over a tall, robust man with midnight black curly hair and bright dark eyes. “Oh, forgive me. I was still blinded by the beauty. The property she gestured not the girl on the bench.” He chuckled, following her eyes. “No problem, I’m mesmerized as well. I too am a member of the dream group.” She shook his hand. “Pleased to meet you. I’m Marigold.” “You go first please.” Ernesto said. He nodded as he held the door open and adjusted the strap of his carry-on so it would be more comfortable on his shoulder. “Thank you. Ernesto,” she smiled as they proceeded inside the lush vestibule. There was a sign to the left that read, Place your luggage here. Be sure to add on name tags. Then proceed to the lobby where other instructions await on the four tables. They followed the instructions and pushed forward to the first table. They noticed color coded name tags with matching room keys. There was also a red arrow pointing to Table 2. They heard a bustled behind them as they moved on. “Hi, guys.” came a deep voice behind them. “I'm David… David Kensington and this is Cheyenne Lightfoot.” “Yeah, we met at the train station and shared a Lyft.” Cheyenne said as she pushed past David and snatched her name tag and keys. “Game on! ”Umm, we're the first ones here I guess.” There were three other name tags left. She adorned her jacket with the name tag and rushed toward the next table. Ernesto and David shrugged and gestured for Marigold to continue. “So much for good manners, “David grumbled loud enough for everyone to hear. Cheyenne had already read the instructions for Table 2. They were told to select a favorite chair that they could use in the sleep presentation chamber. She made her selection and emailed it to the website although she was still undecided about the color’. When she looked up, she realized the three members behind her had already proceeded to Table 3. “Geesh, this isn't a race. Some people need more manners.” David, Marigold, and Ernesto looked back and noticed two other women at Table one retrieving their name tags. “Oh, she’s the one who was sitting outside. I remember the pink hair and the names on the last name tags. They must be Alexia and Princess. I wonder if they know each other?” Marigold said as she walked up to Table 3. Ernesto and David were peering into the medium size cardboard box. They were instructed to select one folded paper. “Ladies first,” they said together. “No, I think I'm going to be the gracious one this time. David shook his head and reached in for a slip of paper. “Woo hoo, I’m number one!” David shouted. Ernesto was next and then Marigold. Shortly after Cheyenne arrived and reached in. Cheyenne read the instructions. “This number represents the order of your dream presentation” “Damn” growled David. I’m going first. “I'm 4, Ernesto chimed. “I'm right behind you David, Cheyenne said, “I'm number 2.” Princess and Alexia stepped up to the box and reluctantly retrieved their slips of paper. “I think I'm last” Princess said, “number 8.”” I’m lucky number 7,” shouted Alexia. They heard a scuffle at the front door and noticed the man trying to handle four pieces of luggage without much success. They all laughed and preceded to Table 4. “I guess he plans on sleeping his life away”, Princess said. “I don't know maybe he brought some dream enhancers” Cheyenne added. “What are those?” Ernesto asked.” “There’s no such thing. I was just kidding.” She laughed. “Don’t be too sure. maybe they have made some scientific advancements in the field of dream study.” David offered. The dream group headed for Table 4. Table four’s instructions for the group were to continue their journey at their leisure. There were brochures on the table with information about dream interpretation, the REM syndrome, the layout of the establishment, the floor plan with directions to the exercise room and sauna, the spa, inside swimming pool, library, entertainment room for gaming and streaming, a movie theater and then outside tennis, volleyball, basketball courts, and a golf course. The man with the four pieces of luggage collapsed in front of the group. He panted like a wild animal. After a few breaths he said, “this place is fantastic!”. I'm Jason Lee Jones, but you can call me ‘number 5’”. Let’s do this!” he shouted giving Ernesto and David high fives. He was heading for Alexia and Cheyenne, but they backed away graciously. “What happened to number 3? Cheyenne asked. Right ahead of them stood a posh- looking restaurant., “I am starving!” exclaimed Alexia. Ernesto said, Yeah, let’s go eat.” Princess said,” I guess after that we can decide what activities we want to engage in” “And Cheyenne, Alexia offered, you can search the grounds for number 3.” I’m just kidding, c’mon join the group.” The rest of the group chuckled as they all entered the restaurant together. When they walked in, they saw a lanky young man wearing aviator shades sitting at a large circular table devouring a huge cobb salad. He gestured for them to come over. “Hi everybody, I am doctor Moon… Aiden Moon, number 3. Everything's buffet style. Why don't you grab your food and come over to join me? When everybody sat down at the table, David shook Moon’s hand. “How long have you been here man? you look oddly well rested.” he asked. “I got here at 4AM. I crashed for at least four hours upstairs on the second floor in my cozy room. The accommodations are as good as a five-star hotel. Heated bathroom tile, jacuzzi, king-sized beds, duvet covers…and much, much more. I opened the windows, and the view was astounding. You’ll see. Hopefully, soon. I came back down to get something to eat. I see you all have different tastes. There’s burgers, sushi, shrimps and grits, chicken and waffles…he pointed at Cheyenne’s dish, and I don’t even want to know what you’re eating.” Cheyenne slurped and winked at him. For the next couple of minutes everybody was silent chowing down. Cheyenne gulped a few sips of water and said “I think I'm going to follow your lead Aiden. I'm going to take a shower and try to relax.” “I'm going outside to shoot some hoops Ernesto shouted, anybody want to join me.” “Sure”, David offered. “Count me in too, “said Jason. “I’m going to the gym” Marigold interjected. Aiden quipped; “the gym sounds good as he rubbed his stomach. I’m stuffed and I need a workout.” “I think I’m going to the library, Alexia added. “Princess said, “I’m not sure where I'm going.” “You can join us Ernesto shouted we need another player.” She answered, “Ok, I think I need to change…” A voice from a speaker interrupted, “Welcome beautiful dreamers, your last instruction is to deposit all electronic devices in the lockers outside of the gaming room. You’ll received them back after the dream study group has ended. Have a pleasant evening have and be ready to report for your first presentation at 8 A.M. for Dream One. Mr. Kensington if you step outside to the right of the restaurant and take the corridor to the left, there's a long narrow hall. When you're ready to retire for the evening, there's a room especially made for those who are presenting their dreams the next day. The dream room is equipped with amber light, sensitive sounds conducive for sleep, and a bamboo mattress and heat sensitive linen. The walls are lined with proper ventilation panels. If any of you have further inquiries, please list them, and place them on the metal locked boxes outside of your rooms. I wish for all of you good dreams. Good night, sleep tight, and don’t let… Well, I think you know the rest.” The sleep study group studied each other’s reactions. They were stunned. All a handful of mouths slack jawed and gaping, and eyes widely opened. No one moved. Then everybody scrambled, and began running in five different directions, not quite ready to get their dreams on.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.