Fiction logo

Dream Sequence

Dream 8: The Man of My Dreams

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Dream 8: The Man of My Dreams

“On the first day of Christmas,” Princess stood on her beige Adirondack chair belting out her favorite Christmas tune. “My true love gave to me.” She outstretched her arms and waved an imaginary baton as if she was conducting a church choir. Everybody stared wide-eyed. Some of the members of the dream study group joined in as she ended the first chorus, “A partridge in a pear tree.” Princess tried to balance her body, which was hard to do on one prosthetic leg and a wounded arm from an explosion in the Iraq war. She had completed two tours of duty before the accident. They members of the sleep study group all stood and cheered as Princess hopped off her chair, wrapped her camo jacket around her waist, and danced around the room. David, Aiden, and Ernesto formed a circle and pranced around Princess as she waltzed and twirled in the center of the ring. Alexia and Marigold ran over and joined her in the center. Jason and Cheyenne remained seated but clapped to the beat of the lively, but traditional Christmas song. “Miss Lovejoy, the voice from the speaker spoke, do you sing in your sleep?” Princess immediately halted her performance and plopped down in her chair exhausted and embarrassed. She wrapped a throw accented with colorful nutcrackers around her shoulders and pulled her legs up in a bow. She pulled a juicy Bartlett pear out of her backpack and bit down hard sending juices in a trajectory, some of them spilling down on her chin. I have a pear tree in my backyard. If anyone needs a snack, feel free to help yourself. I brought some with me. They’re on the refreshment table in the back. Far healthier than a slice of chocolate cake. The group chuckled. She wiped her mouth and began her dream story. “Good day everyone, are you get ready for Christmas in summer?” She laughed. “In my dream, I was lounging at my kitchen table enjoying some Earl Grey iced tea and buttery, shortbread cookies. The doorbell rang and I pushed up out of my state of chill. It was the mailman. Harrison usually waited for me to retrieve the mail. We had been talking for three of the five years that he was my carrier. I recalled that I did most of the talking. He was a good listener. I watched him hop back in his truck, shrugged, grabbed the mail from out of the mailbox and took it back to the table. There were a few bills, junk mail, and a bright crimson envelope. With eyes wide, I opened it first. It was a Christmas card. How strange was that! A Christmas card in 90-degree weather. I flipped the card from side-to-side and front to back. There was no return address. Curious, I tore it open and read the inscription. It was mysteriously signed ‘the man of your dreams.’ Princess peered into the eyes of her companions. “I'm dreaming and I get a Christmas card from the man of my dreams. I wondered who could have sent the card. The signature was unrecognizable to me, and I hadn't had the company of a man for a couple of years now. I was a hard-working employee trying to use my ambition to get from salesclerk to manager, so I literally had no time for friends, family, significant others, boyfriends, girlfriends, frenemies… well, you get the picture.” “Ok, TMI, back to the dream people. I reexamined the card searching for clues. There was a snowy outside scene on the back. Billowy white snow and tree limbs covered completely with snow and icicles. On the front of a card there was a beautifully decorated house and three figures making snow angels. Santa Claus, Mrs. Claus, and Rudolph, the Red Nose Reindeer. This Christmas card made me smile and feel warm inside. I still didn't know who ‘the man of my dreams’ could be. So, who are you Mr. Dreamy? I thought about the significant men in my life, and I couldn't for the life of me figure out who ‘the man of my dreams’ could be. For the next twelve days, I received gifts from ‘the man of my dreams.’ Each gift was a token of affection, which further touched my heart. The first gift was a large box of different flavored dark chocolate. There was raspberry, orange, mint, coconut, and peanut butter. As I sampled the flavors, I thought about Michael, the blues singer who was tall, lean but athletic. He was a chocolate delight. And I love dark chocolate. He sported a bald head and wore one gold stud. I don't think he ever took it off, but I'll never tell. The second gift was a lavender aromatic soy candle. I immediately lit the candle inhaling the deliciously soothing aroma. I thought about another candidate who smelled just as delicious as the candle. He could be Gabe. Gabe had bushy red hair and eyebrows that matched. He played Rugby from dawn to dusk. I wasn’t all that fond of rugby, I’m more of an NFL football fanatic. What we liked together was sushi and haiku. I still had his rugby green and white pull over in my hall closet. On the third day, I received a small black jewelry box. When I opened it, I yelled and jumped up for joy. It was a blueish purple, orange-red, gold shiny butterfly pin. I immediately opened the clasp and pinned it on my t shirt. Strange you say, but it was summertime and too hot for a sweater. On day four, I received a pink box which held a blue and white decorated can of hibiscus tea leaves that I immediately steamed. I could hardly wait a good four minutes. I think I brewed it for just two and a half and plopped in some crushed ice. I can’t forget about my tea drinking truck driver Raoul. His hair was shoulder length, and he was kind of stocky. Most of the weekends he was away. But when he was in town, we enjoyed spicy Indian food and old movies. On the fifth day, I received a plush stuffed Unicorn. I love stuffed animals and the unicorn is my spirit animal. On the sixth day, I received a pair of fuzzy socks. I immediately put them on because my feet are always cold… whether its summer, spring, falls, or winter. The socks were the color of the Jamaican flag and Kingsley came to mind. I'd met him on a cruise to the Bahamas. By some coincidence and serendipity, we rekindled our friendship when we ran across each other at a reggae festival the next summer. He cooked four straight months for me, and I enjoyed his jerk chicken, goat meat and fried plantains. I gained 15 pounds before I bid him adieu. On the seventh day, I received a bag of my favorite nuts, jumbo cashews, and a case of natural spring water on the eighth. I received a purple journal, a packet of thank you cards, and a fine tipped ink pen on the ninth, tenth and eleventh days respectively. I ran out of men I could equate my gifts too as well. It was now the last day and I still didn't know who ‘the man of my dreams’ was. So, I decided on the twelfth day to don my deerstalker after I received the copy of the e. e. cummings collected works of poetry. I was really confused. Whoever this person was this ‘man of my dreams,’ knew me from head to toe and inside and out. He could see into my very soul and figured out what gifts I would love. This dreamboat was the perfect man of my dreams. I thought about these men in my life, and I was determined to hunt for more clues. It didn’t matter that they were no longer men in my life or even that we parted, one of them could still be the man of my dreams. The doorbell rang and started me. I rushed to the door. The mailman, I barely remembered his name was an average height man medium build. He had a small close- cropped Afro, bushy eyebrows, a thin mustache in a wide grin. He had delivered another package and appeared to be eager to make a quick retreat. ‘Wait a minute,’ I said.’ He looked reluctant to turn around. ‘Is this package from you?’ The mailman’s gaze was suspiciously sheepish. ‘It was you! all this time. I clucked my tongue. ‘You sent me that Christmas card signed, the man of your dreams! Didn’t you?’ his shoulders slumped, and his brown have eyes met hers for the first time. I know quite a bit about little things and bigger things…your likes dislikes, career goals, etc. I hoped to be the man of your dreams. But trust me, I’m no stalker. I blushed and said, ‘You’ve been the perfect man for me, the man of my dreams but now I really need to step up to fulfill ‘the woman of your dreams’ position. I have been talking, talking, and talking and you’ve been listening, and I know nothing about your likes, dislikes, career goals, etc. I, from this day forward intend to make that up to you. Please, I don’t even know your whole name.’ My name is Simon Harrison. Simon, please come to dinner after your shift. I would love to hear everything about you. This ‘man of my dreams’ concept can’t work unless we reciprocate. I intend on making it happen…to be the true woman of your dreams.” Simon reached for her hand and kissed it softly, ‘I can hardly wait. It’s all I dream about.’

Princess hugged herself and exclaimed for all to hear. “My dream, everybody. Hoped you enjoyed it. I have a new song now. Join in if you know the words”

On the first day of Christmas in Summer the man of my dreams gave to me Dark chocolate, very yummy.

On the second day of Christmas in Summer he gave a scented lavender candle smells so sweet.

On the third day of Christmas in Summer, he also sent to me a winged butterfly ooh pretty.

On the fourth day of Christmas in Summer, he gave me hibiscus robust tea.

On the fifth day of Christmas in Summer he sent to me a unicorn with a horn so pointy.

On the sixth day of Christmas in Summer he gave to me a pair of fuzzy socks for my cold feet.

On the seventh and eighth days of Christmas in Summer my man mailed me cashews and water such a tasty treat.

On the ninth, tenth, and eleventh days of Christmas in Summer he gifted me a journal, pen, and stationary.

On the twelfth day of Christmas in Summer, my perfect man sent to me heartfelt poetry.

And the man ‘an of my dreams!

Princess was grinning from ear to ear when she stood up and curtsied to her friends of the sleep study group who were all mesmerized by Princess’s romantic dream. “Well done, Miss Lovejoy. Now we know that Christmas in Summer dreams may someday come true too.”

Series
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.