Fiction logo

Dragons In The Valley - Quest For the Blue Chest.

Father is dead. Son gets a vision. Sister is wounded.

By Rajaroy Joseph AlphonsePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

"There weren't always dragons in the Valley", grumbles VINCENT GRANDOR.

Vincent Grandor: Look what has happened to our beloved valley that gave us everything. It's stale, dark and vile. Who's fault is it?

Vincent's son BORNIO GRANDOR rubs a healing potion on his dying father's chest.

Bornio: Some things change and some things don't.

Vincent: What in God's name are you talking about, son? Our family was guarding the valley for centuries.

Bornio: That was a long time ago, father.

Vincent: Don't you see it son? We can change it all. We can bring the valley into its past glory.

Bornio: Father, you must rest now.

Vincent: Promise me that you'll protect the valley after me.

Bornio: There's nothing there for us. And there's nothing there to protect. It's all gone. We must move on, father.

Vincent: Take your sister along with you, and find the Blue Chest. Undo what was done to our family.

Bornio: Father!

Vincent takes his last breath and closes his sad eyes.

Bornios's sister MARTHA GRANDOR sits next to their father.

Martha: Everyone spits on our face. Do you know why?

Bornio: 'cos we are the Grandors.

Martha: No. They spit on our face 'cos they don't know anything about Grandors.

Bornio: Sister, I'll call the elders for the burial. And I'll not hear one more word about the valley. I hope you understand me.

Martha: Brother, our father was not lying. There is a real map that can guide us to the Blue Chest. I know where to find it but I can't do it myself.

Bornio: Our mother died when she was still young. You know who's fault it is? I'll never forgive our father for what he did to her.

Martha: What are you talking about? He tried everything to save her.

Bornio: He didn't do enough. All he wanted was to save his family's legacy which blinded him.

Martha: But mother was happy with our father. She would rather die a hundred times than staying away from father and us.

Bornio: Even if there's a way to find the Blue Chest, I'm not willing to pursue it. I'm going to call upon the elders now.

Martha: I'm leaving.

Bornio: Leave after the burial, if you must.

Martha: Father's dead. I don't believe in the afterlife. You take care of the burial.

Bornio: Where are you heading to?

Martha: To the North, to see uncle BASHIR.

By evening, Bornio is lying unconsciously on the ground, next to a burning hut. The ferociously growing fire is about to consume him. That's when, a pair of hands grabs Bornio's legs and drags him away from the place. By the time Bornio opens his eyes, it is next day.

Bornio: Where am I?

RACHEL BLINDER is young and strong.

Rachel: You're in my house.

Bornio: Where are the dragons?

Rachel: They're gone. You're safe now.

Bornio: What about the elders?

Rachel: The dragons consumed them all. You were the only person alive and I saved your life. Please, eat the bread.

Bornio: I must leave.

Rachel: You barely have the strength to walk.

Bornio: Rachel, you've always helped our family. I owe you my life.

Rachel: You don't owe me anything. What happened out there?

Bornio: I need to find my sister. She's in danger. She's gone to meet uncle BASHIR.

Rachel: But why is she in danger?

Bornio: She is after the Blue Chest.

Rachel: The Blue Chest is not real.

Bornio: It is, Rachel. When I was lying almost dead on the ground I had a vision of my mother. She told me that the chest is real and she asked me to protect my sister from the dangers that she is about to face. You know about my visions, Rachel? They are warning signs.

On the other side, sister Martha is struggling to breathe. She's bleeding from the freshly inflicted wounds on her neck. Hiding behind an oak tree, she is keeping a watchful eye around her. The wind is picking speed and the trees in the jungle are swaying, rather monstrously. Martha quickly turns around as she hears the rose bushes move. A pair of wolf eyes appear from behind the bushes.

In the flick of a moment, it leaps out into the air. Hair, thick and matted as dead wool. Eyes, big as glazing embers. Teeth, sharp as broken rocks. Size, big as a wild ox.

She GASPS.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.