Fiction logo

"Dragons Bringing The End Of Time As We Have Known It"

Can we ever be sure that this will not happen again? I heard that tune a long time ago!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5
"Dragons Bringing The End Of Time As We Have Known It"
Photo by Conscious Design on Unsplash

There weren't always dragons in the Valley. I captured this photo as a group of us were running for cover! I could not pass it up. I was thinking as I took this photo, am I crazy? Do I want to die?

No, I am not crazy and I do not want to die. I just couldn't help myself, it has been my livelihood for 25 years and I am used to getting photos of wartime, a real risktaker and that is what this is really, right?

I thought at one time that the armed forces would end this fairly quickly but it hasn't and it won't. The end of the world may happen before it ends. The ice age maybe? The thought is that this is where the dragons and other creatures have come from. The big thaw.

With very little drinking water, with many being forced to live underground, how will we survive? The trees appear lush and green, much of nature will survive. What about human life? It isn't looking good right now.

I would ordinarily have a small garden and can and freeze much of it for the winter months. Then I would visit the farmers market from May to October to provide much of my daily staples.

When I shop the grocery stores, I shop organic and stay away from much of the processed food in them. Now, grocery stores are not open. Trucks and trains are not running to haul materials from one place to another. It is risking life and limb.

We are out of touch with the major news programs, papers, technology is not up and running. It is word of mouth for the most part and no one really knows what is happening or what we can do to survive.

And we thought the pandemic was bad news! Running out of toilet paper and paper products was nothing in comparison to what is going on now! My family will keep moving and hope to find a place where we can be free of the daily battles happening now.

We have to travel at night and stay undercover during the day. That is our only chance right now. Don't get me wrong, dragons can see at night. They just aren't out as much as they are during the day. We know enough to help us to survive for now.

Our next stop is my buddy's place in the next town. He may have heard something that will help. And then again, he may not be there. He may have had to leave his home too. He lives in the country, so we are hopeful that he will still be there without any disturbance and we may stay there.

Everyone is tired and hoping to find a place soon to rest and feel safe. There is no safe place and I believe most of us already know that.

Just as I thought that a creature came flying by and noticed us. As we thought we were doomed, the dragon saw the creature and blew out some fire and the creature landed in a heap right next to where we were. The dragon appeared to be resting and not much interested in us.

We all moved into some brush and got to the ground to find cover. We would have to move out slowly, not to attract any more attention.

I asked if everyone was ready to move and they all were in agreement that it was time we got away from the dragon and other creatures that may find us here. We agreed our best bet was to go deep into the woods until dark. Then we would move in the direction of my friend in the next town.

If we could go through the woods to his house that would be best. Hope we can map it out by using the few tools we have with us!

Fantasy
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Steve Lance2 years ago

    Enjoyed your story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.