Fiction logo

Dragon of the Forest

A fantasy prologue

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
21
https://www.amightygirl.com/giant-plush-dragon

There weren't always dragons in the valley - well, not real ones anyway.

When I was four, my dad gave me a green, stuffed dragon. I named the soft toy Dray. I carried Dray around with me for a year. We had great adventures. We searched for treasure. We fought Mono, the one-eyed monster, which was actually a teddybear which had lost a button eye. And we flew - with the aid of a tire swing.

My dad told me one night as he was tucking me in, "Willy, you keep Dray with you, and he'll protect you."

Then, when I was five, just before I was to start "real" school, my dad disappeared. He dropped me off at daycare and didn't show up for work. Everyone in our small town helped search for him. There were pleas on the radio, and photos of him were put up everywhere. He was never found.

A month later, when I was at the grocery store with my grandma, I heard a lady whisper from an adjacent line say, "Poor, dear boy! First his mom gets that horrible cancer, and now this."

I went to live with my grandparents on my dad's side. Their place smelled funny, kind of like the vet's office where we took a stray dog. They pretty much ignored me, but I didn't mind. Behind their house was where I spent my time.

There, beyond their grassy lawn, I found my sanctuary. It was a forest I was certain was enchanted. A cool, clear stream meandered through the many varying trees. My childhood music came from birds and animals chattering overhead. Once in a while, I swore I heard the wind calling my name in an airy tone, "Wiiillliiiaaammm."

As I grew, Dray became a distant memory, forgotten in a box in my closet.

When I was 15, I got my first girlfriend, Sherry. Like me, her home life was less than ideal. Her dad was an angry drunk, and her mom was afraid to leave. Sherry was the first person with whom I shared the forest. She loved it as I did. Two years later, we lost our virginity on a blanket spread out in our favorite forest clearing. Afterward, we rested on our backs, holding hands.

Staring at the clouds, Sherry asked, "What's your fondest memory?"

"Other than right now?" I squeezed her hand. I considered the question before answering, "I'd have to say, 'Dray.'"

She rolled onto her stomach, crinkling her eyebrows. "What's a Dray?"

"He was my stuffed dragon when I was a kid. I loved that little guy."

"Do you still have him?"

"Yes, he's in a box."

"I want to see him. Will you go get him?"

I sneered. "I'm enjoying our time together."

"Come on, Will, please?" She batted her eyelashes. She was irresistible.

"Oh, all right." I started putting on my clothes. "I'll be back in 10 minutes or so." I gave her a cheeky grin. "Don't bother putting your clothes back on."

I ran like a gazelle, bounding over every obstacle. When I opened the back sliding door, I found my grandparents watching a game show. Grandma asked, "Are you having a good time with your friend, Will?"

"Yeah, sure, Grandma. [If she only knew...] She wants to see my stuffed dragon."

"Take some cookies with you so you two won't get hungry running around outside."

"Thanks, Grandma. I will."

I found the worn-out box in my closet. Dray was under some old school photos. No way was I showing Sherry those goofy smiles. I grabbed a couple of homemade peanut butter cookies from the plate on the kitchen counter and called, "See you later." I stuffed one extra cookie in my mouth.

Back at the clearing, I was disappointed to see that Sherry had put her clothes on. When she saw my expression, she said, "I was getting cold. You can warm me up again in a bit. Let me see Dray." She held him out and then snuggled him. "He's adorable! I see why he brings back fond memories." She inspected him. "Hey, what's this word on the tag?"

She handed him back. I shrugged. "I never noticed this before. Strange. X.A.N.D.R.O.T.H.O.N. I suppose the X is pronounced like a Z. Cool word. Xandrothon."

The instant I said it, a howling wind raged and someone turned out the sun.

Sherry grabbed me and screamed, "What's happening?"

I yelled, "I don't know."

We held onto each other for dear life, closing our eyes tightly.

After what felt like the longest minute in history, the wind ceased, and the light returned. We slowly broke our embrace and looked around. The forest looked much the same, but then we heard a strange animal sound. We looked up and saw -- a real, live dragon!

We gaped at the giant creature whose green scales glistened like shimmering water. Then we noticed that a man was riding him like a horse. He shouted down to us, "You there! Stay put. We're coming down. We mean you no harm."

The dragon stalled, much like a bird, and then landed gracefully, and surprisingly softly for such a massive creature. The man jumped and slid down the dragon's leg. He smiled and held his arms out, saying, "Welcome, visitors! I haven't seen..."

He stopped short. We stared at each other. I couldn't believe my eyes.

I whispered, "Dad?"

He looked at the cookies in my hand. His eyes welled up. "My mom used to make peanut butter cookies." He looked into my eyes. "Willie, is that really you?"

I ran to him, pulling him into a tight hug. My own tears were falling. I was so happy to see my father was alive.

He held me at arm's length and looked me up and down. "You're all grown up." His gaze dropped to the forest floor. "I'm sorry I couldn't find my way home."

"Where are we?"

"Well, I don't rightly know, but based on the fact that this place has two moons and lots of crazy creatures, it's either another planet or some alternate reality." He noticed Sherry standing five feet away. "Who's your friend?"

I grabbed Sherry's hand and pulled her forward a bit. "Dad, this is my girlfriend, Sherry. Sherry, this is my dad."

Sherry, who was leery of strange men, stayed partially behind me, but she waved and said, "Hi."

Dad said, "Nice to meet you." He looked around the clearing. "We'd better get out of here before Mono comes around. I'm pretty sure Dray can carry all of us, can't you, boy?" He patted the dragon's nuzzle.

I looked at the stuffed creature, still in my left hand, and then back up at the giant dragon before me.

For now, I was willing to put them off, but I had lots of questions for my dad.

Fantasy
21

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Soli2 years ago

    Magical, I can’t wait to read more! I still have the stuffed bear my mom bought for me when I was “a little.”

  • Dylan Crice2 years ago

    Very well written and enjoyable read.

  • I very much enjoyed this prologue and am curious what happens next.

  • This was so awesome and please I need to read more of this story

  • Lori Lamothe2 years ago

    Really enjoyed this!

  • Angel Whelan2 years ago

    I love the name mono for a bad guy! This could definitely become a real book. Nice work!

  • Sarah St.Erth2 years ago

    magic,mystery, love, this was sweet and engaging🌹

  • Jason Hauser2 years ago

    well written!

  • A great read - original 😊

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Very unique and compelling story. Definitely want to hear more!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Love this one. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely tale!!!👏💖😊💕

  • Really enjoyed this and love that plush dragon and Xandrothon is a great word

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.