Fiction logo

Dr. Cavern

The therapist

By Isis Lyons Published 2 years ago 8 min read
1
Dr. Cavern
Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

“I’m sick.”

Renee murmurs.

“Why do you believe you’re sick?”

Her therapist questions.

“I’ve told you the type of dreams I’ve been having. I told you that I feel like a part of me is evil. Something has been growing inside of me; something dark. I don’t know if I should stay with my husband. I’m not the person I used to be.”

Renee rants.

“Have you been having the same dream of you hurting people or did you dream something different this time?”

Her therapist asks.

“My last dream wasn’t just me hurting people, it was me killing people I knew back in high school.”

Renee pleads.

“I know, but you didn’t answer my question. Did you dream something different this time?”

Her therapist inquires.

“I killed my husband in this dream.”

Renee agonizes.

Renee’s heart fell to the floor, and her tears ran down her face like a river stream. She is terrified of what she could do to people.

“Why do you think you’re having these dreams?” Her therapist questions.

“I don’t know. Why do you think I’m here?” Renee asks.

“I’m not here to tell you what’s wrong with you. I’m here to listen to you. I’m here to help you discover your feelings.” The therapist states.

“Fine, you want to know what I’m feeling? I feel like killing everyone! I feel like killing my husband, I feel like killing my old classmates, I even feel like killing you! I feel like killing everyone who’s ever hurt me! YOU SEE HOW I FEEL NOW?” Renee shouts.

“Why do you want to kill me? I never hurt you.” The therapist vows.

“You’re hurting me because you can’t tell me what’s wrong with me.” Renee cries.

“Okay, how about you tell me what your husband did to hurt you.” The therapist suggests.

“He doesn’t love me. He doesn’t look at me like he used to, and I know that bastard is cheating on me.” Renee admits.

“How do you know he’s cheating on you? Is it because he doesn’t look at you the same way or have you caught him with someone else?” The therapist questions.

“He just doesn’t treat me the same anymore.” Renee replies

“You didn’t answer my question, Renee.” The therapist states

“No, I didn't catch him cheating, Dr. Cavern” Renee mumbles

“Did you start having dreams about killing people when you started to feel like this towards him?” Dr. Cavern questions.

“No, I've had dreams about killing people since I was a kid. I’ve only dreamt about killing him once and it was after I started feeling like this.” Renee admits

“What was your life like when you were a child?” Dr. Cavern asks

“It was pretty good, I had a boring suburban household. My mom was a stay at home mom and my dad worked in construction.” Renee replies

“Do you have any siblings?” Dr. Cavern asks.

“Yes, I have two sisters. They are both younger than me.” Renee responds.

“Do you still talk to your family?” Dr. Cavern questions.

“Sometimes I talk to my youngest sister, but my parents died. My other sister doesn’t talk to us.” Renee says.

“How did your parents die? And why doesn’t your sister speak to you?” Dr. Cavern questioned

“Why are you asking me so many questions about my family? Why is that important right now? I’m here to find out why I’ve been having killing fantasies. I want to know if I’m crazy. I want to know if I need some sort of medication. Do I need to go to the mental hospital?”

Renee rambles

“I’m asking you about your past because you told me you’ve been having these fantasies since you were a kid. How young did you start having these fantasies?” Dr. Cavern declared.

“I’ve been having these fantasies ever since I was a teenager in high school; I was 15 years old to be exact. I used to kill cats, I used to gut them open and look at their insides. This was around the time I was dissecting frogs in science class. Those were beautiful memories.” Renee grins

“Do you have any beautiful memories at home?” Dr. Cavern wheedles.

“There was a time when my parents were out of town and they left us money for food and ice cream. Me and my sisters used to have movie and game nights on those types of occasions. When they left us alone at home we always had a blast.” Renee grins.

“Do you have any other good memories with your sisters and your parents?” Dr. Cavern entreats.

Renee looks at Dr. Cavern with hatred all over her face. Renee didn’t want to talk about her parents or the past. She was over the past, she wanted to move on.

Renee sits in silence, she thinks to herself;

“This woman is really getting on my last nerve. Maybe she should be the next one on my hit list. I’m getting tired of everyone bullying me and not helping me at all. It’s like they’re asking for a knife to be in their throats, right? It’s time for me to start killing. She’s asking me questions I don’t want to answer and she knows that. She’s trying to push my buttons.”

“Renee, I apologize for asking you questions that are making you feel uncomfortable. I’m just trying to find out the root of the problem. You want me to help you, but that requires me to know you. If you want to end our session here, I’ll refund you your money and we can just go on with our lives. I need to learn more about you, so I can help you understand why you’re having these fantasies.” Dr. Cavern assures.

“My parents died because my father killed my mom and himself. They were both crack heads, but my father was insane. He used to molest my younger sister, the one that I don’t speak to. I don’t talk to her because she doesn’t want to be talked to. I guess she hates me because I didn’t do anything to help her. I just didn’t want him to start raping me again. I know it was selfish and terrible, but I couldn’t deal with that pain anymore. I’m not going to lie I was kind of relieved when he started to rape her and not me. Am I evil for that? Renee trembled.

“Do you think you’re evil, Renee?” Dr. Cavern probed.

“I don’t fucking know. Again, why in the hell do you think I’m here? It’s like you’re not even helping me. You’re only asking me questions that I came here to ask.” Renee snapped.

“The truth is therapy is not a place where you get diagnosed. It’s a place where you discover yourself by saying all the things you want to say, but don’t. This is a place where you’re not judged for being who you are. It’s a place to tell your story. I can’t tell you your story.” Dr. Cavern argued.

Renee looks at Dr. Cavern in amazement. Renee finally understands what Dr. Cavern is telling her.

“I get it now. This whole time you’ve been asking me the questions I want know because I’m the only one with the answers. No one else's opinion dictates who I am. Maybe I was becoming crazy because I kept listening to everyone else tell me who I am and who I am supposed to be.” Renee boasted.

Dr. Cavern sat across from Renee with the widest smile. Her heart was filled with so much love and happiness. She felt like she accomplished something with her client.

“I’m happy you came to that realization, Renee.” Dr. Cavern grinned.

“My whole life I was filled with so much anger and hatred, but maybe that’s what my problem was. I was a coward. I regret letting my sister get touched, I regret not killing my father myself. I hated the kids at my school because they never used to speak to me or compliment me. They used to just stare at me like I was some type of weirdo, but maybe I was. I honestly feel like if I didn’t go through what I went through with my dad and my mom, I would be so happy right now. How can I be happy?” Renee questioned.

“There’s nothing in your life right now that makes you happy? Dr. Cavern asked

“My husband made me happy, but I don’t know what happened to us. I have a dog and he makes me happy, but I’m starting to feel like I’m losing my purpose.” Renee admitted.

“Well, what do you like to do for fun?” Dr. Cavern inquired.

“I like to cook, clean, and dissect things.” Renee replied.

“How come you don’t become a cook? Or a veterinarian, or a doctor?” Dr. Cavern requested.

“All of my life I’ve doubted myself, I hated everyone and I honestly thought I would kill someone by now. Do you really think I can do those things?.” Renee questioned.

“You can do anything you put your mind to. Just do it and see what happens.” Dr. Cavern declared.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.