Fiction logo

Donovan's Barn - Part Eight

Another Proposal

By Julie BuchyPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
1
Donovan's Barn - Part Eight
Photo by Austin on Unsplash

Well here it is, part eight of Donovan's Barn...at least for now! If you are interested in reading the other parts that came previously they are linked below: Part one. Part two. Part three. Part four. Part five. Part six. Part seven.

*****

Rachel and Trenton had now been part of the Taftsville community for almost half a year. Spring was a beautiful time in this area and nothing was more exciting to Rachel as she walked around her yard and property. Today she noticed a row of tulips along the back edge of the flower beds alongside the house, emerging their new stems to the sunlight. Soon they would open their colorful blossoms to the world. Other perennials were also showing life in the many flowerbeds Mrs. Donovan had created in years past.

A car drove into the yard and the driver sounded the horn. Rachel turned her head and saw that her father had arrived. She went over to greet him as he stepped out of the vehicle. “Good morning, Dad,” she said cheerily and gave him her usual peck on the cheek. “What brings you here?” she asked.

“Thought I would come by and see what your plans are for your new flower garden,” Lyle said. “Came to offer some help and guidance if you want to take it.”

Rachel looked at him and chuckled. “Seems you still have your super powers, Dad. I could really use your help and insight. I want it to be a spectacular sight all summer long.”

“I knew you were going to say that, Rachel,” he said. “You’ve always admired my flower garden so I thought I’d give you a hand. I also consulted Helen on this. Who would know more about that garden space?” Rachel was not surprised. It seemed that her dad and Mrs. Donovan had been spending a lot of time together these days and she was glad that they were. Companionship was so important at any age.

“I’ve come prepared with some preliminary drawings.” He handed her some papers. “I think you’ll approve.” Then he added, “I’ve even considered a few fruit trees. Peaches, mostly; and, to honor your mother, a golden pear tree in that spot just at the opening to the pond. She would be so very proud of your and this ambitious project you and Trenton have undertaken.”

Photo courtesy of Dreamstime.com

“These are amazing, Dad.” Rachel kept flipping through the sheets Lyle had given her. “What an awesome surprise! And the idea of the pear tree honoring Mom is absolutely perfect.

***

Besides gardening, Rachel was thinking about planning another event in Donovan’s Barn. The Halloween dance had been a success, as had the Christmas skating party and the other afternoon skating events that they had held throughout the winter. Even without an event, the pond was well used over the winter months as an outdoor skating venue for families and sweethearts, but as far as the barn was concerned, It was likely that any events that were already planned could not change venues, so Rachel hoped that as the year progressed people would start booking some of their events at the barn.

That day came sooner than Rachel had hoped. Her phone rang. She looked at the call display. “Mike Martin” was written across the top of her phone. Rachel swiped the phone and clicked the button to answer the call. “Rachel Mitchell speaking.”

“Hi Rachel, I’m not sure if you remember me. I was a few years ahead of you in high school,” the male voice told her.

“Of course, I remember you, Mike,” Rachel responded. “How have you been?”

“We’ve been well, thanks,” he answered and continued. “We were at your Halloween dance last fall and thought you guys have done a great job with Donovan’s Barn. Someone told me that you are booking it out for events, so I was calling for some information.”

“We are booking events in the barn, Mike. What kind of event are you considering?” Rachel transformed into her professional self.

“Well, my son is graduating from Taftsville High School the end of June. There’s a parent’s organizing committee set up to coordinate a graduation celebration for this year’s grads. Some of those parents want to go the city for a swanky affair, but I suggested doing something locally instead and said I would contact you about doing something in Donovan’s Barn, like we used to in the old days.”

Image courtesy of pngkey.com

“What a great idea, Mike,” Rachel said. “We did have some amazing events at the barn, that’s for sure. Why don’t you give me the details of what you would like to see and then I will take your information and customize the event for you. I can give you a quote in day or two, if you’re okay with that. We are still new at this so I will need some time. I might even need to ask a few more questions while I am in the process.”

“That would be great, Rachel, “Mike answered. “Our next meeting is on Friday, so any time before then would be great.” He gave her the basic details that he knew – the number of graduates, the number of families potentially involved, the color scheme, the dinner menu ideas, and a live band.

“That’s lots of information to start with, Mike. Thanks. Give me a few days and I will give you a quote to take back to your committee.”

Rachel hung up the phone and immediately called Mrs. Donovan. “We have an inquiry for an event!” She was so excited to be sharing the news. “The parents’ organizing committee of the high school graduation requested a quote on a graduation dinner and dance.”

“That is wonderful news, dear,” said Mrs. Donovan. I’m sure we can come up with something very competitive. And just think, by the end of June your flower garden will be in full bloom. What a lovely photo spot for the kids!”

“That’s exactly what I thought too, “replied Rachel. “How’s that coming by the way?” She laughed and then added, “I thought that when you sold the place it was because it was too much work for you.”

“It is coming along well, Rachel,” Mrs. Donovan answered. “Your father is so knowledgeable about plants and shrubs. Honestly, he’s doing the work and I only offer an opinion here and there. He’s become a nice companion for me.” A faint smile came to her face.

***

As promised, Rachel was able to provide Mike Martin with a quote to take to the next graduation planning meeting. He called her as soon as he meeting was concluded. “Rachel, the committee voted unanimously to have our graduation dinner and dance right here in Taftsville at Donovan’s Barn.”

“That’s such great news, Mike! I’m so excited to be planning an outside event!”

Rachel truly was very excited. This graduation event was an important one, not only for the Mitchells but also for Taftsville. It would very likely make or break the future of Donovan’s Barn as a viable venue for community events. She poured herself into planning the perfect celebration. As with past events, Mrs. Donovan was Rachel’s primary source of information and assistance. She made few, if any, decisions without consulting Mrs. DOnovan, yet somehow things seemed different. Mrs. Donovan had already admitted to Rachel that Lyle, Rachel’s father, had become a great companion for her. She spent a lot of time with him and was a primary decision maker into the development of the flower garden Rachel and Trenton had transformed the previous vegetable garden into. While Rachel was happy for both her father and Mrs. Donovan, she also had some concerns.

One day in late May, Rachel looked out the window and noticed that her father had come by. He was uncharacteristically alone so she wiped her hands on the towel and went out to greet him. “Hi, Dad!” she called out with a wave. “I notice you are alone today. Is Mrs. Donovan doing all right?”

“Hello, sweetheart,” Lyle responded. “Helen is fine. I spoke to her earlier but I didn’t tell her I was bringing over the pear tree sapling.” He paused. “I wanted to talk to you alone.”

Rachel’s eyes became wide and she wondered what her father wanted to tell her. “Well, we’re most certainly alone. What’s up?” She hoped the question sounded upbeat and unconcerned.

“It’s about Helen,” her father responded and then clarified, “it’s about Helen and me.”

“Go on,” said Rachel. Inwardly she was suspicious and wasn’t sure she liked where this conversation was going, but at the same time she was happy.

“As you can see, I have become quite fond of Helen, and I think the feeling is mutual,” he started. “She is a really wonderful lady and we love spending time together. As we worked together on your flower garden, I learned that her companionship was so very enjoyable that I do not want it to end.”

There was a very long pause. “So, what are you saying, Dad? Do you want Mrs. Donovan to become Mrs. Benson?”

Lyle looked at his daughter, “that’s what I’m saying, Rachel. But, I want your blessing.”

By Nicola Fioravanti on Unsplash

Rachel’s eyes welled up. She was also very fond of Mrs. Donovan, but she had thought of her more of a grandmother, not a mother. On the other hand, how could she deny her father happiness? He had been alone for several years since her mom passed away; he’d been there for her and Trenton and the twins whenever they needed him. He came up with the idea of planting a pear tree to honor her mother. She had to give him the blessing he sought from her. “You have my blessing, Dad. I’m happy for you.” She gave him a big hug. “When are you going to ask her?”

Lyle looked at Rachel. Tears ran down his cheeks. “I want you all to be there when I do, sweetheart. I’d like to do it here. This property has meant so much to Helen over the years and she still loves it so much. I could tell when you started to plan the Halloween dance that it was going to be hard for her to let go of this place.”

“Then your wish is my command, Dad. I’ll call Mrs. Don – uh – Helen and invite her to dinner tonight.”

“Thank you, sweetheart. This means a lot to me.” Lyle smiled broadly. “Now let’s get this pear tree planted so that your mother can be here too. I know she would approve.”

By Jules Marvin Eguilos on Unsplash

Lyle and Helen arrived early for dinner that evening. Trenton met them at the door. “Come on in!” he greeted. “Mrs. Donovan, you look lovely tonight.”

“Thank you, Trenton. It is nice to be here again.” Helen smiled as she took a seat in the familiar sofa in the family room. “And hello to you girls as well,” she added when she noticed Rachel and Trenton’s twins.

The girls looked up and offered a polite “Hi” then went back to the video game they were playing.

Rachel brought in a tray of appetizers and set the plate down. “Nice to see you both. Dinner will be ready in about 20 minutes.”

Lyle looked up. “That’s perfect,” he said. “I’d like you all to come sit down here first, if you don’t mind.”

When the family had gathered, Lyle sat down beside Helen and took both her hands in his and spoke directly to her. Helen, I have grown quite fond of you over these last months.”

“And I have grown fond of you, Lyle.” Helen interjected.

“Please, Helen, let me finish,” said Lyle. His voice wavered. “Helen, I feel we have grown very close. Would you solidify our closeness by agreeing to become my wife?”

Helen Donovan was shocked. She was silent for several minutes causing Lyle to appear quite anxious. Finally, she looked from Lyle to the family and then back at Lyle. “Yes, Lyle. I will marry you,” she said. Lyle reached to embrace her but she stopped him. “I do have one condition, though,” she said, her voice steady and her expression blank.

Lyle looked at her, “anything, my dear. Anything at all. Name your condition.”

Helen’s face lit up. “The condition is that we hold our wedding in Donovan’s Barn. No other venue will do.” She gave Lyle a hug and the entire family embraced the happy couple.

Lyle took a deep breath. “Oh, I am sure that can be arranged,” he said. “I know the people who own the place!”

By Jackie Tsang on Unsplash

*****

Thank you for reading this series. I hope you have enjoyed it. To read other pieces I have written, here is the link to my profile.

Please consider leaving a heart or subscribing to my profile if you are a Vocal member.

Love
1

About the Creator

Julie Buchy

I have words inside me. I am told I am a good storyteller. I look for inspiration all over and and want to release my words to other's eyes and minds.

Mom, wife, and now grandmother...just trying to live a happy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.