Fiction logo

Donna’s Gray Matter

An inside story

By AsiyaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
10
Allen Yen, Washington University School of Medicine

“Misfire! Circuit misfire! What is going to happen now? I bet this one will cause Alzheimer’s disease or even Parkinson’s,” cried B.

“You must be kidding; our carrier is a young one. Epilepsy is more like it,” responded a frustrated T. “As you know, our carrier is a female who lives alone. It could be anything, like paranoia, or even depression.”

“Have you not noticed how dark our neighborhood has been lately?” B wailed. “How many sisters have not been communicating? It’s like they are hidden behind a thin veil. I am thinking it might be Alzheimer’s disease. Our sisters are dying!”

“Our sisters are dying? Such a drama queen, B! Have you been releasing some excitatory messages lately?” T retorted. “In any case, I bet Dr. Nicholas will shine more green light on us. I hate this green, fluorescent light.”

Z decided she’d heard enough. “Give our young scientist Nicholas a break, will you? He’s just trying to learn how we connect, and maybe he will discover why we haven’t heard from some of our sisters. He is using the green fluorescent protein to label us. Once he completes this detailed map of connectivity, perhaps he will solve the mystery.”

“I am telling you, Donna is getting Alzheimer’s, and they can’t detect that early.”

B was morose. “I need glucose and Oxygen. I have been feeling a decline in my electrophysiological activity. I am telling you, Donna is getting Alzheimer’s, and they can’t detect that early.”

“You are such a diva, B,” said Z. “If there was an abnormal energy metabolism, humans would know.”

“I do not mean to complain. By the way, I am actually excited that they are starting to pay more attention to our individuality,” said B.

“I hear you,” T chimed in. “When you are born with a hundred billion sisters, you want some individual attention.”

“I doubt that humans would ever understand us,” B said, turning philosophical. “We have complex circuits interacting in both time and space.”

By Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

“You are wrong B. I trust humans are meant to understand us,” Z answered. “I believe the recording of our dynamic activity is just the first step. I do not think they will stop at observation. Very soon, they will start thinking about manipulating and altering. Wait, and you will see.”

“We are made by the Master Craftswoman herself,” B proclaimed. “Manipulating? Really? Who do they think they are?”

“What do you mean by ‘manipulating’? Do you mean activating or inhibiting some of us?” asked T. “I wouldn’t like that at all.”

“Both of you are missing the point again,” replied Z in exasperation. “We are all just cogs in the machine. Think of our carriers and how they become ill. When humans are finally able to manipulate us, they will do it to help their patients. After all,” Z added, “the Master Craftswoman designed us to serve our carriers.”

“Every time humans gained knowledge or felt some power, did they follow the right path? Or make the right decision?”

“Theoretically,” said T with a heavy dose of sarcasm. “I guess if the scientists follow a high ethical code. But think of their history. Every time humans gained knowledge or felt some power, did they follow the right path? Or make the right decision?

“It’s going to take more than experimentalists,” T went on. “They need integrated teams – scientists, mathematicians, physicists, and statisticians. They are just collecting data right now. But I’m telling you, collaboration is not really their strong suit.”

Z was pensive.

“Z, I kind of agree with T,” said B, “but you might be right. Humans are making advances. Our carrier is undergoing diagnostic monitoring as we speak. Dr. Nicholas should be here any moment now.”

As if on cue, Dr. Nicholas entered the room and greeted Donna, who was undergoing a diagnostic brain monitoring. He delicately informed her of the results.

“Oooh,” T exclaimed. “Did you just see those glutamates rush by? Donna’s afraid.”

Short Story
10

About the Creator

Asiya

Asiya is my Sufi name given to me by Sherif Papa, my spiritual guide. I was born in Cairo, Egypt. I am a spoken word poet. I love writing short stories. Feel free to email

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.