Fiction logo

Don't stay out in the Snow

You could get lost

By Lane BurnsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Don't stay out in the Snow
Photo by Etienne Delorieux on Unsplash

I had found a new footprint! It was left in the fresh snow. It wasn't like mine, not human. But I couldn’t think of an animal with six toes. It had been snowing all day, and I finally was allow outside. But only for twenty minutes. Because it was getting darker and the snow was still falling from the sky. Maybe just this once, I could breaking mum’s rule. I took one last look at the porch light that was flickering on. It was easy enough to see in the snow. And Miss Rose said that ever good explorer broke the rules sometimes.

I tucked the tails of my scarf closer to my face and bent down to follow the prints. Just like dad had taught me. Follow the direction of the toes, I was on an adventure. Mum said I was a good explorer. I brought her back all kinds of things; a pinecone, a flower, a rock from the lake, and a spider. She didn’t really like the spider all that much, but he was a cool color. She’s be so proud of me. I was about to discover a new thing! The tracks started changing as the little ones merged in with bigger tracks. Something was walking with mysterious beast. But it was getting harder to see. And my nose was cold. Maybe mum could make me a hot drink and I could start again. I looked up. But I couldn’t see the porch light.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Lane Burns

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I’m still just finding my voice and coming to believe that I can do this again. I like writing poetry and darker fiction. As well as some fan fictions!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.