Fiction logo

Doe Money, Doe Problems

Just a small town doe trying to make a buck

By Leslie WritesPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
21
Image made for me by my buddy, Salv using Midjourney

“Get a real job,” they said. “Frolicking in the woods won’t pay the bills no matter how ‘majestic’ you are.”

So I got my resume together, made a Linkedin profile, and applied to a bunch of places. It took about six months, but I finally got a job at a company that handles intellectual property. It’s not what I went to school for, just something I could learn on the job.

I have good communication skills and I can handle a spreadsheet, unless you want me to write formulas or macros. For stuff like that I’m useless. I’m not great with numbers, I’m a cervid for Christ sake. Leave the accounting to the cephalopods.

The company made reasonable accommodations. A modified keyboard designed for typing with hooves. An ergonomic chair to support my back and hind quarters. This is actually a really good job. I should be content.

I should count my blessings. Practice some self care. List my favorite things like Julie Andrews in The Sound of Music. That film has always been a favorite of mine since I was a fawn for obvious reasons.

Doe a deer, a female deer. Ray, a drop of golden sun…

Where’s my golden sun? I barely leave this office. The blue light from the monitor is giving me eye strain and this salad I ordered for lunch tastes like a plastic bag. I prefer fresh. But those things I can deal with. It’s the mental stress that’s really got me down.

There used to be six of us here, but Nancy retired, god bless her. Then Keshia left for greener pastures. Not literally. I mean she got a new job. They won't hire anybody to replace her. Instead, we had to redistribute her clients.

They make it seem like if we just organize ourselves a little more, we can and should be able to handle all this work. It’s playing tricks on my mind. If I leave something unfinished at the end of the day, I’m never sure if it’s me being inefficient or the company asking for too much. Whatever the case, these deadlines keep me up at night.

My friends tell me to go spend some of this money I’ve been making. Frankly, I don’t really know what to spend it on. I’m not buying a car. I don’t drive. It’s too difficult for us quadrupeds. Clothes aren’t my thing either. I don’t need them with my natural fur, and they never fit right anyway. Makeup? Jewelry? Forget it.

I miss frolicking. I mean, I do it on the weekends. I even joined a Facebook group for other animals with desk jobs who frolic on their days off. It’s just not the same. I get so depressed on Sunday nights, just knowing I’ll have to go back to my emails and spreadsheets.

I’m not sure how much longer I can take it. All I want to do is get out in the woods, smell the flowers, munch grass, and frolic as nature intended.

I’m doing it. I’m going to email my boss and tell her I quit, effective immediately…There.

Oh, my god, that felt good. I’m free and it's a beautiful day outside. The grass is so green! I will never look back. This is what life’s all about!

BLAM!

********************************

Two hunters stand over a fresh kill.

“Looks like you bagged another one, Johnny.”

“Yeah, it was the darndest thing. This white tailed doe ran right into my sights, grinning like an idiot, looking like she’d never been outside before. She was wearing those glasses.”

“What’s this world coming to?”

“I don’t know, man. At least she died happy, doing what she loved. Now help me get her into the truck. We’re having venison tonight!”

Short Story
21

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This was fun, full of humor, then bam - did not expect that twist! Really fun story!

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Well, didn't see that coming! Great job with this one!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Oh my lord!!! Haha... From the work force straight to the dinner table. Loved it! Subscribed and hearted.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Wow, that was a surprise ending

  • Iris Harrisabout a year ago

    I gotta agree with the other comments…that ending really got me! Well done. I loved it.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Oh goodness. I was just smiling and laughing, and bam! Great job.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Bambi’s mom! 😂. Brutal but great story. ❤️

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Nooooo! You killed her off, I was just about to tell her to check out Lucky P.'s rap show (he's not much for being on the job either, LOL). Damn, I didn't see that coming, I wasn't prepared! Well done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I was really getting into this, loving all the little accommodations you thought of for her to have a job and her feelings of not knowing what to do with money she didn't need. I felt so excited for her when she quit and then...I was like, take it back! Be another doe! Noooo, poor doe. Lol. Great storytelling!!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Omg I was laughing and then so sad. Probably very symbolic of work life too. We work all our live to pay the bills and retire. Before you know it there is that Bang not enough time. Need to frolic now while we have a chance ❤️

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    What!!!! Nooooooo I was right there with her work sucks let’s go frolic then OMG bang

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    How sad... What a story!!! Good job!!!

  • Oh nooooo, poor Doe 😭😭😭 I did not expect that at all. Your story had me at the edge of my seat the whole time. Fantastic story!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I’m all for the frolicking! 😅 This was relatable and also very entertaining, I love your humor! I was not expecting that ending, tho 🥹 Well done!

  • Oh deer, and some brilliant puns and that ending. Love this

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Poor doe. 🥺 Then again, I’d rather die than have an office job, haha. This was funny, sad, and strangely relatable. I love the punny title and subtitle.

  • Davey Przybyszabout a year ago

    Oh man this is some real writing! Masterpiece. Hilarious, cute, sad, fantastical, real, and personal. Better than we deserve. I love it so much I’m getting mad.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    OMG you did not end it that way! Im dying though, that was absolutely hysterical throughout starting with the title and subtitle! Tell your friend that image is fantastic too. Frolic on! 🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.