Fiction logo

Dietlinde's Path

Sequel to The Mavrica Amulet

By Brian DrakePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I lean back in my chair. One Perditan day after my arrival, the life I once knew has forever changed. "So, you're telling me, now that I'm a Mavrica, there is no way to undo my transformation?"

Galina, my new mentor, provides me with a patient smile. "Dietlinde—."

I raise my hand before realizing my reaction."Dita. Dita is fine."

"Of course," Galina inclines her head. "Dita, let me put it this way," she leans across the table between us to reach for a bottle of what looks like alcohol. "I won't say there isn't a way, but I have yet to discover how to reverse it."

I arrived on Perdita to deliver a precious artifact, the Mavrica amulet, only to discover the test of acquiring it served another purpose—my worthiness to become a Mavrica. An ability to shapeshift into the female equivalent of other races. I’m not bitter, nor do I resent Galina for recruiting me into Lis. Every job as an adventurer poses some risk. But, what do I do now?

The ruby-eyed woman gestures to a clear bottle in her hand. Its contents offer a peculiar luminescence. "The Keian's call it Mirage, would you like some?"

My body, raw from yesterday's ordeal, cringes at the thought of experimenting with what I'm now capable of being. Not that I can fathom its practical applications yet. It seems early for alcohol, but I don't want to offend her hospitality. Could it dull the aches of my recovery? "Sure."

Galina fills two glasses and offers one to me. The liquid changes between aquamarine and silver as it settles.

My mentor waits for my attention before continuing. "To be honest, I believe there are several perks. Running the Lis syndicate happens to be one of them."

Before I took on the organization's request to find the locket, I'd never heard of it. Given my situation, permanent employment would be a welcome change from hopping around Alliance worlds as a freelancer. "What exactly does Lis do?

The two of us enjoy a sip of the Keian beverage at about the same time. My tongue embraces its delicate sweetness with aplomb. It wouldn't do to devour the drink with reckless abandon; I’ve only just arrived.

Galina nods her head. "Things will be changing, but before the evacuation, we extracted trace metals from the slag the colonial mining team produced."

The mining colony on Perdita evacuated after a malfunction during a system upgrade rendered their power grid obsolete. Lis, uses their own grid. Otherwise, I wouldn't be here.

Surprise creeps across my face as her answer sinks in. "What? How would they miss that?" I help myself to another sip, wondering if I'm overthinking the revelation. More than anything, I want a challenge. This opportunity sounds interesting.

Galina chuckles. "I know!" She pauses for a moment. "The colonials were solely focussed on extracting a particular metal for Terran spaceship components. I don't think it occurred to them to look for anything else."

My curiosity sparks to life. "So let me guess, what Lis derives from the slag is worth more."

Galina offers a sly smile. "The market value is one million credits per gram."

I jump to my feet. Lucrative is one thing, but that kind of profit is obscene. "Ich glaub' ich spinne!" I help myself to another sip. Emptying the glass, it almost hits the floor before reaching the table. "Wow, I guess you know I spent some time on Venus."

Galina nods with a casual nonchalance. "The problem now is how we manage the entire mining process with a fraction of the labor capacity without anyone catching on." Galina takes a sip before refilling our glasses.

Hmm. Bringing anyone back to Perdita would only draw unwanted attention. So unless the syndicate can recruit quietly or improve efficiency, overall production will slow down.

"Okay, so how do I fit in?" My gaze rests on Galina as I contemplate my options.

Her demeanor becomes staid in a pulse. "I am grooming you to succeed me." Galina gauges my reaction with care. "I'll teach you what I've learned, but you are free to choose what direction you want to pursue." She helps herself to the contents in her glass.

I nod my understanding. "So the operations—."

Galina sinks back into her chair. "I was hoping you'd notice that. I am restructuring personnel so that my bodyguards, who know the fine details of our operations here, will participate more directly as my lieutenants."

I reply with a low whistle. "I'm impressed. That makes a lot of sense."

She offers a thin smile.

"Growing up, my parents loved to say you’ll be surprised what lives in a frozen pond." I can't help smiling as the memory surfaces. "I think that more than applies to this situation."

Galina's eyes fix on me. "Go on." She gestures that I have her attention.

"If I remember right, the colony on Perdita doesn't face any of the larger moons, or Uranus. In addition, Perdita isn't visible from the Uranian hyperspace gate." I pause long enough to keep my focus. "Which means someone would need to go out of their way to discover power fluctuations here."

Galina chuckles. "So, because the colony is in perpetual darkness, or frozen, it gives the appearance of being lifeless too."

I nod in agreement.

She raises her goblet for a toast. "Na Zdrowie!"

Clink.

After our glasses return to the table, Galina's expression turns thoughtful. "So, Dita, I have no intention of hurrying you into anything, but I sense that you want to be involved in an aspect of our operations—."

"Very much so." I nod in affirmation. "Don't get me wrong; it’s wonderful to slow down and relax. I pause to consider my words with care. "Other than transforming into a Mavrica, your hospitality lacks for nothing. But, I need to apply myself—tapping into the colonial systems sounds like the best place to start." I match Galina's steady gaze with my own.

"Okay," she refills our glasses. "Indulge me then. Why start there?"

I can't help smiling. "It'll be a challenge, but if we can control the entire colonial power grid from here, we can leverage their equipment to compensate for our lack of manpower." I reach for my glass and stop. "Although, we shouldn't integrate our systems. That way, if we need to become invisible, our chances of evading detection improve."

Galina rewards me with a relaxed grin. "I shouldn't be surprised after you found the Mavrica locket, but that's a well-thought-out answer, both inventive and cautious." She takes a sip from her glass. "My bodyguards will present their proposals in a few hours. You are more than welcome to join me."

My interest piques. "I would like that."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Brian Drake

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.