Fiction logo

Diary of a Young Girl

Anne Frank

By Ekombe hauPublished 23 days ago 5 min read
Like
Dessidre Fleming

Entry One: June 1, 1942

Dear Diary,

Today marks the beginning of a new chapter in my life. I've decided to start writing to you as a way to cope with the tumultuous times we're living in. My name is Anne Frank, and I am thirteen years old. As I sit here in my room in Amsterdam, I can't help but feel a mixture of fear and uncertainty. The Nazis have occupied our beloved Netherlands, and life as we knew it has changed drastically.

My family and I have had to go into hiding to escape the persecution of Jews. We now live in a secret annex above my father's office, along with another family, the Van Daans, and a dentist named Mr. Dussel. It's a cramped space, and tensions run high at times, but we must endure for our survival.

Despite the challenges we face, I am determined to maintain a sense of normalcy. I continue to attend school, albeit through correspondence courses, and spend my days reading, writing, and dreaming of a better future. Sometimes I catch glimpses of the outside world through the attic window, and it's hard to believe that such beauty still exists amidst the chaos.

But amidst the fear and uncertainty, there are moments of joy and laughter. I am grateful for the companionship of my family and the Van Daans, even though we sometimes drive each other crazy. We share meals together, celebrate birthdays and holidays, and find solace in each other's company.

I know that there are many challenges ahead, but I refuse to lose hope. I will continue to write to you, dear diary, as a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there is still light to be found.

Entry Two: July 15, 1942

Dear Diary,

It's been over a month since my last entry, and so much has happened since then. The days seem to blur together as we settle into our new routine in hiding. We must be careful not to make any noise during the day, for fear of being discovered by the workers in my father's office below.

I find myself longing for the outside world more than ever. I miss the simple pleasures of taking a walk in the park, feeling the sun on my face, and seeing my friends. But I know that it's too dangerous to venture outside, so I must be content with the memories I hold dear.

Despite our best efforts to remain hidden, there are moments of fear and paranoia. Every creak of the floorboards, every whisper in the night, sends shivers down my spine. I worry constantly that we will be discovered and taken away to face an uncertain fate.

But amidst the fear, there are moments of beauty and hope. I find solace in my writing, pouring out my thoughts and feelings onto the pages of this diary. It's a small act of defiance against the darkness that surrounds us, a way to hold onto my humanity in the face of adversity.

I am grateful for the love and support of my family, who continue to lift my spirits even in the darkest of times. Together, we will endure whatever challenges lie ahead, for we are stronger together than we are apart.

Entry Three: December 24, 1942

Dear Diary,

As I sit here on Christmas Eve, surrounded by the warmth and love of my family, I can't help but feel a sense of gratitude for the blessings we have in our lives. Despite the hardships we face in hiding, we still have each other, and for that, I am truly thankful.

Tonight, we celebrate the holiday in secret, with a small tree adorned with makeshift decorations and presents we've crafted ourselves. It's not much, but it's enough to remind us that even in the darkest of times, there is still joy to be found.

I find myself thinking of all the families who are not as fortunate as we are, who are forced to spend this holiday in fear and uncertainty. My heart goes out to them, and I pray that they may find peace and comfort in the midst of their struggles.

As I look to the year ahead, I hold onto hope that one day, the war will end, and we will be free to live our lives without fear of persecution. Until then, I will continue to write to you, dear diary, as a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there is still light to be found.

Entry Four: August 4, 1944

Dear Diary,

It's been two years since we went into hiding, and the world outside seems to have forgotten about us. The days stretch on endlessly, punctuated only by the sound of bombs and gunfire in the distance.

I can't help but feel a sense of despair creeping in, as the walls of our hiding place close in around us. We are running out of food and supplies, and hope is becoming harder and harder to hold onto.

But amidst the darkness, there are moments of courage and resilience. My family and I draw strength from each other, refusing to give in to despair. We cling to the belief that one day, we will be free, and that thought alone sustains us through the darkest of nights.

I know that the road ahead will be difficult, but I refuse to lose hope. I will continue to write to you, dear diary, as a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there is still hope for a better tomorrow.

Entry Five: August 5, 1944

Dear Diary,

I can hardly believe what has happened. Today, we were discovered by the Nazis and taken away to a concentration camp. I am writing this entry in secret, knowing that it may be my last.

I don't know what the future holds, but I refuse to give up hope. I will continue to hold onto the memories of my family and the love that sustains me, even in the face of unimaginable cruelty.

Please, dear diary, if anyone finds this journal, let it be known that we were here, that we existed, and that we mattered. Our voices may have been silenced, but our spirits will live on forever in these pages.

Goodbye, dear diary. May you bear witness to the horrors of war, and may our story serve as a reminder of the resilience of the human spirit in the face of adversity.

Yours always,

Anne Frank

Fan FictionShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Ekombe hau

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.