Fiction logo

Deviation

The Ultimate Trick.

By E. W. LynnPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Deviation
Photo by Clark Young on Unsplash

I had been watching this store for days.

A young woman, a striped jacket, a green bank bag, and a silver Chevy. She emerged at 10 AM on the dot. Just as every other morning.

Everyday. No variation.

Didn't she know the dangers?

I laughed to myself, she would soon.

*****

Perhaps he thought I was unaware of his dark green Jeep. I had been watching him since he began watching me.

I would never allow myself to fall into a trap. I take note of my surroundings each time I am out.

How unlucky for him.

*****

I am confident in her routine. Today will be the day.

I have a plan I am equally confident in. Foolish girl.

Today, I park next to her. I can feel the excitement build as the time ticks by.

Five more minutes.

I exit my Jeep and crouch by her passenger door. I hear her steps.

I reach up to make my move. The passenger door swings open making contact with my nose and jaw.

The pain I feel is consuming.

"You bitch," I sputter through the blood.

She pulled out shouting, "Can't out con a con."

Turning away from the bank.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

E. W. Lynn

I love to read and am now beginning to enjoy writing.

I aspire to be a published author, as a hobby. I currently have 4 novel ideas going.

Wish me luck! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.