Fiction logo

Destiny’s Meeting

Darrell the Sparrow

By Moe RadosevichPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
10
Destiny’s Meeting
Photo by Semyon Borisov on Unsplash

There I sat in my car enjoying my burger and fries, groovin to some classic rock. There he sat on my side mirror staring at me! Why wasn’t he on the ground chasing the bits of fries I was tossing out to his buddies? Why was I suddenly reliving ten years ago when I had once before stared at a tiny sparrow? Ten years ago, when life changed forever!

Medical tests results came back with unwanted answers. Stunned, scared, and overwhelmed, my wife and I laid across our bed staring out the window. We were saddened and heartbroken. Our silence was precariously interrupted by the sudden intrusion of a tiny sparrow. He sat on the ledge outside the window, staring. My wife welcomed him and told him “hello” as she tapped the window. He stared, we stared.

Now snapping back to the moment at hand, I said to the guy staring at me, “how are you doing little one?”

“I am good, how are you,” he responded.

Was I dreaming? What? Did he just talk to me?

I stammered a bit, then blurted out, “did you just answer me?”

“I did indeed sir.”

I was speechless. Words and voice failed me.

“I’m sorry sir, didn’t mean to alarm you” he said. “I just wanted thank you for feeding me and my friends. I remember you from other days and today I just wanted to say thanks.”

Bewildered, I managed to fumble out a resounding “you’re quite welcome. I never heard a bird talk before other than a parrot, who is trained. We’re you trained,” I asked.

“Oh no,” he responded. All animals can talk.”

Once more I am mesmerized. “Really,” I said.

“Yes, really” he said. “We all talk, but there has to be a connection with whom we are talking to.”

Wow, I thought, how are we connected? My mind blared within, small talk Abe, small talk. Function Abe, function.

“So,” I said, “you remember me from feeding you and your friends?

“I sure do, right here in this same spot” he said. “I kind of like your car and love your music.”

I smiled, turning up the volume a bit.

“Do you have a name,” I asked.

“Yes I do, my name is Darrell, that’s Darrell the sparrow,” he chimed.

“I’m honored to meet you Darrell, I am Abe, and I will be back again, that’s a promise,” I said. Darrell was pleased with that promise.

As we chatted, Darrell told me stories about groups of birds hanging out at fast food places. He said not everyone shared with them, but more did than didn’t.

Suddenly, the conversation took a turn.

Darrell said his grandpa talked about being fed every Wednesday at a burger place in Gillsbed.

I asked when was that? He said about ten years ago. He said a couple much like myself, parked in the same spot every Wednesday to eat. “Grandpa said they always shared with him and his friends. And get this, he liked their music too.”

Intensifying throwback rushed my body. Every Wednesday was treatment day at Gillsbed Memorial Hospital. We stopped for lunch after treatment, fed the birds and listened to classic rock.

Did we feed his grandpa? Was this our connection? Should I tell Darrell? Does Darrell already know? What am I reaching for? Once again the mind blared, “small talk Abe, small talk.”

“So Darrell,” I said. “Does your grandpa still hang out in Gillsbed?”

Darrell hung his head rather sadly and said, “no, grandpa got his call, left, and never returned. We knew he wouldn’t because when you get your call, that’s it.”

“I don’t understand, where did he go?”

Darrell explained, “ when an angel on earth is about to leave this world, they need wings to fly. We get a call instructing us where to go so our wings can be given to the angel that is leaving. This is the ultimate honor a bird could ever receive. We go to places like car wrecks, hospitals, old age homes, you know.”

Absolutely overwhelmed, I asked Darrell if he knew where his grandpa was sent.

Darrell stared again before responding. “He was sent to an unusual destination.”

“Where was that,” I asked.

“He was sent to a home somewhere with instructions to sit on the ledge outside the bedroom window.”

Total silence erupted within me!! I did not say a word to Darrell. I did not tell him what I just realized. I wondered did he know? I was speechless. I stared, Darrell stared! It’s time to go!!

I smiled at Darrell and quietly told him I so enjoyed the time we shared eating and talking. I thanked him for all the unbelievable information he had shared with me. I promised I would be back. Darrell said he would keep a watch out for me. Darrell then flew into the shrubs.

Watching Darrell fly away, my attention was focused on his wings. Looking at them I found myself hoping that someday, Darrell, like his grandpa, would also receive that most ultimate honor, receiving his call. When he does receive it, I wonder if,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

All I wish to say is, I hope you enjoyed my story. I’m out of my league here, I mostly do descriptive stories. Thank you for reading.

Short Story
10

About the Creator

Moe Radosevich

I am always touched when something I write touches another so if any of you my fellow creators have been touched thank you

Write on my friends

Sure would appreciate more reads and maybe some tips or pledges thank you

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Awww I really love the unfolding mystery of Darrell and Abe’s connection, and especially the concept of birds getting calls. Bird stories never disappoint. Thank you for sharing this!!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Aw, this was such a sweet story, Moe! 🥹❤️ Really wonderful concept. The ending made me tear up a bit just thinking about it, but it was also a really meaningful and sweet way to end. Well done! ❤️❤️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh, I'm so glad you shared this one. It had me swallowing a lump in my throat and my eyes watering. What a beautiful idea :) I loved their connection. This was so touching, a lovely entry.

  • Rachel M.Jabout a year ago

    Aaaaw my heart is warm <3

  • I loved the connection between Abe and Darrell through Darrell's grandad. Such a wonderful story!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Oh wow, such a beautiful concept and story. Thank you so much for writing outside of your comfort zone and sharing this 🤗

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    This is great story-telling. You are most definitely not out of your league. I loved it.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Ohh I loved the sparrow and Abe. They were cute to me and Made me smile

  • This is a very creative and heartwarming story that captivates the reader from beginning to end. The use of descriptive language and imagery allows the reader to visualize the scenes and characters in their mind's eye. The plot twists and turns keep the reader engaged and interested until the very end. The use of dialogue between the protagonist and Darrell is also effective in bringing the story to life and making it feel more real. The ending is particularly powerful, leaving the reader with a sense of wonder and hope.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Nicely done, buddy. Very imaginative.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.