Fiction logo

Deceived by a Friend

Greed will be the end of us all....

By C CPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Deceived by a Friend
Photo by Valentin Lacoste on Unsplash

2 year ago:

Josh held my hands.

“Briella, please listen carefully."

I tilted my head confused and smiled, “Of course Josh.”

His face became serious, “The world is going to end.”

I stopped breathing.

He rubs my hand, “Sam, and the government have been working together. They plan on destroying the world”

I could not believe my ears. I was too speechless to say anything.

“I cannot go along with this. Innocent people will lose their lives.” His voice starts to crack, and tears begin to fill his eyes. I reached for his face, and he lays his hand on my hand and gazed at me.

Josh was a weather engineer, he was brilliant. He wanted to save the world from weather disasters caused by climate change. His best friend Sam was just as smart, and together they hatched a plan. They built a community. It took years to build and complete. Homes, businesses, hospitals, and more. All were built to withstand the elements. Government helped finance this project, and if it was successful, more homes and buildings would be built around the world. Josh wanted to save lives, but Sam wanted more.

Josh stood up, “I’m going to go now. I have to stop Sam.”

“Josh, I’m scared.”

He squeezes my hand, “It’ll be okay Briella, I promise I’ll be back.”

I start to cry and shake my head, “Please don’t go.”

The look in his eyes said it all, it was pointless to argue. He wraps me in his arms and whispers softly. “If I’m not back, you must at all costs protect it.” He points at my heart-shaped locket. I nod my head.

He weakly smiles, “Biella, I love you.”

He turns and disappears in the night.

I was left alone and scared.

Present Day:

The sun was setting, and I was sitting on top of a vacant parking garage. The city that once was buzzing with life was quiet, and the air hung with an unsettling chill. Today will be the day I head out of my safe zone and attempted to retake what is left of this world. I picked up my backpack that was sitting on a pile of rubble. I take one last look at the city that I knew and loved. Buildings were deserted and isolated, cars stalled all over the roads, and not a person to be seen. I head for the stairs and make my way out of the building.

Josh left me a necklace with a heart-shaped locket on it. I presumed it was a reminder of him that he wanted me to keep. But one day I opened it, and there was a tiny microSD card in it. It had maps, designs, information about Sam, government officials, and how to make these buildings.

I make my way through the city and head out of town. I was on my way to the community, that was still standing and thriving.

I arrive to a spot that Josh marked as a secret entrance. I crawl through a space that will lead me to the sewer system. I worked my way through the maze-filled filth and came to a stop. Above me stood the house where Sam should be staying. I take out my laptop that I charged on a generator. I opened the heart-shaped locket and took out the tiny SD card. I load it on the laptop and look at the map of Sam's home. There should be a tiny door above me, it should lead to the basement. I push on the spot and the door popped open. I crept in and took a look around. I found my way to the stairs. I hear talking and footsteps.

It was Sam.

My heart began to race, and it felt like it was going to explode from my chest. I slowly made my way up the stairs. I took a deep breath and slowly opened the door.

Sam was in the kitchen and spoke by phone. Not surprisingly, this community has everything it needs to survive, and it appears that phone service is one of them. I try my best not to make a sound, and stood a few feet behind him.

“Sam.” That was the only word that escaped me.

He turned around and looked at me with a ghostly appearance.

Sam clears his throat. “Briella, you are alive!”

My mind was empty. I look at him with eyes full of bloodlust.

Sam begins to stutter: "Listen Briella, let's talk this out." He avoids eye contact with me. "I didn't think you'll be alive. I can give you a place to stay. It's quiet here and there is enough food to last decades."

I feel myself shaking.

"Sam!!" I yell, "you killed millions of people, the word that I knew is gone. Josh is dead, for what? A place that seems peaceful. When corruption built this place? Josh didn't want it. The world outside is empty, the streets are naked and without life!!" My words came out like knives thrown in the air.

Sam's face has gone paler, I knew he felt my bloodlust. He knew he could call security and find a weapon of his own. But he didn't.

Sam runs his hand through his hair. “Briella, I’m so sorry.”

I look at Sam, "Me too."

2 days later...

I wake up from deep sleep, I must have slept for two days. I got up and began to move, but I collapsed where I stood, cried and cried.

It's done, Sam's dead. I knew it didn't end things. The lives lost are gone and can't come back. I have much work to do. Much needs to be done to save what remains in this world.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

C C

I work full time and a single mommy. Writing is a hobby that is my escape from reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.