Fiction logo

Death

Torments, mocks, and destroys.

By Aasha BianchiniPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Christian Holzinger on Unsplash

The first glimmer of sunlight creeps over my windowsill, filmed with a thick layer of dust. My index finger automatically glides itself over the flaking cream paint, smudging the dust to-and-fro, writing the thing that haunts my dreams and reality.

Death. It mocks me.

No matter where I am, death follows me. I am surprised no one has dropped dead at my feet. Actually, that wouldn’t do death any justice. He likes to be sentimental, to wait until you are finally content and living life calmly. That’s when death goes for the kill. Snatching every last piece of happiness from your life, with no warning or signs, only a cold, pale, and very much dead corpse. Draining all the life out of you.

And even though the living are in agony over the loss, death relishes on the broken sobs and the glassy stares of unforgettable memories. And most of all death loves, craves even, when humans feel the presence of a loved one slip away into nothingness.

Death lives for it.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Aasha Bianchini

Avid reader, writer, and lover of all things classical.

When I'm not navigating the rigors of high school, you'll find me tapping away at my keyboard creating characters for my first novel, whilst listening to Tchaikovsky or Shostakovich.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sally Barker8 months ago

    Very deep and chilling. I'd love to read an extension of where this could go.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.