Fiction logo

Death's Lover

Chapter Three

By E.L.MPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
Like
Death's Lover
Photo by 8machine _ on Unsplash

Amara

My mind is reeling as I try to process the entirety of this day, I let Cate go first in the en-suite, moving around the room that is pretty much a basic hotel room except it appears the walls are made of a fine marble and the two twin beds are the softest I have ever felt. There is no TV in the room and all the drawers are empty except for the table between the beds that holds a booklet of sticky notes with a heading that states Filoxenia. My stomach growls and I look around for a clock, our food should be arriving soon as we told the attendant what we wanted on the way up, but there is no clock to be found. I sigh in frustration as my mind wanders to our strange savior and the obvious magic he used to help us. Guess I believe in magic now, I scoff silently to myself, yesterday I would have made fun of someone who tried to claim it was real. What kind of a name even is Thanatos? The bathroom door opens pulling me out of my reverie and I look up to see Cate standing in the doorway in a pair of gray thin sweats and a bright smile on her face, "Ugh, I feel soo much better." she says brightly, and I smile softly at her.

"Hopefully the food will be here soon and I feel as good as you seem to when I get out." I laugh moving past her into the bathroom, "Didn't use up all the hot water, did you?" I ask playfully and her cheeks redden slightly.

"Umm, I don't think so. It just felt so good after having nothing but freezing water." she replies sheepishly.

"How long were you there?" I ask becoming very aware that I haven't asked nearly enough questions.

"I'm not really sure honestly, the days began to blur together. Maybe a couple of weeks."

"Did he, um, do anything to you?" I ask gently, trying not to visibly cringe.

"Oh, no nothing really bad. He brought someone in to do a physical on me one time, and it looked like he was taking notes every time he came in." Her eyes move to a corner of the room as she falls into thought. "There was a woman with him one time and then she came to talk to me alone."

"Oh?"

'Yeah, she acted really nice and asked me a lot of questions about my childhood. Said she was a psychologist but when she didn't seem to get the answer she wanted she got really irritated."

"What kind of answer did she want?"

"Well, she kept asking about strange things that happened in my childhood and wanted to know if I had anything to do with them." she shakes her head, "When I told her I couldn't remember any of the things she was talking about she grew irritated and just walked out." Just then a knock sounds and Cate looks hopefully at the door as I walk to it. Opening it I see an attendant with a cart and find a real smile for the first time since waking up in that room. We wait for the attendant to put the trays on the little table beside the window before thanking them and shutting the door behind them.

“We'll get to the bottom of all this." I promise her as well as myself, putting my hand on her shoulder in what I hope is a reassuring gesture before moving into the bathroom and closing the door. To the left is a claw-foot tub and next to it is a walk-in shower, the cabinets and sink sit to my right with another set of sweats laying on top of the counter and a towel hanging from a rack. My reflection in the mirror catches my attention and I rub my hands over my face in a vain attempt to dispel the haggard look I am sporting. Noticing the bruises darkening on it I shake my head and move to the shower, turning the hot water on full blast and giving it a moment to warm up as I take off the hospital gown.

I realize that my headache is gone at the same time as my body aches with the movement of my arms reaching over my head and I move back in front of the mirror to look at my side. Bruises have blossomed all along my right side where I collided with the wall after that monster threw me. Stepping into the stream a hiss of pain escapes me as the water beats down on the bruises.

He must be looking for us. The thought enters my mind unbidden, and a tremor of fear runs through me before I push it away and think of Thanatos instead as I step into the shower. I've met a lot of strange people in my life, but he tops them all. His silver eyes seeming to see right into my soul every time he looks my way and the way he almost looks guilty before looking away again. He must be some kind of angel of death. As I think of the souls he released from their dying husks, I hear a clatter in the room and finish my shower quickly; washing off the sweat and grime of one of the worst days of my life before drying off and getting dressed.

"So, I told him, you're going to need a bigger bone to keep all three heads distracted." Thanatos' laughing voice reaches me as I open the bathroom door and they both look at me from the table as I enter the room.

"You've heard of Cerberus, right?" she asks me excitedly.

"Only ever in long lost made-up stories." I tell her as I narrow my eyes suspiciously at him.

"Who's to say they are made up?" he asks, his smile falling away.

"Everyone. That’s why they are called myths."

He tsks before getting up and motioning for me to sit down, "Please eat, you look absolutely famished." he says changing the subject and moving to sit on the edge of the bed closest to the table. I sit down and uncover my food, grateful that it is still warm and smells delicious, before taking a bite and letting out a soft involuntary moan at the explosion of flavor. Thanatos clears his throat before opening his mouth to say something and I swallow quickly so that I can cut him off.

"No stories." I tell him, "We need answers and you have promised to give us them."

He nods, closing his mouth before tilting his head to the side and shifting his liquid silver eyes to Cate, "You were held captive longer, weren't you?" he asks her and she nods mutely, finishing her food and putting her fork down. "And your name is Cate, correct?" he asks to which she nods again

"And you,” that infernal soul seeking gaze finds me again, “you are Amara?"

"How do you know our names?" Cate ask as I chew and refusing to look away first. He breaks eye contact with me and looks sympathetically towards Cate. "I know a great many things but there is also a lot that I am not aware of. For example, I know your mother sold you for a large sum of money even though she loved you very much. Now she has no recollection of how she became rich, nor that she had a daughter for nineteen years.” His face is still a mask of sympathy as he turns to me again “And your best friend, the one person that has been through almost everything with you, has done the same to you. Similarly having no recollection of your very existence.” He sighs, shaking his head. “What I don't know is why either of them would do such a thing." He runs a hand through his silvery hair and stands, starting to pace as my fork hangs halfway between my mouth and the plate.

"How do you know that?" I ask incredulously.

"Because I am an immortal being and I have my ways." he laughs kindly as though he can imagine the disbelief running through my mind.

"Why did you save us?" I ask, setting my fork down, suddenly not very hungry.

"Because you needed saving and were very impressive in your attempt to escape." he replies easily as if it were so simple.

"You watched us escape?" I ask disgusted, "So what about the others I am sure came before us? Did you watch them suffer at the hands of that sicko too?"

He looks at me offended before his face shifts into understanding, "Of course not, I had no idea what was going on there before you called me to you."

"Called you to me? What the hell are you talking about? I don't even know who the fuck you are!" I yell, pushing my chair back to stand but finding my way blocked as he moves to stand over me and hesitantly reaches a hand out. A feather light brush of his fingers run around my neck as he looks down at me. "You would have rather died than let that monster do anything to you. You were so close to sleeping forever that I was drawn to you; to release your soul." he says, his voice as soft as his touch before withdrawing his hand and backing away again. I move my hand to my neck where his just was, a strange feeling taking over me as I watch him return to pacing.

"After I realized what was going on, I couldn't easily just turn my back” he continues, “and once I saw you take on the responsibility of another when you could have just abandoned her… well I felt obligated to do the same I suppose." he says stopping his pacing by the door to the ensuite. I lower my head and turn back to my food, refusing to apologize for assuming the worst because for all I know he could be just as bad in his own way as the monster that stole us from our lives.

"Where are we?" I ask, changing tract, just needing a moment to comprehend that.

"On an island in the middle of the ocean, a place that no one can get to unless they already know of its existence." he replies, his eyes moving between Cate and me. "I know you don't trust me and that is understandable, but I am going to need you both to try. Because the man who was holding you captive will find you here if you stay and Hestia will not do anything to stop him from taking you when he shows up; and I fear that may be sooner than I had anticipated."

"So, he is like you then?" I ask, questioning if I could even attempt to trust this strange being.

"He...," Thanatos clears his throat before continuing, "He is my brother." his voice wavering slightly as he appears to be gauging our reactions.

Oh you have got to be fucking kidding me. It's a trap! He is going to take us some where worse or hand us back over.

"Now listen, before you jump to any conclusions," Too late "I have a lot of siblings and him and I have never been close. I haven't seen nor talked to the majority of my family in thousands of years." he says quickly when I jump up ready to storm off. "I truly only want to help you both and figure out what he is planning."

I share a look with Cate only to see that she is inclined to believe him and although I want to argue, I can’t help but admit we don't have very many options at the moment.

"And this brother, does he have a name?" I say instead.

"Dolus, although I believe he is going by Ubel for the mortal's sake."

It’s my turn to start pacing around the room as I try to understand what is going on, what the right answers or solutions could even be. I can practically feel his eyes following me. Wonder what he would do if I punched that stupid pretty face. I stop by the window and look down, seeing waves crash against jagged rocks. Cate stands and moves over to me, taking my hand gently.

"It's going to be okay." she says softly, and I look down into her dark eyes before nodding curtly.

"So where are we going to go that he can't find us?" I ask turning to him as the little hand in mine gives me strength and clarity.

"Back to the ether and then I will take you to my home. You must finish your meal first though because it will be the last you have for a while." he says with a hint of relief.

"Wait, what? How will we survive with no food or water?" I ask in disbelief.

"Things work differently in the ether and this meal will sustain you for at least two weeks before we must return for more sustenance."

“Different how? Couldn’t we go grocery shopping?” I ask as Cate nods beside me, “If it’s really that dangerous shouldn’t we plan ahead or something?”

Amusement dances in his eyes as he tries and fails to smother his smile, “The food would not taste the same and electricity never really caught on there.”

I shake my head sighing, moving to sit back down and attempt to finish my meal. Maybe it is all an elaborate dream and I'll wake up soon to find Chase slipped me some crazy new drug he found. Thanatos moves restlessly around the room as I force myself to eat. As delicious as the food is, my appetite has gone to shit with worry knotting up my guts.

"I'll be back in a moment." he says suddenly breaking the tense silence that has descended on the room before simply disappearing. As I am bringing the last forkful to my mouth, he reappears right in front of us and sets two candles down before holding a lighter out to me. I look at him in confusion and he chuckles softly, "You must leave thanks to Hestia for her hospitality." he says waiting for me to take the lighter to which I quirk an eyebrow at him and look at the candles in question. "So, by lighting a candle and risking a house fire we are giving thanks?" I ask skeptically. He barks a laugh as he shakes his head, "There will be no house fire but yes, speak your gratitude as you light the candle and your appreciation will be acknowledged." he tells me before finally setting the lighter down beside the candles.

Still skeptical I pick up the lighter anyway, "Umm, thank you Hestia for the delicious food and hot shower. They were both extremely needed and much appreciated." I whisper as I light one of the candles. "Oh, and for the new comfy clothes." I add handing the lighter to Cate and looking at Thanatos questioningly. He nods and smiles at me softly as Cate lights the other candle, "Thank you for giving us safe rest Hestia. Blessed be." she says with much more confidence as I shake my head in confusion yet again. This has been the weirdest day of my strange life.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

E.L.M

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.