Fiction logo

Death is all but defeated.

Conquered territory.

By Jordan ZunigaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Death, does not suffer the denial of its due, nor does its shadow linger over its claim forever. Though it tarries, it will certainly claim it. Though it lingers, it will eventually come to pass. That constant cycle between life and death and all the inbetween before the final judgment of eternity for each and every soul according to that which is prescribed from what is already inscribed by the laws of heaven. It labors ceaselessly, and without remorse. Ever taking without compassion. Ever claiming without a tear shed for those who weep over the corpses of the dead. Yet death, is already defeated.

I lingered over the tombstone of my grandmother as I gazed upon the inscription. My hands came to wipe my face with a tissue, as I then placed it back in my pocket. I looked and considered all that was. I turned my head around to see many others of different sizes and varieties, all a memorial to the fallen. Though different in information and reason, and the cause being a different tale for each character in question, despite the plotlines or the time length with regards to years, they all inevitably met the same end. Death had come to claim his upkeep, and it was only a matter of time before that day would come to pass for every living soul with the breath of life upon this earth. I gave a sigh. The chill of air slowly caressing my face as the scent of lilies near the river that lay over the hilltop of the cemetery began to tempt me with its lovely aroma. That, eerie sound from the wind. A bitter taste developed in my mouth as I took a swig of the tea in my mug.

“So many different lives that eventually met their demise. The sight of each and every soul lost to death. Yet, hope still remains in my heart despite each and every loss. For in the temporary sleep of death, hope, still burns brightly. Even in the darkest realms where the souls of the dead may have to rest for a time and a season, an eternal fire that burns in the highest heavens which still holds all things in place. I have neither reason to mourn, nor a need to grieve. For in all things that were, all things that are, and all things that have yet to come to pass, I already know, death is defeated,” I noted out loud with a smile. No matter what would inevitably come to pass or how I would die, the fear of death would not hold me back. For death, was already defeated.

“Oye, laddy! How long have you been here for? How long are you going to mourn for the dead? Don’t you have something better to do?” a Gravedigger inquired.

I turned my head over to him and sighed. “Love lost to death is not so easily mended, nor the process of healing such wounds a speedy affair. But that's what death does to the ones we lost most, doesn’t it? It leaves a wound inside our hearts making us wish we had never loved at all. Surely you have lost someone you loved that made you grieve for some time?” I asked.

“I’ve always been alone. Never really had the time to love anyone, just get my job done and pay my bills. Besides, I never really wanted that pain in the first place nor did I have time for love,” the Gravedigger responded.

“Then I pity you for never having lived at all. Life is a terrible thing to endure if you have never lived to truly love someone with all your heart, despite the grief and sorrow of death. I mourn your loss,” I muttered under my breath as I began to venture away.

The strength of the winds seemed to grow as that eerie sound of a whisper seemed to glide as the flowers of the meadows began to sway with its passing. The chuckle of diabolical laughter, the cackles of maniacal intent. “What hope is there, in the realm of sheol? What is there to gain in the depths of the grave? What reward is there for those who lay in the portion of the dead? What refuge is there in the shadows of death?” A repetitive phrase muttered.

The feeling of despair was felt down my spine as the chilling touch of darkness began to tempt me. That feeling of doom as the gloominess of the graveyard began to amplify. My breath panting as I tried to catch myself as I fell to the floor. “There is hope, despite the darkness, There is redemption from the grave. For that which has already triumphed, will be the one to save,” I repeated out loud. “There is no hope in the nightfall, for all I will consume. For in the shadows of death, there is only, doom,” the air continued to chant.

I smiled, with a chuckle released from my lips as I lifted myself up. “Hope, is a defiant lamplight in the shadows of nightfall. No rain can discourage it, no water can quench its fire. Despite the protest of thunder, and the strikes of lightning, it burns brightly, defiantly, against the chilling darkness of death. Death, has no eternal claim over my soul. Darkness, will not hold me down forever. Death, is already defeated,” I replied.

The sound of a roaring lion arose amidst the flow of wind, as it defiantly blew around me, becoming more aggressive. “There is nothing left to gain, no venture then to be sought. For sin is all around you, for all that you have wrought! The shadows of death have come to claim you, the darkness shall arise, for in the process of the race, it inevitably, dies,” the Whispers proclaimed.

“My journey does not end as death would come to rise, I do not believe this nonsense, I disregard your lies. For in my heart I hope, my spirit shall surely sing. Oh death, where is your victory? Oh death, where is your sting?” I replied. I ventured forward out of the cemetery, away from the portion of the dead and into the parking lot. “Death, is already defeated. It has been revealed to me this day. Though I may die, death is not the end. It is merely a path I must take to be where my soul desires all the more then all things upon this earth,” I thought as I walked towards my car.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my content. If you like my work, then please give my pieces on here and my pieces on Instagram a like, follow me here and on Instagram @cccreativewriter, then read and rate my work on Inkitt so I can potentially receive a publishing contract, and consider donating to my support my efforts! Also, if you enjoy my work and want to help grow the ministry, please show your support by leaving a donation here on vocal if you want to support my work! With every donation or piece you read, you can help grow my ministry! Keep your head held high, and smile! ;)

https://www.instagram.com/cccreativewriter/

https://vocal.media/fiction/the-warrior-dwelling-in-the-twilight

https://www.inkitt.com/stories/fantasy/610198/chapters/4

https://vocal.media/geeks/a-new-adventure-rbbdt50ec0

https://vocal.media/criminal/the-treading-of-the-winepress

https://vocal.media/poets/through-it-all-and-despite-it-all

https://vocal.media/poets/refined-and-approved

https://vocal.media/poets/regardless-of-what-i-will-still

https://vocal.media/fiction/what-was-what-is-and-what-is-yet-to-be

https://vocal.media/petlife/all-suffering-will-be-equal

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Zuniga

Aspiring christian creative writer creating pieces to provoke thought and give God and Lord Jesus Christ the glory! God bless and I hope you’re doing well!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.