Fiction logo

Death by Howling Chocolate

Why are we suddenly allergic?

By Kathy SaundersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Death by Howling Chocolate
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Unfortunately, Clay came back later that day with a warrant and a state trooper. I saw the red dot on his dashboard and warned daddy and Big Paw not to do anything. They both went in separate vehicles without a fuss. Clay came to talk to me because he thought I would "understand" his situation better than momma or Mimi.

"Cori, you have to see from where I'm coming. I'm just doing my job."

"Clay, if you were doing your job, you would have taken them in for questioning this morning. We also have the problem of you trespassing when I told you not to come back. If you were actually doing your job and not hiding behind the badge." and with that, Clay stormed out, slamming the door behind him.

I overheard him talking to momma and Mimi on the porch. He asked about three men in their mid-thirties. He showed them pictures, but I never caught names. I heard that they had been missing for four days, and they were last seen with Big Paw in town at the feed store. I couldn't take any more.

"Mom, I'm going to the store. Do you need anything?" I stared Clay down, daring him to talk to me.

"No, sweetie, but thank you."

"Mimi, can I get something for you?" She got the hint.

"Oh yes. Let me get you my list." She came inside and handed me her list. I took a picture of it with my phone. I also called Dorothy to check on Shadow and let them know this might take a while. I grabbed the keys to the truck and ran out the door.

"Great!" I yelled. "Daddy doesn't have BlueTooth." I used my google voice number to make a phone call to find out what I could about the men Clay was inquiring about. "At least I know where Clay is." I reached down to turn on the radio and find something worth listening to. Nothing but static. Daddy really does need to get a new truck.

I drove as far as I could before I ran out of gas. I just needed to clear my head. Big Paw is sick with something I have no clue how to deal with; Clay is hanging around the house and trying to destroy my family; I have to find these men. I filled the tank and paid with cash, not letting that idiot track me; I turned left and drove a few blocks to a cute little diner decorated with wolves. It reminded me of the eyes in the barn; I thought I could get some information.

I walked in, and everyone went silent and stared at me. I knew I was in the right place now. I sat down and ordered a chili burger. I haven't had one in such a long time. Of course, I had to get a strawberry milkshake to go with it. I was calmed down enough by the time I finished my lunch to think about going back to the farm.

On my way out the door, I saw a decadent chocolate three-layer cake. It looked homemade; hot fudge drizzled down the sides. I bought the whole cake to take with me.

After dinner, I served everyone a piece of the cake I was so proud to bring home. We cleaned up the kitchen and were about to sit down to watch something on tv. Then it happened. Big Paw started having a seizure. He foamed at the mouth. I called for an ambulance while daddy laid him on his side.

The EMTs arrived not a moment too soon. The driver had already called in, and they would be heading to the hospital. The nurse grabbed an epi-pen and stabbed Big Paw in the thigh. With him breathing independently, he was given an oxygen mask; he is stable now and in good condition at Memorial. How did he develop such an allergy to chocolate?

Excerpt

About the Creator

Kathy Saunders

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kathy SaundersWritten by Kathy Saunders

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.